Beat logo

Is Every Breath You Take really that great?

It's the song that is hailed as the best, but has it dulled over time? Has the song taken it's last breath?

By Samantha ParrishPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2
Photo from IMDb

When I was going on one of my eight o clock at night drives, the song Every Breath You Take by The Police came on my car stereo.

On my drive back home, I was reflecting about how this song has lost its spark to me I don’t enjoy it like I used to, I’m sort of numb to the whole ambience of the song and it doesn’t really click with me like it used to when I used to sing this song.

When I got home I was about to delete this song off my phone and I ended up thinking about the fact that I’ve listen to the song for 10 years and I finally got into an age where I’m officially used to the same songs. For 10 years I have listen to Every Breath You Take, and it is finally made its last play on music library.

Before I deleted this song, and before I wrote this article, I comprised my neutral opinion to a friend of mine who is also a musician to see what his views were on it as a music lover and maker of music. His response was also a neutral opinion. He said that he does enjoys the band's unique sound for the riffs and melodies. but that song from The Police never quite struck him like the other songs did.

This song has been a constant mainstay on the radio stations gotten and praised for it’s critical acclaim and it’s cultural significance being one of the best songs from The Police.

The weird thing is that it’s had a bit of a weird journey since 1983. The song was originally one that music lovers couldn’t get enough of and, however it was shouded in what the real meaning was than the romantic one that people. Once it is learned that it was crafted to be song with a sadistic undertone, the perspective of the song changes.

Sting himself has said that he doesn’t understand why people like this song and how people perceived it a different way.

The song is played is this very easy-going somber song looking out for someone even though it really is a stalker song and Sting admitted it.

But since the reveal that people have to take the song for its actual account, it's been interesting how people have played on that reveal by joking about it to the full extent that it is a very creepy song that can be played for jokes. There has been numerous photoshopped Memes, it’s been in vines, it has been sampled to be a joke over the last decade.

Over the years that this song has been absorbed by listeners that love the song with the easy-going vibe with a sinister overtone and certain musicians turned it into that sinister overtone. One cover that comes to mind is Chase Holfelder's. He has done probably one of the best remakes that has turned that song into what it’s supposed to be going all the way to make it as sinister as Sting makes it out to be.

And I hate to say it but the remakes do sound better than the original.

Let me bring up another comparison if you listen to One Way Or Another by Blondie. That one will never lose its significance because people can enjoy it in any universal setting for story or self-amusement in different settings. It can go to a sinister expansion for a montage in a movie or television shows. it can be universal to go to a dark humor territory or zany romantic overtones without having to be remade. Its just one of the songs that can be zany and universal . It does hold up to the test of time, people have not gotten annoyed with the original One Way Or Another. Even with different remakes (I recommend the one by Until The Ribbon Breaks), the original is still appreciated and never faded.

I hate to say it, but I think Every Breath You Take has taken it’s last breath.

It becomes a very dull song after listening to it over and over and over throughout the years. The guitar riffs don't make me sway anymore, the bass don't get me moving, the vocals don't make me close my eyes anymore and enjoy the song.

Every Breath You Take has been hailed on top ten lists for being the best song from the police, on the latter from my opinion as well as their accomplished discography, they've done other songs that are livelier and lyrically composited to the ability of The Police's trio can bring.

What’s funny to me is the police have done dark songs before that go a certain direction that doesn’t have to be masked or disguised as something else that people wouldn’t get the real understanding of it. The song Can’t Stand Losing You is one of the best versions of a dark song that goes a dark route with happy sounding, reggae beat. In the song the lyrics go-

I guess this is our last goodbye

And you don't care, so I won't cry

And you'll be sorry when I'm dead

When all this guilt will be on your head

I guess you'd call it suicide

But I'm too full, to swallow my pride

It goes that full direction it doesn’t hold back. It’s one that you can enjoy and it is perfectly explained that this is a dark song whereas in Every Breath You Take-

Every move you make and every vow you break

Every smile you fake, every claim you stake, I'll be watching you

Every move you make, every step you take, I'll be watching you

The dark overtone isn't known because the lyrics don't go a dark direction, it's hidden.

It is true that some songs do get old in time, but there are some songs that can last a lifetime for its legacy and every breath you take has taken it’s pride in time by being the inspiration for some people to do their own songs or even use that song and take it to the direction it was supposed to go to. It has made it’s mark on Music but it’s not really one that holds a legacy it was just some sort of a weird muddled misinterpreted message.

It’s still a great song and it’s still known as one of the best songs from The Police, and it has made its significance to other music lovers and musicians. Its just one that has finally started to get old and it has indeed taken it’s last breath .

Maybe it just means that this song was purely meant to be an idea for some musicians to make an homage by taking this song to that extent, so it has made a mark. There are tons of music or even movies that can be going in a different direction so there’s nothing wrong with that and there’s nothing wrong with doing something different.

song reviews
2

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.