Beat logo

Essential Music

An Exert to a Life with Music

By jxmes .Published 5 years ago 5 min read
Like
Sound, Volume, Love, Music = God.

Music is essential.

Introduction

Where would I be without music? For as long as I can remember music has been at the forefront of everything I am. From simply walking around humming or sitting alone singing to myself it's been there. So just a little introduction to me as a child, I did not do a lot of sports, and video gaming, and all of that. I had my times where I did sports in school for gym, but that was about it. I also had my gamer phase, I was in middle school, and it was the very first Xbox console. I was on, and played my game all day, and all night long when I could, and I felt as though I had a love-hate relationship with it, but I enjoyed it while it lasted, and missed it a little while after. I mainly had fighting games, and a few racing, Dead or Alive was the main game I played, along with Crash Bandicoot Go Kart, Matrix, WWE, Racing, and a few more. I had a decent collection for the time I had it. Now, as often as I played I would get so frustrated at times, when I would lose, or the console would be what I considered at the time cheating. I would curse, throw things, and hit things, and it would get so bad to the point I would literally want to take the entire game system and throw it in the trash. Nonetheless, it was a bittersweet time in my life, yet still it involved music.

So back then, I believe it was like 2005-2006, CDs were really a big thing, so every time I would buy a CD I would download the CD onto my music library on my Xbox and I'd play those songs, and act as if my basement was a concert stage, and perform all over the room. So even in my small little blue bedroom I was standing with my toy microphone, and singing as if I was on a stage. My musical upbringing was mainly summed up with female artists and singing groups. Top five of my favorite artist: Destiny's Child, Danity Kane, Dawn Richard, Kelly Rowland, and Sevyn Streeter, others are among Beyoncé, Tamar Braxton, Christina Aguilera, Ariana Grande, and a lot more. Needless to say, I have an extensive Pop/R&B music library, and its' kind of curated all of who I am, my confidence, attitude, my independence, and the way I carry myself. I learned who I am through the songs I sing and the music I listen to.

Now I am sure you're wondering at this point, "well how did you become so overwhelming in love with music?" Growing up I felt as though I was trapped in my own room. I was a loner in a sense, in a house full of adults you have to learn to adapt to the environment around you, and for me that was making a reality for myself, and creating my own fun. A lot of that had to do with music. It started out as just writing songs back in elementary school, writing lyrics to other artist songs in middle school, to learning someone's album start to finish, reading the lyrics in the booklet, watching music videos on tv and the computer. So it seems as though the only consistent thing in my life has been music. So, therefore, loneliness, abandonment, entrapment all led to the only other outlet I could find. Twenty-five years later and not a day has gone by that I haven't either listened to music or sung a song in some way.

Now finding out that there's any chance that this was something I could do for a living is surreal, of course, I haven't reached that point in my life yet, but somehow I feel that I know it's coming. I can't really explain it, it's like something keeps pushing me to do this until I do it which, to be honest, is not a bad thing, anyway I can make this happen I'm willing to do at this point. Dreams are a sort of vision of the mind you can say and sometimes it feels like déjå vü, and you can't explain it but you've seen something or felt that feeling before so what happens when all of those times you see yourself on a stage? How do you get to see that in person? Now, what happens when you're in a mid-life crisis? Or when tragedy strikes, or something devastating happens? Does near death like experiences, any of that bring out the urge to make you work harder for your dreams. Are you willing to put yourself in a predicament where you have to do what you have to do in order to get to where you want to be in life? Take the music industry, in some way every artist we know has been through something tragic or devastating in their life and or their career. Now, do you look at it as just life, or a reaction to the life they chose to live in order to live out their dream? What did you lose what did you gain what did you sacrifice what did you keep sacred? And at the end of it all you've done everything you wanted to do, and lived out every dream at the end of it all will you say it was worth it and you'll do it all again. Are you truly ready for that life?

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.