Beat logo

Gales of Melody

The lyrics to a song can sometimes tell a persons story!

By Joanna BlazePublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 14 min read
Like

Music has played a major role in people’s lives for hundreds of years. Whether it ranges from times of celebration to worship or even joy and pleasure. But in turn music has always played a part in telling people’s own personal feelings that they wish they could let out but don’t have a way of doing so. For me music can sometimes also tell people’s stories too. Even the lyrics when it mentions certain things it becomes almost like a recording of the past. But that’s when music not only helps relieve some memories, but it can also help heal and strengthen even the darkest ones that are made. All my life I have had so many ups and downs and I know this may sound cliché like any writer or music lover would say but, music truly became my comfort to get me through some of the most painful parts of my life. But if there is one thing that I have learned is that when you reach your lowest points and when you reach rock bottom. It’s when it becomes your most pinnacle moment in life that gives you the strength to rise from the bottom to the top.

She Will Be Loved by Maroon 5

This song became an important reminder to me when I always had those around me always telling me that I will never be loved. It is sad when your own family cannot love you the way you should be loved by them. When the truth is I always knew I would be loved eventually by those who truly love and value me for who I am. When I felt alone my brother was there for me a lot and whenever I hear this song it brings back a lot of memories, I have of him. This song also did serve as a reminder too to me of a painful past with a terrible ex that hurt me so many times. The man I used to be with truly did not love me the way I should have. I was not loved for who I was and was only loved for just being a woman. I hate the fact that sometimes occasionally, the verbal and emotional abuse I endured from him still haunts me. But every time I still do get those small insecurities when I want to be loved by all, I listen to this song, and I remind myself I will be loved.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nIjVuRTm-dc

The Climb by Miley Cyrus

When I first heard this song, I truly had a lot of struggles with fitting into the world and finding my place. I didn’t have a good home life and I didn’t fit in well at school among my peers and I hated not having people accept me for who I am. But it wasn’t until this year that I realized how much of my life has truly been a real climb. In life you truly are going to deal with struggles, chances, and risks. In the end they may knock you off your feet but, you just got to keep going and fight to get what you want in life that makes you happy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NG2zyeVRcbs

Beautiful Crazy by Luke Combs

For me this song is more than just a song, it is a literal memory for me. When I heard this song for the very first time, I had my first dance with the man I had fallen absolutely in love with. I had dated other guys before and I thought I knew what love was but that all changed until I met him. As we were dancing for the first time to Beautiful Crazy, and I looked into his eyes I just could not believe how lucky I was to have him. Then when it got to the very end of the song he sung the words to the song in my ear “beautiful crazy, she can’t help but amaze me.” That single moment right there was how I knew I had found someone that truly loved me and I loved him. I was never the person that believed in true love and fairy tales after I was broken and hurt for so long. But since I met him, I now know what true love is and I really feel like our love is almost like a dream come true. I will also say this, when I got to see Luke Combs for the first time in concert listening to this song live. I felt the true heart, passion and soul Luke Combs has brought to the world of country music.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rItv9i6c7AY

Doin This by Luke Combs

This was the one song that made me a Luke Combs fan forever. Because out of all the songs I have heard over the years I don’t think I have ever felt a singer’s true passion for music than Luke Combs himself. I’m not gonna lie, I actually got a little teary eyed when I first heard this song. You can just hear it, see it, and feel it that he truly sings from his heart. Even this song alone tells the story of how he got to where he was. He even gave a huge shout out to the man that sang with him before he became known and the one that helped get him to where he is, and his name is Adam Church. Even Lukes story alone showed how one can truly rise to the top and be great, but most of all fulfil their dreams and never give up.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2YSqaI3IBpo

Fix You by Coldplay

Every time I hear this song I think back to when my uncle took me to watch the sunrise at the beach one morning. He told me that he too had a lot of struggles in life and that everyone around has their own stuff to deal with and that I would never be alone because I would always have support and love wherever I go. He even told me that the world is a mess and sometimes that’s the beauty of it too. I never knew what he meant by that until a few years ago exactly. What he meant by that was, no matter how hard life can be and no matter how dark the world may be that there is always light. When my boyfriend was struggling with all of complications after a scary accident, he wasn’t sure how to face the world again. But that was when I remembered that day at the beach with my uncle and I decided I wanted to do the same experience and tell him the same thing my uncle told. I then told him I will help fix you like you helped fix me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k4V3Mo61fJM

I’m Still Standing by Elton John

I first listened to this song a few years ago after I had finally healed myself from all the bitterness and negativity I endured. Whenever I listen to this song I think about the haters and one that talked down to me all the time thinking that I would never succeed or that I would never find happiness. When they have no idea how far they are from the truth, and I am currently living a happy life and still standing strong and tall. Not to mention after everything I’ve dealt with, I have learned to finally have a voice and have thick skin when it comes to dealing with all forms of negative people and I’m proud to say no one can break me anymore.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZHwVBirqD2s

Photograph By Ed Sheeran

During the times I wish that I could still see the faces of those that I lost, and when I think about some of the happiest times, I had in life I always think about this song. To me it represents the fact that when you lose someone that you love and all the happiest memories you make are never forgotten. Because we have these photographs to forever capture those moments and memories that can always be held on to.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nSDgHBxUbVQ

Unstoppable by Sia

After everything I’ve been through, I pulled through it all and it made me more determined to try new things and show not just the world but myself that I am not afraid. But I am also unstoppable with just about anything I do. Like I am literally not afraid to do anything from archery, snowmobiling, martial arts, art, volleyball, tennis, horseback riding, hiking, and even solo traveling. I can keep going on and there is a lot more I could share with what I have done but all anything needs to know is how determined and passionate I am for anything. The fact that I can do anything I set my mind on makes me an unstoppable woman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YaEG2aWJnZ8

