Beat logo

It's A Vibe

A Playlist For Every Mood

By teisha lesheaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3
I do not own the rights to this photo

We are currently living in uncertain times. We've lost count on how many days it has been since this stay at home order. From gaining five pounds to everyone Ticking their Toc and watching every Netflix show that streaming service has to offer, we have now become frustrated and suffering from cabin fever. One thing that has gotten us through many days is the music. I have curated a playlist to get you through all of your quarantine needs.

"Bitch Better Have My Money"

One of my favorite GIFs from Rihanna

Most American's have not received their stimulus checks or tax returns. With many people out of work, impatience has now become the trending term on everyone's lips. We could all use Bad Gal RiRi in our lives what better song to help you get through your financial woes. I've always enjoyed this record. It was straight to the point. With the catchy beat, you'll muster up enough courage to tell Mr. Trump what you want. So, go ahead and send Donald that Cashapp request.

"Hussle and Motivate"

From "Hussle and Motivate" music video

If you are a content creator such as myself, you'll notice that it has been tough to create content that doesn't involve COVID-19. I've become uninspired to create anything worthy of putting out to the world. With our days pretty looking the same, it is hard to stay and inspired and motivated through all of this. That's why I would encourage you to blast Mr. Naybahood himself the late great Nipsey Hussle. His forward-thinking music will get up from your couch and at least take a shower. This song has always set the tone to start your day and even your week. We have to start thinking of creative ways to keep our goals in mind and to think of ways to elevate ourselves indoors.

"BOP"

From "Bop" music video- I do not own the rights to this photo/GIF

Enough of the deep-thinking and worrying. If you need something with just a cool beat and hook, you can always look forward to DaBaby dropping something "Off the Rip." With a smooth and catchy dance, you can quickly come out of a funk with whatever DaBaby drops. Although I'm late to jump on DaBaby train, I'm now a fan of his work. His cleaver videos, fast talk raps, and ever-changing beats will always lift your spirits. I've always liked the song, but I enjoyed it more when I see the video. He is a artist who is passionate about the visual aspect alongside with the lyrics.

"Realer"

Meg Thee Stallion- I do not own the rights to this photo/GIF

There are only a few female hip-hop artists that I enjoy. My brain can't move past the over-sexualization in the lyrics but its songs that I enjoy. Meg thee Stallion has hit the ground running over the last couple of years. I listened to her at one point, and then I stopped. At the time, I felt like she was rapping about things that I've already heard since Lil Kim. It wasn't until one Sunday afternoon I was talking to my younger sister, and she suggested that I give Meg another listen. Realer is one of a few that displays her lyrical range. I would label this record the "feeling yourself record." This song provides a real down south vibe. Loud bass and cocky lyrics equate to a song you can put on repeat.

"Come Thru"

"Come Thru" Summer Walker. I do not own the rights to this photo/GIF

If you are single and living alone, I'm sure you've been on dating apps and checking your DM's looking for your #quarantinebae for some love and attention. Fans of Summer Walker have always labeled her "a mood" she still has a mixture of jazz, R&B, and pop. Her voice can get you through any trying time. This song is nostalgic because it samples Usher "U Make Me Wanna," which was the single that catapulted his career. For Usher to come back and now be a feature feels like a full-circle moment. Although the song states to "Come Thru," I would not suggest you invite anyone in your home or accept any invitations to go inside someone else's home.

"Heat"

"Heat" video Chris Brown. I do not own the rights to this photo/GIF

To round off my top five songs to get you through this corona is Chris Brown. If you haven't invested in any stock, I would suggest that you invest in the company Zoom because these virtual parties can be so much fun. I choose this song because I feel like you can play this song in the background as you get ready for your virtual date, virtual happy hour. It's up-tempo, but it's also a song that can be a song to set the mood. What I love most is the video and of course dancing. The fact that Chris Brown can dance in a suit and dress shoes is mind-boggling.

playlist
3

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.