Beat logo

India.Arie on Pulling Her Music from Spotify and Calling for Others to Do the Same on Today's "Tamron Hall"

IN A ‘TAMRON HALL’ EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW, GRAMMY-WINNING ARTIST INDIA.ARIE EXPLAINS HER DECISION TO REMOVE HER MUSIC AND PODCAST FROM SPOTIFY

By Tammy ReesePublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
India.Arie on Friday’s “Tamron Hall”

On Friday's "Tamron Hall," Grammy-winning artist India.Arie appears in a daytime exclusive interview where she reveals why she chose to pull her music and SongVersation podcast from Spotify's platform. She explained that the decision was based on the audio streamer's ongoing relationship with Joe Rogan and her frustration with the lack of compensation musicians receive from Spotify. She also says she hopes other artists will consider following her lead (on the heels of the same move by Neil Young, Joni Mitchell) and noted her #WhatIfWeAllLeave hashtag. The celebrated singer-songwriter later opens up about what provoked her viral Instagram post describing the music industry as "racist, sexist, deceitful."

India.Arie on her decision to pull her podcast and music from Spotify:

"Yes, I decided to pull my music and my podcast from Spotify but it's dual. One is the Joe Rogan conversation and for me his language around race and some of the things I've seen and heard, but also coupled with that, there is the treatment of artists by Spotify. And so artists are underpaid and Joe Rogan gets paid all this money and it's hard for me to, these days, just sit back and go, 'Oh, well, that's how it goes.' I made a commitment with myself, after reading this book by Martha Beck called The Way of Integrity - she challenges the reader to an integrity cleanse and it means telling the whole truth all the time and see what it will make of your life. And so I've been doing that since maybe around May, and so when this came up, I had to do it. And I'm a little bit nervous about it because I know people are gonna conflate the conversations and some people are gonna judge me and they're gonna say it's not my business and you know all these things because it is a little bit of a different reason than Joni [Mitchell] and Neil [Young] but also, it's my truth. And it's not always my job to educate people about how I feel, although I try. I know that my truth is mine. And so I am working to have it [her music and podcast] pulled down."

India.Arie on what Spotify can do to address her concerns:

"You know, I said in my statement that I believe in freedom of speech, and I do. I mean, as much as I think some of the things I've heard him [Rogan] say in these videos is disgusting, he can say it. What would make me comfortable is if there were voices of integrity and high consciousness amplified as loud as his. I'm not being technical, because I don't know this world very well. But in our communities, the music communities, we all have a great reverence for say, Questlove, who has a wonderful big podcast, but does he get paid $100 million? Those kinds of things, like the equity, even in the podcast world, I'd love to see. But also what would make me comfortable is for artists to get paid more than a fraction of a penny. And so now we're all amplified and not just him [Rogan]."

India.Arie on her hope that fellow artists will consider leaving Spotify as well:

"My hope is that some of my artist friends would follow and come along with me. Because one of the hashtags I put on my posts was #WhatIfWeAllLeave. Because if you take the power from them, the power's taken. And also streaming doesn't pay artists a lot. No platform pays as much as the artist is actually worth. But if you ask the artists it's worth more than gold. But that's how we feel about our art, but some of the other streaming platforms pay better. And so if we all leave Spotify or enough of us leave, they'll either change it or people who want to hear you will stream you somewhere else where you can get paid better. So this is all wishful thinking though because the truth is, I did it because it's true for me and it's what brought me peace. Because I can't not tell the truth is the pact I've made with myself."

India.Arie on how Stevie Wonder helped her through a tough night of losing at the Grammys:

"I remember getting in bed after the Grammys because Stevie Wonder, who is one of my heroes and mentors, he wanted to go to dinner and I just could not function. I was like, 'I'm going back to the hotel.' He was mad - well not mad, he was like, annoyed that I couldn't just put [it behind me], 'let's just go' you know, but also that night he cried, too. I went to his dressing room and I was just sitting there with him and I just saw a tear roll from under his glasses because he cried for how much I hurt. Like it hurt. And then I went back to my hotel room and I just kind of like got ready to pull the cover over my head and he called and I was having like this little chest pain - I haven't had a chest pain since - but I had like this little chest pain, but he called and said, you know, he said, 'You are so lovely and this business is so not.' It took me years to, first of all to understand that by losing that big, it made it a story where I was seen. But I'm still in that space of like wanting to clear it up and wanting to not have it stuck in my throat because you know, my publicist and the people who love me said 'well, you know, don't say anything because then you might not win next year,' but then next year comes and you don't win anyway so what matters? And so it did affect my mental health but it also just grew me up."

Following are highlights for Tamron Hall for the week of February 7, 2022. Please note: lineup is subject to change.

Monday, February 7: Tamron talks to people who turned their hobbies and passions into unique money-making jobs, including an underwater pizza delivery man, a dialect coach for actors, a dog surf coach, and a man who combined his life-long sweet tooth and love of shoe design. Plus, art phenom Nikkolas Smith surprises Tamron with an unforgettable tribute.

Tuesday, February 8: "Selling Sunset" reality star and realtor Chrishell Stause returns to talk about her new memoir, which shares her remarkable life journey and ​the highs and lows of living in the public eye. Plus, Latin Grammy winning singer Chiquis Rivera on navigating life since the tragic loss of her mom, the legendary Latin music star Jenni Rivera. And, photographer Bette Marshall's shows us a side to Whitney Houston few have seen, in a beautiful tribute.

Wednesday, February 9: Former NBA star Charles Oakley takes the Tam Fam inside the locker room with his new memoir, plus he shows off his kitchen skills. And, Maya Washington's tribute to her father Gene Washington who played a historic role in the integration of college football. Also, Captain Marvel comic book writer Kelly Sue DeConnick on how she is changing the game for women in comics.

Thursday, February 10: "SNL" alum Jay Pharoah and comedian Guy Torry on teaming up with an all-star comedic cast to pay tribute to "Phat Tuesdays at the Comedy Store," now a documentary on Amazon Prime Video. Plus, the movement inspiring people worldwide to live their best lives. And, a record breaking mountain climber's story of helping others heal from trauma that is now being turned into a movie.

Friday, February 11: Paris Hilton joins the Tam Fam to reveal what her life is like since getting married and discusses her new reality show "Paris in Love." Plus, some favorite past Tam Fam guests give surprising updates on their journeys to find love.

India.Arie on Why She’s Pulling Her Catalog from Spotify

India.Arie on what Spotify can do to address her concerns

India.Arie Is Calling for Other Artists to Remove Their Music from Spotify

India.Arie Recalls Infamous 2002 Grammy Snub

Learn more here https://tamronhallshow.com/

industry
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.