Beat logo

Fertility, Goats, and Sacrifice

The true meaning of Valentine's Day

By Michelle KaldyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Fertility, Goats, and Sacrifice
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

I'm not anti-romantic, BUT...

I've always hated Valentine's day, mostly because it didn't make any sense. The way people celebrate it has nothing to do with what it used to be.

I don’t know about anyone else, but the idea of being chased around by men and whipped with goatskin strips doesn’t do anything for me. Maybe if I’d lived in ancient Roman times, that would be a different story but I think flowers and chocolate are more...palatable.

So anyway, the ancient Romans. They celebrated something called Lupercalia, a fertility festival so bizarre that even Cicero thought it was a bit out there.

Men would strip down to their underwear and run about the streets of Rome whipping any woman they’d see with strips of hide from various animals (goat was quite popular). Women would actively get involved too by standing in the way of this parade because being whipped would mean you’re… fertile.

I, personally, wouldn’t be into celebrating this either (I’m not exactly mum material) so I’ll stick to pessimistically writing about some origin stories about the holiday and listening to some music that will initiate some fine foreplay with my true love affair that I know will stick with me till I die. My work.

So why are these songs on my anti-V day playlist? Because compacting my feelings into one day just sounds limiting. Enjoy my everyday playlist ;)

1. Touch Me - Unkle (feat. Liela Moss)

“Touch me in the morning, and the last thing at night…”

My partner introduced me to Unkle in 2019 and I’ve never looked back. Something about the way their melodies make me feel; at home, close to myself and what I’m doing. And this one (in the spirit of V-day, I guess) is particularly spiritually erotic.

2. Roam With You - Grabbitz

“I long for the places that I used to roam…with you…”

During lockdown in 2020, one of the hardest things was not being able to go for long drives with my partner. It was how we first connected when we fell in love. I found this song on a day that was particularly bad for my mental health and it reminded me that we will be out on the road again soon.

3. Lion - Saint Messa

“You’re like an Empress, you’ve got fire running down your cheeks… You burn everything you see”

Nothing makes me feel more like a bad bitch then feeling like I can burn the whole world down with my brain. Not going to lie, I still get goosebumps listening to this. It makes me feel powerful and capable of achieving anything. And when I’m having a bad day, I throw this on and let the lion out. BAM!

4. Fly For Your Life - Gunship

“We own the sky, you and I…”

If you’re in the mood for some retro wave with a pop feel, then this song is great. I first fell for this song when I watched the insanely well-animated music video. But then the song made me feel things and I haven’t stopped listening to it for years.

5. Maybe - GRiZ, Yoshi Flower

“Oh city of lights, how you shine so brightly…”

Oh boy… the lyrics to this song always get me dizzy. May have something to do with slow dancing in the kitchen while dinner bubbles away on the stove. Or missing you when you were so far away. Either way, it’s enough to get me psyched to do housework or write that article I’ve been putting off for ages.

6. My Blood - Twenty One Pilots

“When everyone you thought you knew deserts your fight, I’ll go with you.”

My family are Hungarian. I have always felt very connected with my heritage and visiting Hungary always made me feel connected when I always feel very disconnected. I listened to a lot of Twenty One Pilots during my time there and so I associate their music with travelling. I’m in love with that country and miss it every day. This song is about blood and connections to blood so it only makes sense to add this to my playlist.

7. Wicked Game - Ursine Vulpine, Annaca

“The world was on fire, and no one could save me but you”

I’m also into breaking my own heart sometimes (call me a glutton for punishment) so I listen to music that just cracks old wounds open just a smidge enough to make me sit still for a few moments. This song is about heartbreak and how wicked people can be. Whether it’s from romantic love or from a deep friendship, hearts break. And this song reminds me of that. That we’re all human.

8. A Little Bit Off - Five Finger Death Punch

“See, I'm a little bit off today, I cannot put my finger on it”

We all get sick of people’s sh*t and this song helps me justify my frustration at the world or other people (or both, mostly both). It reminds me to acknowledge how I feel and move on, or use that energy to do something creative. Channelling my anger into my work often produces… interesting results.

9. I Could Be Your Goddess - CASHFORGOLD

“Hour by hour, no love to be found...You're addicted to power...”

This has such psychedelic and sensual tones and kind of fits in with the whole Lupercalia deal. Nuff said.

10. Miss you - Trentmøller

Rainy nights. Long drives. Forests. Silence. This song brings all that into one amazing fantasy. For my final song to list, it kind of brings it all together. No lyrics, just instrumental. Sometimes we don’t need words, just a chill track to sit back to.

Enjoy the mess that is my music taste. And remember. Running around in the streets in only your underwear whipping people with strips of goat leather isn’t legal anymore so stick to chocolates, flowers, and socially distanced hugs or whatever.

playlist
1

About the Creator

Michelle Kaldy

I am a photographer and content creator, here to educate and take you on my post film school journey. With a BA in Film and Video Editing, I survive the big bad world with my wits and camera in hand. Straight Outta Film School!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.