Don’t You Forget About Me

This song and movie both hold a special memory for me. There was one summer I did a lot of traveling and adventures with a close friend of mine. That was when we both discovered we both loved the movie, the breakfast club, and the song. It was the summer before we went our separate ways to college, and we made this song our jam that even though we are going our separate ways, we will never forget each other and the memories we made.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdqoNKCCt7A

You Haven’t Seen the Last of Me by Cher

There was a time in my life that I had gotten hurt not too seriously but badly where I felt defeated. I had fallen off a horse and at the time I was inexperienced to handle this advanced horse my coach thought I was ready for, but it turned out I wasn’t. So, I had fallen off and I face planted right into a wooden fence with my leg still stuck in the stir up. When I came to in the hospital it was scary waking up in there not remembering what happened that day and how I got there. To this day I still don’t remember the fall. But I hate the fact that of what I found what happened that day, I was told by my teammates that my trainer got in the car and left me after I fell off because, I refused to get back on when she should have known that I had a serious concussion and could not function properly after that. After the negativity I endured from that after time went by and I eventually heard this song this really sent the fire in my soul roaring once again. I knew that one day I was going to prove to her that I would come back stronger. But I realized after I did just that I didn’t have to prove it her or others but to myself I am a strong and fearless rider. I have currently taken a break from it to work on my career goals, but I hope to return to riding soon and I promise my coach and my teammates they have not seen the last of me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LD7UtPtyuV8

When I look at You by Miley Cyrus

This may sound a little cheesy but if I could think of one song in how I would describe the man of dreams it would be this one. To be honest I also sang this song for him, and it was the first time I sang in front of a whole bunch of people in a long time. My best friend Liz kept encouraging me and I kept telling her this is silly, and I don’t want to embarrass myself in front of a bunch of people and especially him. But she even told me that sometimes taking risks and chances can open doors and she even said that I always have trouble opening my feelings and emotions up to other people. She was right, which is true, and I realized what is the point of having a relationship with someone if you can’t tell them anything that’s on your mind. All the lyrics pretty much described how I felt before I met him and how much I see the light now that I’m with him. Some of the lyrics that hits home to me the most is “when my world is falling apart, when there is no light to break up the dark, that’s when I look at you.” Because all of this was true because when I felt like I lost everything I ever cared about, and I was starting to lose myself to the darkness. That was when I found him, and I could finally see the light. I am also happy to say that because of him I have no animosity or hatred for those that hurt me anymore, because all they are to me is a distant memory.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8wxOVn99FTE

Powerless by Linkin Park

I would say this song really helped me heal from a lot of the pain I endured from losing those that I lost and some things I wish I didn’t endure. Like I know the title of the song is powerless and this was so true for me because I felt powerless. Like there were things that I wish didn’t happen like I wish I wasn’t powerless when some friends and family of mine passed away because I always wished I could have stopped it from happening. There are also a lot of rough situations I hate that I was affected by that I wish didn’t happen at all. But this song has so much raw emotion and rhythm that it literally screamed everything that I was going through.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XvUESnQo8C4

Would You Come Home by Tyler Blackburn

I know that in every relationship not everything is going to be perfect. Every relationship is bound to have flaws and weaknesses. That’s what ended up happening with me and my current person of interest. We are currently working on ourselves to help better each other emotionally and mentally. Because we both endured a lot of traumas before we were even together. So, we are currently apart, and we still do keep in touch to check to see how we are doing. I have seen a lot of changes in myself mentally, emotionally, and most of all spiritually. I may be okay now, but I know that there is still something that is missing and that’s him. But I know that this separation will make us stronger than anything else yet, every time I hear this song, I always think to myself I hope he comes home soon. If this song could be played from both of our perspectives, I know we would both feel exactly the way for another. Because it really has been a little bit of a battle for me during this time apart, but I discovered I have more hidden strengths than meet the eye.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8FDUGLGfpWM

We Both Know by Colbie Caillit

Once again, I have a song that has played a very emotional part in my life and it’s not just regarding me but the man I love as well. If there ever was a song that could describe me and my lover, it would be this song. He and I have both had a lot of struggles in life. There truly were sometimes that we both did end up spending time apart. But we both realized that we need each other to be free from the darkest parts of our lives. But I even do think back to what my life was like before I met him and how I was truly in the dark, but it took someone like him to pull me out and set me free and I did the same thing for him.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92bPTDwm7W8

A Million Miles Away from Belle

I will be honest I am not an anime person at all but when I first heard this song, I don’t think I have ever heard a song that hit home to me more than this one. This song was a powerful strong reminder to me of those that I loved and lost way too soon that I wish every day would come back and be right by my side. Whenever I am truly missing them more than ever, I listen to this one. Even the movie that this song was from even played a bit of an inspirational part of me to sing again and I too stopped singing after some members of my family died. But I remembered how much they all enjoyed hearing me sing and I finally realized that music really can help heal a person’s soul. I will always miss them no matter what, my biggest motivation for it all is knowing that they are always with me no matter where I go. I also have chosen to stay strong for them every day and because I have found my inner strength I forgot that I had I can finally sing again.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=240qpseWfb0

playlistsong reviewslist
Like

About the Creator

Joanna Blaze

I love writing just about everything but some of my personal favorites are romance, criminal, horror, and fantasy. I'm also an avid traveler I love traveling solo because I have a lot more fun adventures and the experience is more exciting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.