Beat logo

Have Yourself an Electric Merry Christmas!

Clocking in Sixty Yules Filled with Laughter, Lyrics, Love, & Twinkling Lights

By Lightning BoltPublished 2 years ago β€’ Updated 2 years ago β€’ 12 min read
12
πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈπŸŽ„βš‘

"Build a fire and gather round the tree

"Fill the glass and maybe come and sing with me!"

'Blitzen' means 'lightning.'

__________πŸŽ€βš‘πŸŽ„________

Happy Holidays! Merry Christmas! Seasons Greetings! Mazel Tov! Pleasant Yuletide Somethings to those of you who do that Winter Solstice Thing!

Basically: Wishing Peace & Happiness to One and All!

I can't upload eggnog or spliffs to you because, you know, that technology doesn't exist yet... but I will bring you music, and memes, and comedy classics!

Are you excited yet?

Well, if you aren't, maybe this πŸ‘‡ will start the titillation process? πŸ˜‰πŸ‘

12/25/2021 is my 60th Christmas.

I'm going to share some holiday memories. If you're here expecting that certain Mariah song that appears on every other musical Christmas list, you're going to be disappointed. 🀨 I've got better stuff to offer.

Way back in ancient times in the year I was born, back in 1961, this πŸ‘‡ newly tune debuted on December 6th. As a toddler, I grew up watching the Chipmunks. And every Christmas, we sang along with Alvin and the boys!

We can hardly stand the wait!

Please Christmas, don't be late!

As I was coming to awareness in the 1960s, I heard my parents' music. My mom used to especially love Andy Williams. But I was aware of all the great crooners: Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, Dean Martin, Nat King Cole, Perry Como, Ella Fitzgerald. I can appreciate all those great classic Christmas songs now in ways I never could when I was young.

These guys were extraordinary! πŸ‘‡ Check it!

Bing Crosby and Frank Sinatra

Here's another awesome classic performed the year I was born...

The Christmas Song πŸŽ„ Nat King Cole

This next song πŸ‘‡ is only two minutes eight seconds long so there's really no accepted excuse for not listening to it. πŸ˜‰

🎼🎡🎢 You will get a sentimental feeling when you hear

Voices singing, let's be jolly

Deck the halls with boughs of holly!

Rocking Around the Christmas Tree πŸŽ„ Brenda Lee

There have been a dozen different remakes of this next song over the years by so many great artists, butβ€” for my Christmas cookiesβ€” this is the definitive version! πŸ‘„ Dedicated with love to all the good girls who've been angels all year!

πŸŽ… Santa Baby πŸŽ„ Eartha Kitt

Finally, for a kid like me in the 1960s, this tuneπŸ‘‡ personified Christmas like no other. There are no lyrics here to remember. It's all about the melody (and Schroeder's piano playing!)

Crank this and dance! βš‘πŸ˜πŸ‘

Christmas Song 'Linus & Lucy' πŸŽ„ the Peanuts Gang

__________πŸŽ€βš‘πŸŽ„________

In 1971, I was 10 years old.

Like every other kid of the 70s, I influenced by all the toy commercials. This video πŸ‘‡ does a great job of encapsulating the Christmases from my teenage years.

I really need to give this next link to you!! πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡ Only people of my generationβ€” people who actually remember K-martsβ€” will be tempted to listen to this. And there is what? Six of us left now? πŸ˜„ Well, for the five of you out there besides me who might be interested, this is K-Mart In Store Christmas music, circa 1974!

The same year I turned ten, John Lennon released Happy Xmas (War is Over). He was speaking out against the war in Vietnam, where over 2,400 Americans were killed that year alone. My uncle (my father's brother) was a veteran of the Korean War. I remember being nine or ten (maybe eleven) and hearing about the Vietnam war, about the draft, and being deathly afraid I would eventually die in some foreign country. John Lennon became a personal hero of mine in my late teens.

I was a bisexual blond farm boy growing up in the 1970s, a time when 'openly gay' was some Hollywood thing. I never ever told anyone I secretly had a huge crush on David Cassidy. I bought every Partridge Family vinyl record released, including their Christmas album. πŸ˜‚

My Christmas Card to You πŸŽ„ The Partridge Family.

When it comes to the 1970s, what is more quintessential than Eagles music? Am I right? And they certainly did the definitive version of this classic Christmas song!

Please Come Home For Christmas The Eagles 1978

Before Michael ever dreamed of moonwalking on his own, there was a simpler time, when he still hung out with his brothers at Christmas time! This was the 1970s!

Santa Claus is Coming to Town πŸŽ„ The Jackson 5

In 1975, Saturday Night Live was brand new and very experimental! Here's three minutes of Chevy Chase as President Gerald Ford decorating the White House on the first SNL Christmas show. πŸ‘‡

To round out this decade, take just one minute to buy the world a coke.

🎼🎡🎢 I'd like to teach the world to sing in perfect harmony πŸ‘‡

__________πŸŽ€βš‘πŸŽ„________

In 1981, I was 20 years old.

