Beat logo

How Spotify has changed the way I listen to Music

Everyone has different music tastes

By InkGalaxies~Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
How Spotify has changed the way I listen to Music
Photo by Simon Noh on Unsplash

The World as we know it isn't a musical. People don't erupt into song when someone catches their eye. Or the world doesn't immediately become gloomy and rainy when your sad or accosted by heartbreak. Thankfully music companies have made it so we can have these soundtracks available to us no matter where we are in the world.

Even before the days of playlists or Spotify, the idea of mixtapes was around. I remember in my childhood my parents taping certain songs into cassettes from the radio to eventually listen to in the family car.

As I grew up, I eventually started my own collection of cassettes that eventually became a library of CDs, before I finally upgraded to an mp3 player. Does anyone remember those? Eventually, Mp3 players became obsolete when music was finally able to be stored and played on phones. The iPhone eventually replacing the iPod. Or in my case the Zune.

That's right, I was one of the few hundred people that carried a Zune in their pocket. I loved that tiny thing, and its ability to hold five hundred songs. The Zune was Microsoft's version of Itunes and I loved that little thing before it eventually got destroyed in the washing machine. What can I say, I was a hopeless forgetful teenager. As we all were once upon a time.

So the iPhone replaced the Zune, and I was introduced to this magical application called Itunes. It gave me music, but only if I paid for each and every song, or an album. Then, out of the blue, an APP called Spotify was born, and my life was never the same.

Music has always been a part of my life. I think this has everything to do with my parents. For as long as I remember, my childhood mornings before going to school wer full of listening to Chumfm in the mornings. Listening to Marilyn, Roger, and Hoge in the morning. Eventually, that changed when we started to grow up and the station started putting more and more commercials, eventually making us switch to another station that played more of what is considered the hits of the world.

It wasn't just Chumfm that made me like music so much. My mother loved the music of the eighties, and even now, when I listen to those songs, it brings to mind memories of my mother in our small apartment kitchen singing along to those songs.

One of the reasons I fell in love with Spotify is the fact that they have already made playlists for every decade, mood or topic. I am not embarrassed to say that I not only listen to eighties music but the soundtracks to many childhood movies that most people are embarrassed to say that they used to watch. I've never been embarrassed about my taste in music because the way I listen to music depends on the type of mood I'm in.

The best thing about Spotify is the ability to type in an artist you've never known about and listen to music you never have before. When I come across songs on the radio or with my friends and family I can type them into Spotify and find them to listen to.

My father is another reason I have found a fondness for music. For as long as I can remember my dad has always been tinkering in the backseat of cars updating speakers and sound systems to make songs have a bigger oomph in his many cars. I grew up with wires all around me and the sounds of Bollywood and Eighties all around me. Now that I'm older and I can choose what music I want to listen to I find myself still listening to the music of my childhood because that is the music that makes me feel most at peace.

Music has always had a way of changing my moods, making me see the world a certain way. When I listen to eighties music the world seems more colorful and beautiful somehow. Childhood music gives me a sense of nostalgia in a world that seems to be without hope.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

InkGalaxies~

I'm a published writer with two novels currently out there in the world, and four others posted on Wattpad. I've always loved the written word, both in the blogosphere and in fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.