Beat logo

Hello And Welcome

The Beginning of my Vocal Journey

By Drew LanePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Hello And Welcome
Photo by Drew Beamer on Unsplash

Hi there and welcome to my new Vocal page! My name is Drew Lane and I'm a musical theatre composer based in Melbourne Australia. I do a whole host of other things as well (I'm not one for sitting still!) but you'll find out more about me as we go together.

Over the years I've attempted - sometimes successfully, other times not so much - to keep a regular blog recounting the things I'm doing, the challenges I face as a writer/composer/producer, and all that sort of stuff.

However, I'm also a teacher. And I know that I'm passionate about helping other people bring their dreams come to fruition. We don't live in a creative vacuum, and though we often feel like we are competing against each other, we shouldn't. We're all in this together. Our goals are different. We can walk this journey side by side, rather than kicking down and punching out.

So, I'm trying again. 

Yes, it's 2020 and pretty much everything has sucked, so if this little sojourn sucks, I'll blame it on COVID! *lol*.

In any case, I have a little plan.  This Vocal journey will essentially be made up of three parts:

  • Things I'm working on at the time;
  • Advice and stuff I've learned; and
  • Songs and Videos

I was thinking of doing three completely different blogs, but I figured it'd be easier to just have it all in one place.  I'm aiming to write on a regular basis, but there'll be times when there's not much to say or not much is happening. If 2020 has taught me anything, it's that nothing is for certain. For all the best laid plans (and trust me, this year I had many) you never really know what's just around the corner.

And I guess that's the purpose of why I've decided to write here. We don't know what's going to happen, and that we need to take every day - every moment - and make the best out of it.

Time is finite.

If you want to find out a little more about what I do, you can check out the following:

I also have a podcast which you can find everywhere. It's called "From Inspiration To Stage". Please check it out!

In any case, thanks for stumbling in and reading!  Please feel free to follow me regular updates (or whatever it is you do here!), and definitely leave a comment for me! I like to answer questions and thoughts - and you may inspired a whole blog entry!

Cheers!

Drew

humanity
1

About the Creator

Drew Lane

I'm a musical theatre composer based in Melbourne Australia, with a few awards under my belt (should I really even say that? Oh well...) I write, I compose, and I also teach: I fully believe in helping other people realise their own dreams!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.