Beat logo

Hurricane Joey

Can We Make A Coherent Story From Bob Dylan Song Titles? A TaraNtula eavesdropping on random coffee shop conversations

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
15

I saw a challenge from Arpad Nagy about writing a story with as many song titles from a single artist that you can fit in and hopefully make sense of . Barclay James Harvest once release a song called "Titles" that consisted virtually entirely of Beatles song titles , so I could have just typed that and submitted that as a piece of poetry. You can listen to it here , I love it actually.

I decided to use Bob Dylan (who changed his surname from Zimmerman to Dylan because he loved Dylan Thomas so much). I decided to do it as A TaraNtula eavesdropping on random coffee shop conversations , so it is free form with no story except what you make from the snippets that you hear and you drink your flat white in the corner ..........

The text in bold italic are the Bob Dylan song titles in case you are wondering

As I'm writing this I realize some lines relate to me , some relate to people I know and love but that's for me to know and you to guess

There are well over forty songs listed in this piece , how manty do you know (any at all?) , and as I write this I am listening to some Bob Dylan

§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§

Conversations waiting for One More Cup Of Coffee

Hey Joey, they say there’s a Hurricane coming

Nah there's just the trees shakin' and blowin' in the wind

But look at them clouds looks like A Hard Rains A Gonna Fall , or even a Tempest

We're not in Kansas now and he went back to eating his Country Pie

Who's the girl? She looks like Queen Jane, Approximately

Naw , that's Isis , She Belongs to me

Most Likely You Go Your Way and I'll Go Mine 💔

You Ain't Going Nowhere , I Want You , I Wanna Be Your Lover , Baby I'm In The Mood For You 💚💙💜❤️

Sara wanted a Romance in Durango but now she has to make do with a drink on the beach in Mozambique , Just Like A Woman

If your heart is broken I'll Keep it with mine and we will make it better You Angel You

It's cold out and Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn) , John Wesley Harding and Blind Willie McTell are in the corner chatting and mourning the Lonely Death of Hattie Carroll

All Along The Watchtower, Time Passes Slowly but you look at the barista , they Gotta Serve Somebody and so on

It isn't the same as yesterday , The Times They Are A Changing but I am in Mixed Up Confusion and Tangled Up In Blue and don't wanna be Knockin' on Heaven's Door but you hear a tale of

Abandoned Love , they say It's All Over Now Baby Blue , Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues ... so sad

I met a Girl From The North Country , she gave me Shelter from the Storm and while we huddled she told me about Lily Rosemary and the Jack of Hearts before leaving for Desolation Row

I Got a New Pony from Maggies Farm , I never asked you so We Better Talk This Over , someone need to look after it but It Ain't Me Babe so

Where Are You Tonight? , I miss you , it's Soon After Midnight , but I'll Be Your Baby Tonight , I really will

If You See Her Say Hello , the Groom's Still Waiting At The Altar but it's not Up To Me

I Want You , you have This Heart of Mine, If Not For You I could not have done this

§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§

So we have to lead with a Bob Dylan song, and I hate the over used adjective "iconic" but the video for Subterranean Homesick Blues is just that. I must say this was an interesting and engaging piece to put together (they are Bob Dylan's words after all) but I hope you actually get through to read this and enjoy it.

playlist
15

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.