Beat logo

Ghostly Kisses - Live at Le Grand Salon

A Canadian Singer-Songwriter To Give You Chills

By sleepy draftsPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - February 2024
31
Ghostly Kisses - Live at Le Grand Salon

When 'Ghostly Kisses Live at Le Grand Salon' appeared on my YouTube homepage, it was like a breath of fresh air amidst the algorithmic chaos.

Margaux Sauvé is a French-Canadian singer-songwriter whose clean vocals sound ethereal alongside dreamy, minimalistic instrumentals. Every word is audible, every syllable magnetic.

Ghostly Kisses' name comes from the William Faulkner poem, Une ballade des dames perdues (roughly translated to, 'A Ballad of the Lost Women.') This name comes from the line, "Brush my lips with ghostly kisses."

Not only is this sentiment beautiful in its rendering, but it's how Margaux's songs feel: like they are brushing you with ghostly kisses.

00:32 J'ai demandé à la lune

This set opens with a cover of the 2002 French rock/new wave song by Indochine, “J'ai demandé à la lune” (I asked the moon.) Ghostly Kisses’ version is different than the original in its texture, echoing throughout Le Grand Salon as a soft and desperate ballad rather than an angst-filled pop-rock jam. The difference is almost entirely in the emotion Margaux brings to “J'ai demandé à la lune” as she infuses each word with dreamy vulnerability.

English translation:

I prayed to the moon

And the sun doesn't know

I showed her my burns

And the moon, she laughed at me

And even the sky didn't look good

And I wasn't healing

I told myself, "such bad luck" (unfortunate)

And the moon, she made fun of me

I asked the moon

If you still wanted me

She said "I don't often deal with things like this"

And you and me

We were so sure

Even though we sometimes told each other

It was just an affair

And that it wasn't meant to last

I don't have much to tell you or (I don't havе something big to tell you)

And nothing much to make you laugh

Causе I always expect the worst

And the best wouldn't make me happy

I asked the moon

If you still wanted me

She said "I don't often deal with things like this"

And you and me

We were so sure

Even though we sometimes told each other

It was just an affair

And that it wasn't meant to last

By Ganapathy Kumar on Unsplash

04:16 The City Holds My Heart

“The City Holds My Heart” is my favourite song from this set. You can listen to her original version of this song as a standalone on Spotify, but something is positively mesmerizing about Ghostly Kisses’ live performance. You can tell by the movement in Margaux's body and the emotion behind every note that she is completely tuned in to the moment. This song invites us to get lost with her as Ghostly Kisses explores the intermingling themes of struggling to come to terms with goodbye and mourning what is familiar.

And I know, I know, I know, I know

I'll still love you

Even worlds apart

The city holds my heart

Within walls of glass and steel

Can't you see, I just can't go?

These walls are all I know

By Julian Santa Ana on Unsplash

08:20 Don't Know Why

Margaux opens up this song by telling us a bit about the story behind it. She explains that it’s “quite a personal story about a moment in [her] life where [she] realized [she] couldn’t save someone [she] loved,” and that she had to decide to “go her own way.”

The main lyric that hits home for me in “Don’t Know Why” is, “I don’t want to make it alright.”

Ghostly Kisses’ performance is chilling. Margaux’s voice lulls the listener into reflection and contemplation as Louis' and Antoine's instrumentals pull us along, never overpowering the striking instrument that is Margaux’s voice.

By Andreea Popa on Unsplash

12:42 Call My Name

If this set is a breath of fresh air then this song is the wind through the winter trees. The message is simple, the lyrics are direct, and Margaux's voice is piercing.

How come together feels alone?

Am I an island made of stone

Where no one lives and nothing grows?

I want a dream I've never known

Far away, so far from home

By Viktoriya on Unsplash

16:42 Empty Note

"Empty Note" feels like poetry set in motion from the lyrics, to the instrumental, to Ghostly Kisses' performance. Like many of Ghostly Kisses' other songs, the music inspires a meditative feeling in its captivating clarity. The lyrics take us on a journey of tribulation and overcoming along with Margaux.

How could I ever know more?

When everything is held by threat

How could I ever feel you?

Once again, without losing my mind

By SAMANTA SANTY on Unsplash

Ghostly Kisses brings together the vibrancy of lyrical storytelling, powerful vocals, and fine-tuned production. This performance is a reminder of how magical it is to watch musicians live at work. By getting to see the emotion and vulnerability in these artists and in getting to hear their stories, we are welcomed to a whole other layer of this musical body of work by Ghostly Kisses.

To learn more about Ghostly Kisses and how you can listen to more of Margaux's music, check out her website here.

What's a live performance that made your favourite song even better?

Let me know in the comments below!

featureartalbum reviews
31

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylor2 months ago

    So much that can be said in French that has no meaning in English. On my listening list tonight and thanks. Congrats on the TS

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Thank you for introducing us on Vocal to this wonderful band

  • Kalina Bethany3 months ago

    I've been meaning to learn more French for work and to chat with friends, and I've heard music is one great way! This is a jem of a find, thanks for sharing :) A Ballad of the Lost Women - this made me tear up as I read the lyrics.. spending so much time in B.C. last year losing & finding myself again

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Thank you for this. And I have to say that seeing Tanya Tagaq live - she performed without a break for an entire hour - was a soul-changing experience!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby3 months ago

    You definitely showcase a brilliant talent here with a finesse and grace

  • Oneg In The Arctic3 months ago

    I definitely want to listen to these now

  • Abody N. Eiid3 months ago

    nice content . You can also evaluate my stories and my writing style because that motivates me to write more if the content I present is good.

  • Ali SP3 months ago

    Congrats on your top story. I will say that I had never heard of this song before but your review made me feel like I’ve been missing out! Great writing as usual ❤️!

  • Natasha Collazo3 months ago

    I love every inch of this article. Can't you see, I just can't go? These walls are all I know 😭 Her voice is a form of LIFE.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    sleep drafts, this was spectacular!!! Loved it!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!💕♥️♥️

  • This performance and video is one of my all-time favorite pieces of music. As someone who is half-french and fluent, it scratches something deep in my soul. You've done a great job capturing the feelings of the video and reviewing it. Love that you wrote about this and congrats on the top story!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Nice review. Have to admit though, I've never heard of them. Congrats on the TS.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I've whizzed through this but I will return to it so that I can read it with the music on the background. I will be back!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Oh, I need to find someone to fall in love with, just an affair which is not just an affair. It's no wonder French is the language of love. These are so wonderful, Je l’aime, I love it. Congrats TS.

  • Ava Mack3 months ago

    Love this! These two lines literally jumped out at me: "Causе I always expect the worst And the best wouldn't make me happy" - oof, chills!

  • Omgggg!!!! I'm sooooo in love with her voice!!! So mesmerising and seems like a lullaby! Also, her lyrics hit so hard!! Thank you so much for introducing me to her music!!

  • Kodah3 months ago

    💖 Beautiful Beautiful Beautiful 💖

  • Sara 3 months ago

    Omg I can’t believe you mentioned my favorite song!! I loved the song This City Holds my Heart from the first second that I listened. I really enjoyed learning more about the band. Thank you for writing about this 🫶

  • All of this is so beautiful. ^.^ Thank you so much for sharing!

  • Andrei Z.3 months ago

    They're good! Made me recall a French musician, Leïla Huissoud's performances. Simple but beautifully emotional.

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Wonderful!

  • Test3 months ago

    well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.