Beat logo

If You Don’t Read This …

You Will Never Hear This Music

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
22
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author

If you don’t read this you will probably never know of these songs or these artists. People are often restricted by the media, what they grew up listening or other factors, I am the same, although Janelle Monae’s “Dirty Computer” is one of the most impressive albums I have ever heard and that is relatively recent but there will be none of that on here, this is taking you off the beaten path and down the unsigned road and I could drag in something for the #LikeNoOther series that I started on Seven Days In.

You may look at the titles and they may just completely scare you off. If your penchant is for power ballads and poodle rockers this is probably not the perfect place for you, but if you do fancy a little adventure then please dive in and feel free to question me about them, and maybe suggest some yourself.

And it's not just rare I do want to challenge your ears with some of them.

So first up “Archangel Thunderbird” from the Amon Duul II album "Yeti". We will use this as the lead in song. I found a wonderful video and Renate's voice is incredible.

Next up is John Martyn’s “Big Muff” that he wrote with Lee Perry for his One World album. This is the live “Rock Goes To College” version from 1977 where is backing is provided by an Echoplex tape machine and is something that I often sit down and try to play

I first heard “Major Tom” by Peter Schilling as the theme to Deutschland ‘83 , then I was in a Vegan restaurant with my friend Katie , that also sold records and they had the vinyl single , so I had to buy it didn’t I? Yes it’s very 1980s and I haven’t a clue how I missed it , but I have my copy now.

I could have chosen many Captain Beefheart songs , but “Orange Claw Hammer” from “Trout Mask Replica” is a virtual surreal sea shanty , and this is and experience that many may not want to to even try.

John Cale’s “Heartbreak Hotel” is in a different universe than the Elvis Presley version , so threatening and dark.

Similar to this is Ian Gomm's dark take on Chuck Berry's "Come On" (the first song I played live cos it is so simple) but this is a great production.

That brings me on to "Ain't That Just Like A Woman" by Louis Jordan in 1946 , listen to the main riff on this ten years before "Johnny B. Goode" .

Next is a more mainstream one that is anything but mainstream . "Sky Saw" by Brian Eno the opening track from "Another Green World"

Now some poetry ."Beasley Street" by John Cooper Clarke , this is very grim but essential reading and listening. It was topical at the time , and unfortunately is just as relevant today.

Another piece is "I'm Being Followed By The Rolling Stones" by Murray Lachlan Young which may serve as an antidote to the previous poem.

Then next we have a Mekons song "Ghosts of American Astronauts" , again the Mekons have a wonderful canon , and was thinking of “Where Were You?” but the one I have chosen is more accessible , and actually a very beautiful song.

So how should I finish up this, there are hundreds of songs that I could choose by artists you are either too young to have heard of or have just passed you by , but I will go with something from Malcolm McLaren’s “Fans” and we will take "Carmen (L'Oiseau Rebelle)" (from Bizet's opera Carmen) which is a sassy interpretation of a piece from my favourite opera.

playlistsong reviewscelebritiesbands90s music80s music70s music60s musicpop culture
22

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Lol at your clickbait title! I enjoyed these songs!

  • All of this was interesting. Of course, I loved several of them including Major Tom, Captain Beefheart, Ian Gomm, Louis Jordan, Beasley Street (incredible), I'm Being Followed by the Rolling Stones (hysterical), &, of course, Carmen (fascinating take). The link to Heartbreak Hotel wasn't available here. Not that into the first two songs, Sky, or Ghosts of American Astronauts, but they were interesting.

  • Sarah urffer8 months ago

    These are song great songs! I had to search for John Coles heartbreak hotel, for some reason the link didn’t work for me. I very much enjoy this take more than the Elvis classic. Thanks for sharing these!

  • Mike this is a really brilliant article! I could only play two of the songs… as I’m very protective over my energy and the others sought it harm 😉 Thank you for the John Martyn song - I hadn’t heard this one. You may laugh but I also didn’t know he was from that era!!!! I discovered him at the same time of discovering John Mayer and just assumed both were of modern day (which was now about 15 years back!) The other is the Louis Jordan track. Brilliant!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    great songs

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    I love the song choices! 😀😃🤓😎

  • MecAsaf8 months ago

    Good work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.