In my estimation, the Christmas music wasn't that great in the 80s, but comedy was outstanding. For instance... πŸ‘‡

Not all the 80s Christmas music withered away forever. We still love this oneπŸ‘‡, right?

Last Christmas πŸŽ„ WHAM!

Like I said, I'm not going to dwell much on the music of this decade but... I'd be remiss is I didn't mention Band Aid. It was unique. In 1984, a recording session was held to help with famine relief in Ethiopia. Among those in the "supergroup" were Paul Young, Boy George, Bono, Sting, Simon Le Bon, Phil Collins, Jody Watley, and Paul Weller. The single generated almost $14 million for the cause... and this song is pretty awesome. πŸ‘‡πŸŒπŸŽ„πŸŽ€πŸŒŽ

Feed the World!

Let them know it's Christmas time!

Since I was in my 20s during 1980s, I didn't do Fraggle Rock, or Care bears, or Smurfs. I'm a cat lover, however, so I can always appreciate me some Garfield Christmas moments. 😽

To end my 80s section, here's (as William Shatner says) a "historic" moment on SNL from Christmas 1986. It's the Lost Ending from It's a Wonderful Life!

But the most hilarious Christmas sketch of the 80s was Steve Martin's "A Holiday Wish?" Some (Steve Martin) say "A Holiday Wish?" is "The Greatest SNL Sketch of All Time!" If I had ONE wish this holiday season, it would be for you to watch this sketch! πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡ πŸŽ„

βš‘πŸŽ„_____________βš‘πŸŽ„

In 1991, I was 30.

This is the decade it happened. This is the year Mariah scorched the Earth with that Christmas song of hers, with the result being that for years, people didn't even try writing new Christmas songs. I mean... I think maybe I liked it at some point in my life. Maybe? Can't stand it anymore though. I love the sentiment. But there will be no Mariah here.

Instead, lets start this decade with the longest-running commercial Hershey has ever produced, a tradition begun in the 90s.

When Santa is sick, who do you call in the 90s? *NSYNC. Naturally. Duh.

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays πŸŽ„ *NSYNC

I have forgotten something about the 1990s. Pop group holiday albums were kind of a thing. And this one really is another peppy pop Christmas ditty. πŸ‘‡

🎼🎡🎢 I got music on my radio!

Merry Christmas Baby πŸŽ„ Hanson

Could anything be more 90s than The Simpsons? The very first episode of the Simpsons in 1989 was a Christmas show. Remember Santa's Little Helper?

Here's the Simpsons recounting the tale of...

The First Christmas Tree πŸŽ„

On 12/11/1993, Chris Farley gave us a true Motivational Santa. πŸ‘‡

βš‘πŸŽ„_____________βš‘πŸŽ„

In 2001, I turned 40.

I dropped you some K-Mart Christmas music for the 70s. To start out the new millennium, I gotta share this. πŸ‘‡ It's an article written in 1999 about the Internet, explaining howβ€” in the very near futureβ€” the Internet would have no appeal! It's hilarious how far off these predictions were. πŸ˜‚

In 2000, Horatio Sanz, Jimmy Fallon, Chris Kattan, and Tracy Morgan first performed "I Wish It Was Christmas Today." It is a classic! Shouldn't we be singing this song, like, every day of the year? πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈπŸŽ€πŸŽ„βš‘

🎼🎡🎢 I don't care what everyone says

Christmas is awesome and cool!

{This video contains many different SNL appearances. Watch 'em all! The one where they are dressed as toys is maybe the best? Maybe? NO! The version from 2011 is hilarious just to watch Tracy Morgan dance! This song will make you wish it was Christmas today!}

My Grownup Christmas List πŸŽ„πŸŽ€ Kelly Clarkson

There's so many different versions of this next song. There's Dean Martin; there's Tony Bennett; there's a version done by John Legend. But in the early 2000s, there was this one. It's not bad!!! πŸ˜‰

Baby, It's Cold Outside πŸŽ„ Jessica Simpson & Nick Lachey

Yeah, it seems like this decade is all about the ladies. What can I say? These ladies πŸ‘‡ be looking fine in their festive Christmas attire! This video will warm you up when it's cold outside!

8 Days of Christmas πŸŽ„ Destiny's Child

Another SNL Christmas, from 2006β€” Andy Samberg joins host Justin Timberlake for that timeless holiday classic: "D**k in a Box."

🎼🎡🎢 Hey girl, I got something real important to give you

This song makes me sooo sentimental. Don't get me started. 😒

Rounding out this decade with some Futurama!

This is a Tale of Two Santas.

βš‘πŸŽ„_____________βš‘πŸŽ„

"I am Christmas Groot!"

In 2011, I was 50.

In 2012, for Christmas on SNL, Bill Hader did an impression of Al Pacino, playing Charlie Brown, in...

You're a Rat Bastard, Charlie Brown.

From 2014, this πŸ‘‡ holiday song from Meghan is sweet. This isn't the older song, "I'll Be Home for Christmas."

