Beat logo

G.I.I.B Music Group, LLC Artist Cremson

Hip Hop Music With A Message

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
Cremson (Photo Credit: Mike Mello McKinney)

The New York based production company Get It In Blood Music Group, LLC (GIIB) and their Hip Hop artist Nathaniel “CREMSON” Seymore released their debut hit single, “The Breath” on June 8th, 2020.

GIIB Music Group, LLC was formed by South Carolina natives, Jonathan Mullins and CREMSON in 2009. CREMSON, an artist with a successful track record as a performing artist became well known in Hip Hop’s underground circuits. His freestyle battling prowess earned him nationwide recognition as an Independent artist. CREMSON had sold over 2,000 copies of his debut album “The Beginning” out of a duffle bag in his hometown of Columbia, S.C.

His latest single, “The Breath” gives life to a seemingly forgotten practice of altruism.

“This record sends a selfless message over a mellifluous yet weighty track that touches the soul of CREMSON’s loyal fan base. He has come a long way and continues to prove to the world that his talent continues to grab people. From his first journey into a recording studio to today’s digital marketplace in the music industry, CREMSON is undoubtedly the super wave that we crave to embrace in the world of Hip Hop.”

-Jonathan Mullins

CREMSON and Mullins had originally teamed up during their high school years in Columbia, S.C. under a start-up label they called JM Productions. With an uncanny ear for talent and an insatiable desire to create his own brand of meaningful music, Mullins honed his talent from mouth to wax and then to digital when he and CREMSON launched GIIB Music Group.

CREMSON states of his latest collaboration with Mullins, “Saying Nothing" puts into perspective those things that we should all be focusing on, but have been distracted from. It is a work designed to enlighten individuals who listen to the trappings of modern day thinking and how our words and thoughts create our reality.

"As a man thinks, so shall he be. If what you say has no substance, then you are saying nothing.”

-Cremson

Vocal readers please enjoy our interview!

Cremson (Photo Credit: Mike Mello McKinney)

Tammy:

What impact does your music make on the world?

Cremson:

My music impacts the world by impacting its original people through (sometimes unsettling) truths that would see them prosper. My music helps to put the minds and hearts of black people, all over, at the level they were meant to vibrate. And that level is vibranium.

Tammy:

What does music mean for you?

Cremson:

To me, music is what connects us all to each other as human beings. I hear music in everything, though the melody may not always be pleasant.

Tammy:

When did you fall in love with hip hop?

Cremson:

I always was interested in hip hop, but it was around 1997 when I heard a Camp Lo cassette my childhood friend, Snuggs, let me borrow. It was called, Uptown Saturday Night. And if you are familiar with this group, you KNOW it was all over from that point!

Tammy:

What social issues are you passionate about and why?

Cremson:

I’m passionate about any issues that seek to hinder my people from realizing our great potential. Of course, “Black Lives Matter” but I thought that was obvious. Wherever the real action is, that’s where you’ll find me. I mean, honestly, I don’t like to pay property taxes but if I got up and marched about it, I’d still have to pay or face penalties. But we need the marchers too, they show the potential of our numbers.

Tammy:

What are some of the best moments in your career so far?

Cremson:

Almost every moment. Just being able to be blessed enough to perform for my old and new fans was something that wasn’t always a clear possibility to me.

Cremson (Photo Credit: Mike Mello McKinney)

Tammy:

What are you currently working on?

Cremson:

My team and I are currently putting the finishing touches on my new album called Tulsa. And then, it doesn’t stop as we plan on jumping right into the next project that my wife and I plan to orchestrate together.

Tammy:

What do you want your legacy to be?

Cremson:

I want my legacy to be one that showed that I helped move my people forward at a time when forward movement for any person of color was frowned upon by manipulated society of the times.

Tammy:

What do you do in your spare time when you are not making music?

Cremson:

I’m a martial arts instructor, I love to teach our youth and prepare their minds for what they have to face in this world. Of course, I have I lot of different skill sets like cooking, taxation, and accounting but I, truly, enjoy doing all the things God granted me the ability to at least be decent at. The short answer is training and singing while playing the piano.

Tammy:

How can black people heal and grow from this pandemic as we fight for all black lives?

Cremson:

The only way we can heal from this pandemic or the pandemic we’ve been in for over the last 400 plus years, is to learn and adapt. We haven’t done that as a nation of blacks yet. We’re still asking for what we can create on our own. That's why Tulsa and many other stories like it are so important to tell.

Tammy:

Who would you like to thank that has been a part of your journey so far?

Cremson:

God and Team GIIB. After that, it’s anyone who has ever supported my dream in any way! I love and thank you all!

Tammy:

What advice do you have for anyone wanting to be a music artist?

Cremson:

Be true to who you are. Find out who that is first, and then you can be sure not to be influenced by others in ways that would go against your moral compass and principals. And one more thing. If you wouldn’t want your children doing what you rap about, then you should stop rapping about it- especially if it’s all a game to you. Trust me, most people don't realize this fact and seek to portray the images that we offer up as culturally acceptable. Well, we don’t accept the BS anymore. I never did. I don’t want my daughter shaking her tail before she can spell. I don’t want my son to learn that he is trash before he gets the chance to know he is a precious gift to this land.

Cremson (Photo Credit: Mike Mello McKinney)

Connect with Cremson virtually:

Website: Giibent.com

Facebook: Cremsongiib

Twitter: Cremsongiib

Instagram: Cremsongiib

Spotify: Cremsongiib

YouTube: Giibenttv

interview
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.