Beat logo

Focus Your Mind, Body and Soul

My Playlist

By Annie KapurPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
3

I used to get laughed at for my music tastes because they were a lot like my grandfather’s. The great thing about it though was that every time I listened to one of my grandfather’s favourite songs, I would remember him. He died when I was about nine years’ old and I miss him every single day even as I near twenty-five. Whilst I was studying for my MA degree a few years back, I would listen to various songs that I felt could focus my mind and help me remember my grandparents - all of which are gone. The rockabilly age is possibly my favourite age of all time and with its repetitive and catchy beats, it can help you remember pretty much anything. Old jazz music and dark soul songs, American Folk Revival and Motown are just some of the genres of music that are on my playlist that I would use for studying. From the bottom of my heart, I thank you for even considering my playlist because I have been bullied so badly for my taste in music. It was never the next new Katy Perry song, even though I respect those who do like that music. Music is really up to you, but this one is up to me and so here we go. Here are five songs on my playlist to give you an overview of how I get focused. Hopefully, it helps you a bit too.

Five Songs that Help Me Focus (Plus Extras!)

1. I Shall be Released by Nina Simone

Nina Simone’s cover of Bob Dylan’s song “I Shall be Released” is possibly one of her greatest songs and, dare I say it, better than the original (sorry Bob Dylan, I love you too). This smooth piano-led song has got a lot of soul but more importantly, you have the strong and powerful voice of Nina Simone guiding you to some sort of redemption. I used to listen to this all the time whilst I was writing film reviews back in the day.

2. One More Cup of Coffee by Bob Dylan

I think everyone can agree that the team-up of Bob Dylan and Scarlet Rivera with Emmylou Harris is a musically genius line-up. This song always helped me concentrate because of Scarlet Rivera’s incredible violin skills. It kind of puts the motivation in you to do well because of its dark sound that beats on through your bones. The chorus is so soulful and the verses are incredibly well-scripted that if you’re on a writing course of any kind, I’m 100% sure that this will help you not only concentrate but it could probably give you some good ideas too.

3. If I Can Dream by Elvis Presley

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a million times - my family is a family full of Elvis Presley super-fans and I am no exception. My father, my aunts and uncles and practically everyone on my paternal side is a massive, massive fan of this guy. This song is probably one of my favourites to listen to in order to concentrate because it really takes away a lot of the anxiety I have towards trying to get everything perfect. The soulfulness of this song is perfect for doing anything from writing to knitting (and I do both). The sound of Elvis’s voice in this song is so smooth that it blocks out the rest of the world and you can really get down to what you’re doing.

4. A Change is Gonna Come by Sam Cooke

I think everyone knows this song. Whether it is from being a Sam Cooke fan, from people singing it in the 21st Century’s rise in the police brutality against Black people, or whether it was from the end to “Malcolm X” (1992) by Spike Lee. This song never fails to get you motivated. The strong, soulful ballad of Sam Cooke’s voice calms you and yet gives you a call to arms. Psychologically, this song can make anyone believe that they want to do well (I know, I tried it on a few different people). The song itself is basically the epitome of soul and will help you do anything because Sam Cooke didn’t die - he ascended.

5. The Jumping Jive by Cab Calloway and his Orchestra

You know anything with ‘and his Orchestra’ at the end is going to be old, right? Well, get ready because I think this song is from the 1930s or something. It was covered by The Andrews Sisters (and that version is great too if you can’t find the Cab Calloway version). But “The Jumping Jive” is a bopping rhythmic jazz song which can help you practically remember anything. A tried and tested method, this song can help remember facts and pedagogies because of its repetitive beat and yet, is a brilliant song to help you focus since it has such a catchy rhythm you won’t want it to end. Honestly, I told you I had a weird taste in music, you came here yourself.

Here are some extras from my playlist that you may want to look into as well:

I Heard it Through the Grapevine by Marvin Gaye

Green Grass of Home by Tom Jones

Pistol Packin’ Mama by The Andrews Sisters (ft. Bing Crosby)

Rave On by Buddy Holly

Swing Low, Sweet Chariot by Sam Cooke

Kansas City by Dion DiMucci

I’m Ready by Fats Domino

Travelin’ Band by Creedence Clearwater Revival

Space Monkey by the Patti Smith Group

The Weight by the Band

Somebody to Love by Jefferson Airplane

Thunder Road by Bruce Springsteen

Coyote by Joni Mitchell

I Put a Spell on You by Nina Simone

Beyond the Sea by Bobby Darin

Conclusion

Psychologically, it is better if we listen to music whilst we're doing important work because not only does it help us concentrate, but it also helps us remember things. Honestly, whatever you listen to is really up to you. Some people enjoy listening to classical music to help them concentrate, some like to listen to up-beat disco music. But personally, I try to get deep into things that sound soulful. Hopefully, I've helped you on your way to discovering more about yourself and your music tastes when it comes to feeding your mind, body and soul.

list
3

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.