This is a totally different song. πŸŽ„πŸ‘‡

🎼🎡🎢 Santa called to make sure I'm prepared

He said, "Wrap the gifts with all your love and care"

The winter blows the snow up in the sky

But I won't let the wind delay my flight

"I'll Be Home" πŸŽ„ Meghan Trainor

This one is fun. πŸ‘‡ All the best Christmas songs are peppy and upbeat. Am I right?

🎼🎡🎢 Take a trip down Candy Cane Lane with me

It's so magical, let's go there in your dreams

It's the best, so get dressed, I'll impress

You with the lights in all their windows

Candy Cane Lane πŸŽ„ Sia

This one next one is soooooo smooth!

By Christmas Eve πŸŽ„ John Legend

This next sketch from SNL makes about a dozen lists as one of the best Christmas skits in the show's history. This is Matt Damon’s β€œBest Christmas Ever” from 2018. πŸ‘‡

βš‘πŸŽ„_____________βš‘πŸŽ„

It started as just a working relationship...
... but then they stopped denying their mutual attraction for each other...

This ☝️ is how candy canes are made!

In the end, the breakup was especially painful.

__________πŸŽ€βš‘πŸŽ„________

On January 27th 2021, I turned 60.

This is a strange Christmas for me. I started having seizures about two years ago. I can't work any longer because of them. I can't drive. The seizures really mess up my memory Big Time. I didn't get Covid, but this last year has been one health issue after another for me. And having no income makes it impossible for me to act like this is a normal Christmas!

Additionally, our house is an unmitigated disaster. We discovered we had black mold in the walls. The removal was extremely costly and we couldn't afford the build-back. So we have a missing ceiling... in a kitchen that is non-functional... as well as many missing walls. I love decorating for Christmas, but I didn't do anything this year. No tree, no lights, no tinsel. 😒😭 We don't even have a living room we can use. I spend the bulk of my entire life in our bedroom.

I hate not having any income. The best I can contribute is the mere dribbles offered up here by Vocal. I asked the Love of My Life to marry me on 5/16, seven months ago. I would dearly love to be able to shower him with gifts this year... but I can't.

In so many ways, this Christmas Sucks Ass. Big Time!!

But...

⚑

It actually is one of the Best Christmases Ever for me... because I'm in love. This extraordinary man who said he'd marry me? All I Want For Christmas Is Him!!! πŸ˜‰

I am Blessed!

So....

.... before I wrap up this Christmas celebration, here's some final favorites of mine.

From 2019, here's Eddie Murphey, who is Home for the Holidays!

Oh, this is so cool! πŸ‘‡ Sing with me! This is Come on Home for Christmas, as performed by George Ezra.

Originally recorded in 1979, this next one is a classic you either love or hate. (In the early 2000s, it literally appeared simultaneously in polls as the Christmas song most people liked... and the Christmas song most people loathed.) Personally, I don't know how to feel about this classic... but I will include it before I'll ever do that Mariah song! Just sayin!

I'm not even going to tell you the title. If you don't know the name of this song just by seeing it's performed by Elmo 'n' Patsy, click on the link! πŸ‘‡

These last two are my Ultimates for 2021. πŸ‘‡

Elton John is my most favorite artist of all time. His songs are the soundtrack of my life! He did a Christmas song way back in 1974 called Step Into Christmas and frankly, it really sucks. But this songβ€” this duo from Elton & Edβ€”πŸ‘‡ is freaking amazing! It might be my all-time favorite Christmas song ever. No lie: in the five days leading up to the 25th, I've probably listened and sang this over fifty times.

🎼🎡🎢 So kiss me under the mistletoe!

Pour out the wine, let's toast and pray for December snow!

I know there's been pain this year, but it's time to let it go!

Next year, you never know!

But for now, Merry Christmas!

Is it possible to sing this πŸ‘‡ without smiling? I think not!

βš‘πŸ˜πŸ‘

Finally... I know everyone traditionally breaks out that Mariah song for their Twin Flame at this time of year. But for me, when it comes to Christmas sentiment that fits, it's... 'We're going to be a classic for all times.'

Demetrious,

🎼🎡🎢 "Thought I was done for, thought that love had died

But you came along, I swear you saved my life

And I wanna thank you, baby

'Cause you make it feel like Christmas!" πŸŽΆπŸŽ„

You Make Me Feel Like Christmas

🎼🎡🎢 Sweet gingerbread made with molasses

My heart skipped and I reacted

Can't believe that this is happening

Like a present sent from God!

Sleigh bells singing hallelujah

Stars are shining on us, too

I wanna thank you, baby!

You make it feel like Christmas!

⚑🌈πŸ”₯πŸ’™+πŸ’š=❀️ 4evahπŸ”₯πŸŽ„βš‘

Merry Christmas!

Peace on Earth, Good Will Toward Men

God Bless Us, One and All!

______________________Bolt⚑

pop culture
12

About the Creator

Lightning Bolt

From out of the blue, _Bolt ⚑writes horror galore, Sci-Fi, Superheroes & strange Poetry + MEME-ing MADNESS X12.

Vocal needs a Comedy Community!

Proud member of the Vocal Social Society on Facebook.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.