Beat logo

'For You' ... from Tye Cee

"For You" has been released on all digital music platforms

By mysoundMusicPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Tye Cee - Alternative, R&B, Soul music

From a very young age, Tye Cee was always surrounded by music at home. The record player was constantly playing sounds of extraordinary singers and composers of Soul, Funk, Disco, Pop, Caribbean, Folk, Bossa Nova or even Opera.

Through these different currents, Tye Cee could find some relief and escape the difficult moments. This fusion of influences and meanings gave birth to his passion for singing, performing and composing his own nostalgic fusion of neo-soul songs.

Through music, Tye Cee wanted to give back some entertainment, peace and relief to everyone who listens to his music – so they can see that they are not being left behind.

Tye Cee knows what it’s like to feel that way. For You has been released this past August (2021) on all digital music platforms;

Tye Cee wanted to do something different for his new single, For You. With this song, he wanted to have fun travelling to the dance floor vibes of the 80s. Tye Cee wanted something fresh, up-tempo with bass and funky beats to contrast with the lyrics which may sound a bit nostalgic but with inches of hope.

Tye Cee hopes you enjoy it as much as he enjoyed composing and writing it.

Do you come from a musical family?

I do not come from a musical family. However, my mother has always been a fan of music. It explains from a very young age; I was always surrounded by music at home. The record player was constantly playing sounds of extraordinary singers and composers of Soul, Funk, Disco, Pop, Caribbean, Folk, Bossa Nova or even Opera. Through these different currents, I could find some relief and escape the difficult moments of my life.

Is there someone or something that inspired you to be part of the music industry?

I’ve always been inspired by songs embedding great vocalists, epic melodies accompanied by an excellent chord progression and arrangements. So many artists have inspired me every day, and the list may be too long to be entirely given here. But if we focus on artists through whom it all began, I would mention Michael Jackson, Georges Michael, Mariah Carey, Native, The Bangles, The Eagles, Donna Summer, Nana Mouskouri, Eric Benét, Justin Timberlake, Nat King Cole, Liz McComb or Barbra Streisand, Audrey Hepburn, etc. But then, I have also been inspired by opera, movies, series and musicals like Porgy and Bess from Gershin, The Wizard of Oz, Grease, Cats, West Side Story, or Sister Act.

Do you have a preferred genre?

I would say Neo-Soul can encompass Funk, Disco, R&B, Gospel, Jazz or Doo-Wop.

Tell us about your sound and what sets you apart?

My sound is a fusion of my influences that encompasses Soul, Funk, Disco, Pop, Caribbean, Folk, Bossa Nova Jazz or even Opera. This fusion of influences gave birth to my passion for singing, performing, composing and producing my nostalgic fusion of Neo-Soul songs. I was 13 years old when I wrote and produced my first song; I started to practice singing in choirs and as a soloist. Through my music, I share my experiences. I want to bring some entertainment, peace and relief to everyone who listens - so they can see that they are not left behind after all. I know what it's like to feel that way.

Do you write your music, or do you collaborate?

The process of writing lyrics and music is something I love and is crucial for me. It's an outlet, a release. So that's why I write and produce my songs.

Do you write and release or do you plan each release?

Generally, I compose, record all instruments, then all vocal parts, and if I feel my project is ready, I plan a release.

Are there any challenging aspects to writing and/or recording your music?

The most challenging aspect for me is recording my music because I do everything myself from scratch. So you have to wear many hats. So you are the singer, the sound engineer, the art director, the arranger, the mixer, etc. So I think this is the main challenge for all independent artists.

Is there a message in your music?

My music is definitely a way of expressing my feelings and experiences, dealing with the problems I am going through and turning them into something positive. From a young age, music has always been a way for me to overcome overwhelming situations. So if my messages can resonate with someone somewhere and help them deal with their problems, then I've won everything.

Do you create music for yourself or for fans?

I think artists should not confuse writing a song with writing market research. For me, composing and writing is an expression of feelings. It's like getting naked and putting what you have on the table. As writing and singing are an outlet and a release for me, I mainly create music. It has always been a way for me to turn overwhelming situations into a positive way forward. Then, if my message can reach someone's ear and help them solve their problems, I'd be even happier.

Tell us about your song "For You”.

'For You' is my new single released on 27 August 2021 on all digital music platforms. The central theme of this song is love. However, I wanted to do something different here, in the production. I wished to have fun travelling to the dance floor vibes of the 80s. I wanted something fresh, up-tempo with bass and funky beats to contrast with the lyrics, which may sound a bit nostalgic but with inches of hope.

What is the best song you ever released and why?

I will probably not be original as it was released a few weeks ago, but I would say ‘For You’. [Chuckling] I always have fun when I am writing and producing my songs, but with ‘For You', my creativity has exacerbated and galvanised.

What song do fans seem to favor?

They seem to like ‘For You’ very much, then another song I wrote called ‘Are You Playin’?’

Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

I think ‘For You’ would be fun to perform live, both vocally and aesthetically. There's so much to do in terms of imagination on that.

Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

Definitely. It is a real opportunity and pleasure to live and share something simultaneously and construct a relationship with a real audience. However, if this happens, I would begin with the American continent as most of my very active audience focus on North & Latin America.

Share a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your career.

The most positive experience of my career has been performing live in front of an audience. For example, in 2007, I played live in Miami on an open stage for Independence Day. It was just magical, and the audience enjoyed it and gave me good feedback.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

Actually, like other artists, I think there is always a need for recognition through the art we create and that we should be paid for it like any other profession. I believe any artist should be able to live off their Art in some way. I don't aspire to mega-superstar status because they are some cons to that like you cannot go anywhere on your own. Instead, I would be recognised for my Art and earn enough to live on and invest in pursuing my artistic projects, sharing what I have to share, and if my music can help my audience like music was the case for me, then I would be grateful.

If one artist were to perform at your party, who would get the call?

Without hesitation: The Weeknd for his musicality.

How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

On the one hand, I think it’s positive because many independent artists like me would not have had the possibility to share their music with an international audience. If you didn’t have a record deal back in the day, you could not imagine releasing and selling your art in shops. However, on the other hand, this opportunity is a price to pay as it is tricky for independent artists & producers living from their passion through only streaming models. So maybe there’s some work to do on that part.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

My favourite ways to connect with my followers are Spotify and Instagram, and I would tell them to follow me on both sides if they like my art project.

What does the future hold for you?

The continuation of songwriting to be produced. Some scenes to come, but it will all depend on how the health situation develops. Stay tuned.

Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say that I did not address.

Feel free to follow me on Spotify 'Tye Cee' and Instagram '@tyeceeofficial' if you like my art project and my world, and stay tuned and always be yourself. Cheers!

Want to be a featured mysoundMusic playlist artist? Visit our page for details. Visit Now

interview
1

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.