Beat logo

Flux Pavilion - '.wav': Worst to Best

Flux Pavilion and a slew of women

By Cronan ParryPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
.wav (cover art)

I'm back again. Two articles in the same week? Who is he? Where did his work ethic come from?

Shall we just begin...

16. 'Breathe'

I don't have any problems with this. But coming in with such a short runtime and not much development I'm ok with putting it last. Just so something is last.

Listen.

15. 'Sink Your Teeth In'

You could have this song without the vocal and it would be better. Just a bit boring and repetitive and there isn't even anything to sink your teeth into so all round bit of a flop there. The beat do be slapping though.

Listen.

14. 'Lion's Cage'

I can't say there's not things going on in this song, but, meh. I don't know what it is about this but it just feels so baseline basic for this sort of music. Yeah I don't have lots to say just that mediocrity is generally worse than just being bad.

Listen.

13. 'Twitterbird'

See. Who needs a one line vocal that repeats the same delivery when you can just have this. It's floaty and airy like a bird flying. There's bird calls and bird tweet sounds in there but it's still got some meat to it.

Listen.

12. 'You & I'

Another fairly standard dance track with a female vocal, I'm not bored this time but I'm not fussed either. Definitely better than the last one and no I won't elaborate.

Listen.

11. 'Every Cable Goes Somewhere'

This one would be higher if it wasn't for that sneaky message notification in the first half. Literally gets me to look at my screen for a notification every time. I'm sure there's a deep point about social media and cables and what not but it's so distracting form what is overall a great piece of music.

Listen.

10. 'Partial Fugue In B Minor'

This is where the album gets good for me and from here on I genuinely like the songs. It's just good fun throughout.

Listen.

9. 'Symphony'

I quite like the dark vibe to this and I wonder what Lorde may have sounded like on it. That doesn't detract from 'Layna' though they're great too. Also I'm losing my mind a small bit and I originally had the next song in this position but then moved it up and didn't rewrite it. So enjoy that bit of behind the scenes, fourth wall breaking, boundary pushing content.

Listen.

8. 'Fall To Me'

I mean video game vibes. Solid high notes. A fun drop. I haven't listened to a word he's actually singing but I'm loving the vibe so. This might need to be moved higher but listen I've been sat here a while.

Listen.

7. 'Endless Fantasy'

Alright, I've got myself a drink I'm ready to continue writing opinions on music that no one has asked for but here we all are anyway. This song is great. It does suffer a little from the overly-repetitive lyrics but it didn't work for catchiness because I've already forgotten them. But then the song takes a right turn and we're somewhere else entirely. I'm about it but I am completely lost and low on energy.

Listen.

6. 'I Believe'

It's a banger at the same time as being just a tad annoying. Like that one 'Slaves' song. I love the vocals. I love the vibes. I love the mildly annoying bit depending on how I'm feeling in the moment.

Listen.

5. 'LOVE'

Great build up. Wouldn't it be nice if we could just have someone say the word 'LOVE' and then everything gets brighter , more upbeat and just generally a bit better.

Listen.

4. 'Somebody Else'

At this point I would like to say 16 songs is too many. They're good songs, some of them great songs but just do 10 at let me be free. Keep this one though. This is the dance-esque track with a female vocal style I like and want more of. For being on the precipice of the top 3 I'm being mighty bitter. Think I need a nap in all honesty. Also to be clear it's not the fact it's a woman singing its's the fact electronic dance artists crank out the same ;here's a dance beat with a girl singing please stream my song' every other second and I'm just a bit bored of it. Spice it up.

Listen.

3. 'I Will Stay'

Everything about this sounds wonderful. It's not often I'm down for a 6 minute song but I am here.

Listen.

2. 'Survive'

You could flip number 1 and 2 around all you like but these are my favourites from the album. See this is really the problem with 16 songs and an hour of music in one go. I've run out of things I can be bothered saying even thoughI really like this song and have thoughts about it. But like, can we just be done now? Barely Surviving writing this thing. Yes, I'm being weak. But I just want my dinner, somebody 'Feed Me'. Eh, eh, that was pretty good come on. Actually listen to this one.

Listen.

1. '20:25'

Like said you can swap 1 and 2 around for me but in this moment right now this is my favourite. Tastes change. Moods change. Keys change 5 times in one song if you got the power 'Beyonce' does. My point is this is just a off hand ranking by an off hand person. It's not set in stone and you can think whatever you want to about all of these songs. However, my ranking is final and correct good day.

Listen.

Thanks For Reading

As you can tell I'm a professional and will always remain professional. I am now leaving this article to eat food and hang out with friends and have no more to say other than I'll see you the next time I have a small breakdown whilst ranking an album track list. Have a good life.

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Cronan Parry

I like making lists and rating things. Doesn't mean I know what I'm talking about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.