Beat logo

Deep Messages From TLC

My All-Time Favorite Girl Group

By Leona ValentinePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

I remember being in middle school, and people were talking about a new group in the music industry. There were some strong praises. My friends and family were talking about TLC, a girl group from the 90’s. I would never forget their unique names, T-Boz, Left Eye and Chilli; hence the name, TLC. The first song I listened to was “Ain't 2 Proud 2 Beg.” When I first heard this song, I was extremely impressed with the mixed vocals. The heavy swingbeat was the first thing that drew my attention. In addition to that, I thought that their image in the “Ain't 2 Proud 2 Beg” video was very interesting. As a result, I wanted to hear more songs by TLC. Gradually, I became a huge fan.

I will admit that I have not always been a huge fan of R&B and Hip-Hop music while growing up even though I enjoyed a few songs in those genres. I have always been a big fan of Pop Rock, Hard Rock, and pretty much music from the 80’s. I would always listen to Tina Turner, Michael Jackson, Prince, Pat Benatar, Def Leppard, Heart, Aerosmith, Cyndi Lauper, Whitney Houston, Madonna, Chicago, Fleetwood Mac and many others. I would even listen to one of the most influential Rock ‘n’ Roll artists, Elvis Presley. Surprisingly, I was neither ashamed nor embarrassed when it felt like I was the only one who would blast “Glory of Love” by Peter Cetera in my dad’s car, and my friends would sing words to Salt-N-Pepa and Run-DMC songs. Do not get me wrong, I thought Salt-N-Pepa was a great Hip-Hop group. Also, I really enjoyed Run-DMC’s collaboration with Aerosmith, a Hard Rock band, when they performed “Walk This Way.” These are examples that I had no dislike for R&B and Hip-Hop music at all. As I already mentioned, I was not a huge fan.

When I was in the 8th grade, TLC changed all of that. Ever since I started listening to their music, this phenomenal girl group drew me closer and closer to Hip-Hop and R&B music. I would still listen to my favorite Rock songs, but because of TLC, I slowly became a big fan of Hip-Hop and R&B. TLC’s music had a mix flavor of R&B, Soul, Hip-Hop, and a little bit of Pop, and I was drawn to their music. T-Boz (Tionne Watkins) had the contralto singing voice, and she was the lead in their songs. Left Eye (Lisa Lopes) had the soprano singing voice, and she did the rapping. Last but not least, Chilli (Rozonda Thomas) had the mezzo singing voice, and she was the second lead. They became one of the most successful groups of all time in the music industry. Since they were an all-girl group, it meant a lot to me. Around that time, there were not many all-girl groups that I was aware of. By that time, I was already bored with boy bands. In actuality, TLC influenced many successful girl groups who entered the music industry after them. One of the big names they influenced was Destiny’s Child, an R&B girl group with Beyonce as the lead singer. There were many reasons why TLC was successful and influential. They won over ten awards like the Grammy Awards and the MTV Video Music Awards. Also, over 85 million records were sold worldwide.

What really stood out the most about their music were the lyrics. In some of their songs, they wanted to get different messages across. All of the songs I listened to were great. However, there were a few songs that were very deep to me.

“What About Your Friends” from the Ooooooohhh... On the TLC Tip album has a great message to me. This song tells me to know who my real friends are when things change in my life for better or worst. It conveys the message about remembering my true friends regardless of the path I take. It reminds me to always feel grateful for the people who have been there for me from the beginning.

“Waterfalls” from the CrazySexyCool album was very deep. They were expressing the dangers of drug dealing because it can lead to violence and/or death, and they were raising awareness of the HIV/AIDS epidemic. These were major issues in the 90’s. Their message tells me to be mindful of my actions and make the right choices in life to prevent hurting myself and others.

One of my favorite songs by them happens to be “Unpretty” from the FanMail album. I take the message of this song very seriously because they talk about how women struggle with self-esteem. I can relate to this. This message tells me to always love myself. If I want to make any physical changes, I should do it for me and not do it to impress others. This song helps me to focus on empowering myself.

TLC will always be remembered as one of the best girl groups of all time. Billboard recognized them as one of the most successful groups in the music industry. I have respect for them when they overcame setbacks (like bankruptcy and even a major feud between the members) and still persevere in the industry. I became devastated when I heard about Left Eye’s death. She was my favorite member of the group. I appreciated that T-Boz and Chilli did not replace her, and they carried on as a duo. After all, Left Eye was incredibly unique – as an artist and as a person, and she was the one who initiated the group.

celebrities
3

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.