Beat logo

ZAYN - 'Nobody Is Listening': Worst to Best

ZAYN is back and so am I.

By Cronan ParryPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

ZAYN has released his third studio album, which means it's time for me to arbitrarily rank subjective art in order for people to click on this article.

This is of course just my opinion and I hope any fans of ZAYN enjoy the album and don't harass me.

11. 'Calamity'

There's nothing wrong with this to be honest. It just more a short poem than a song so we're sticking it at the bottom.

Listen

10. 'Vibez'

For me this is just a lil bit boring. Mediocre trying to be cool song. Not for me.

Listen

9. 'Better'

I like the songs (pretty much) from here on out. Also a lot of the are in the same league so it's a fairly consistent album and something had to be 9th. Maybe it took me a second to get into the album. Who knows.

Listen

8. 'When Love's Around feat. Syd'

There's a lot to enjoy about this song. Funky beat. Syd's vocals. Unfortunately like a few songs on this album it feels like it's missing something. There's an emptiness to it. By the 2 1/2 minute mark it's starting to over stay it's welcome.

Listen

7. 'Tightrope'

Lovely melodies. Interesting choices. ZAYN's style has a very repetitive nature and he couldn't possibly have fit anymore 'something tells me it was you' in here but what you gonna do catchiness is a science and repetitiveness helps.

Listen

6. 'Windowsill feat. Devlin'

I really enjoyed this one but Devlin's verse is from an entirely different song and doesn't mesh with the song or the album well at all. That's not Devlin's fault it's just an odd choice to put Devlin on this album. Maybe he would've worked better on 'Calamity'. Without Devlin this would be much higher. No offence Devlin.

Listen

5. 'Unfuckwitable'

The title alone suffers from ZAYN's 'honestly I'm cool' mentality. I know it's un-fuck-with-able but dropping the 'h' here just makes it 'fuckwit' in the middle of 'unable' like come on. Once you get past it's corny nature though this is a vibe and ZAYN sounds great,

Listen

4. 'Outside'

I can't explain myself. It's 4th because it's 4th I'm having a blank and can't articulate myself. I just like it. I hope you didn't come here for a critique from someone with musical knowledge.

Listen

3. 'River Road'

The guitar here goes alongside ZAYN's vocals incredibly well. It's a bit mad that after all this time a voice and a guitar still sound great. It's a bit like a ZAYN version of an acoustic song and it's really soft and sweet. Easily 3rd at the very least. It's also a great end to the album so bonus points for closing on a high.

Listen

2. 'Connexion'

The high vocals here are a treat. Actually, all the vocals are a treat. There's some kind of bad quality voice trumpet effect over some vocals in this song and it works so well. Almost as if this is high quality lo-fi. There's a lot to like about this song. It might truly be number one but for some reason I'm not doing that today.

Listen

1. 'Sweat'

No I lied this is number one for sure. Even if the drums sounds a little like they want to leave this song and end up in Phil Collins iconic beat. This song is not boring. It's not empty. It's not trying to be cool. It's just ZAYN doing what he's great at. 'PILLOWTALK' energy with great backing vocals. An floaty space mix. Drums! Which feel missing from the alum overall but are massively made up for here. The song isn't just one repeated lyric over and over and over and then over again.

We go a bit retro synth in the middle too.

Fully about it.

Listen, but really, listen, get some headphones

Thanks For Reading!

If you're a ZAYN fan who now hates me I'm sorry.

If you don't agree with me that's fine I probably won't agree with myself i five minutes.

Have a great day! See you next time.

album reviews
1

About the Creator

Cronan Parry

I like making lists and rating things. Doesn't mean I know what I'm talking about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.