Beat logo

Different

and proud.

By ASHLEY SMITHPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

It was once suggested that I like the extreme music I like and the often-strange films just to be different. While I am happy to be different, it’s not intentional. I like the music I like because of what it is, how I feel listening to it and the enjoyment I get. It’s not down to me if I am in a minority. My music doesn’t make the charts, rarely sells stadium tours but is truly cathartic and life saving for me.

The heavy and very heavy metal I listen too has developed over 30 plus years since I was given a Motörhead tape to listen to by a school friend. I found it hard to listen to at first but enjoyed it more and more over time. I listened to Def Leppard and Iron Maiden soon after and slowly got into heavier and faster stuff. I started going to concerts and got more into the heavier and faster side. The first festival concert I went to was iron maiden headlining Donnington in 1988. It was the year that two festival goers lost their lives in the crush when guns and roses came on. Despite this I carried on attending metal festivals and concerts, though was always careful.

The first thrash concert was Clash of the Titans' gig in Birmingham with slayer and Megadeth headlining. It was also one of the last times I had to sit down as was in the balcony, from then on, I was always at or near the front. The gigs meant more if I was at the front, in arms reach of my favourite bands and could scream along to my heart’s content.

Over many years since I have been in the pit for Slayer, Metallica, Anthrax, Machine Head, Slipknot, Pantera, Upon a Burning Body, Lamb of God and many many more. I admit getting a little hurt by a bottle at a Killswitch Engage gig and a bit bruised a few times but still feel strange unless at the front.

The front looks dangerous but as long as you remain aware it’s pretty safe. I have seen no serious injuries and most people will help you if you fall. Indeed, twice during a trivium gig the band stopped the show when they became aware someone was in trouble. Bouncers will resume at the front, the best place to head is sideways to get out or over the barriers with help.

I think many people jump to conclusions when I say the names of bands I like. They presume discordant music, incomprehensible lyrics and violent concerts. This can apply to some extent but it’s still what I want to listen too. Cradle of Filth, Upon a Burning Body and Cannibal Corpse as band names trigger responses from some purely based on the name. To me, it’s a type of music, certain lyric types and cathartic experience when listening. All three bands are very different in all aspects of what they do.

I don’t intentionally hate what’s considered popular music or popular music makers, I just do hate them. For me playing live and sounding like the recorded album is proof of being a musician in my eyes. You should have the ability to replicate what you did in the studio without auto tuners or any other trickery. I am not interested in a bands life story, image or where they go on holiday. I won’t follow them on twitter and won’t read about who they are sleeping with. I want to hear my singers sing, my guitarist plays and drummers drum. I am proud to be an individual and proud to be a bit different.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

ASHLEY SMITH

England based carer, live with my wife, her parents and 4 cats. will write for all areas but especially mental health and disability. though as stuff for filthy seems popular will try there . any comments, suggestions or requests considered

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.