Beat logo

I Attended Three Live Performances This Week

A short review of each

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
6
Photo courtesy of the Author

I love that live theatre and music is back and I’ve had so many tickets I’ve been holding onto for almost three years. Three of these productions performed just in the last week alone.

I was hesitant to attend because my son gets married on the 25 June 2022 and I was worried that I may finally contract Covid and miss his wedding, but I took all the necessary precautions and attended all three productions.

Sunday 12 June 2022 - Fast Love : A Tribute to George Michael

Photo courtesy of the Author

This show was performed on the stage at the Tivoli, situated in Fortitude Valley and it was a magical night.

My youngest son dropped me off and picked me up, so I wouldn’t risk the train so close to my oldest son’s wedding.

The music was just perfect, the band very talented and the lead singer was amazing, both in looks very similar to George Michael and just as stunning a voice.

So many of my favourite songs by George Michael were performed. Those latest songs of his solo career, along with some old time favourites, sung back in the days when he was part of Wham.

My favourites of the night were Careless Whispers and Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go.

The performers had the crowd on their feet and dancing by the end of the night. A fantastic night all up.

Would I attend this performance again — definitely!

Tuesday 14 June 2022 - Human Nature

Photo courtesy of the Author

I was over the moon that this group finally arrived in Brisbane to play at the Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC), after waiting for so long to see them.

I took the chance and caught a train to and from the venue but at that time of the night there were very few people on the train.

These four Australian guys have been performing together since they started the group, as high school kids, in the 1980’s.

Although they are Australian they are known world wide, due to performing as the support group for Michael Jackson’s History tour. They played this support gig for 40 shows world wide.

Tuesday night was no disappointment, as they were as phenomenal as I remember when they were all the rage over the last fourty years.

They hated being lumped in as a ‘boy band’ as they preferred to be known as a vocal group. This was due to the fact that they originally only used their vocals to perform — sans any musical instruments.

This was also how they opened the performance on Tuesday night.

Slowly over the years a guitar was added and then eventually a piano but the bulk of their talent is all about their vocals.

This performance took us through their history, performing their older hits and working up to their current music.

My favourites of the night were, Will You Love Me Tomorrow and Be My Baby.

Would I attend this performance again — most definitely!

Saturday 18 June 2022 - Dirty Fame Flash Candles Club

Photo courtesy of the Author

This performance was a spur of the moment show for me as I only purchased the ticket a couple of weeks ago.

I was especially grateful to my youngest son, who once again dropped me off and picked me, therefore mitigating my risk of contracting Covid.

The performance was held at the Judith Wright Art Centre in Fortitude Valley. This was a new venue for me as I had never attended any productions here. In fact, I didn’t know this centre even existed until this performance.

On reading the blurb about this show, it was explained that this was four women that took us back in time to the 1980’s music and soundtracks of the most popular movies of that time.

For example, Dirty Dancing, Fame, Footloose, The Breakfast Club etc etc.

As these were some of my favourite movies of that era, I purchased this ticket with much anticipation of seeing and hearing some of these iconic songs.

However, I was extremely disappointed. This performance turned out to be a comedy show with snippets of the famous movie songs and soundtracks worked into the skits.

Two of the women had stunning voices and I enjoyed their renditions but it ruined the memories by turning them into the backing of their comedy.

Not at all what I was expecting and on that note, it was extremely disappointing.

Would I attend this performance again — never!

************

All in all it’s been a great week and it was so nice to be out and about attending live performances once again.

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

80s music
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    great review. I think I also would have been disappointed with the 3rd one.

  • Excellent and refreshing review!

  • Seems like you had such a fun time!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Glad you had fun. I like George Michael songs ,too. 🌹

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.