Beat logo

Crazy Bass Song

At last! I recorded a song with 90 percent of bass only. And I'm going to record an entire album in the same way. This new project is my first experiment recording songs made only with a bass guitar as the main instrument. No trebles allowed!

By Elvezio GuarinoPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I recorded a song with 90 percent of bass only.

After many years.

I thought about doing this project for years.

At last I decided to do it. I did it. I just made one song... but I'm going to make an entire album soon.

Regarding the first song, I tried to express my style of playing the electric bass.

It wasn't easy.

It's my first experiment.

One Minute Song...

For a project like this, I made a clear decision in my mind... I decided to create an entire album of small songs, about one minute each, and infuse in them my style of playing.

And to do this, I should commit at least two hours a day in my studio. I should focus only on this album.

For this song I spent hours in the studio.

And in just over a minute, I compressed all my style of playing bass... that is a mixture of bass, guitar, and percussion.

I was able to express 100 percent of my way of playing, and at the same time, I was able to record an interesting song.

It shouldn't be boring .

I wasn't bored when I was creating it.

So this should tell you something about it.

I had a headache.

And I barely slept.

It's My First Time!

As I said before, this is my first ever experiment in recording a "Bass song."

It's not something new.

I know that many bass players did this type of project in the past. I'm not trying to emulate them. I'm sincerely trying to "put out there" myself by playing the instrument that I like the most.

Bass guitar is my favourite instrument, especially the one with four strings.

I started playing bass when I was five!

Most bass players, even the youngest ones, start playing the guitar.

Usually it all begins with a parent that hands a guitar, or toy that looks like a real guitar, to his child. Eventually, if the little boy or gal likes to play it, they get some lessons. And it goes on from there.

But for me was different. I started playing the bass when I was five. It was my first instrument. No guitar. No drums. No sax. Just bass guitar, and it was a five strings bass.

Almost all of my family plays an instrument, or likes music.

My father plays guitar, as does my brother.

And my uncle plays guitar and bass guitar.

He was the first... to hand me the my first bass guitar.

And I still remember that he made me play "Grand Café" by Alain Caron.

Hard stuff!

Fretless!

I started with the five-strings.

Next was the six-strings. Next the four-strings.

And finally the four-strings FRETLESS!

I love it.

It's my go to bass for lives. So, as you can imagine, when I had the idea to ​​record a bass solo, I didn't think twice about using one of my favorite basses.

It's a jazz bass, red gradient in the center and black outside.

Yes! It's fretless!

I love how it sounds.

Every second, when i play it and when I record it... It's a pleasure.

Scissor kicks!

The first thing you will hear in this song is the theme of the piece, with a bass riff underneath... very funky, moderate tempo.

It was challenging, because with faster rhythms it becomes complicated to make you feel the groove, and maintain a high level of recording.

"Above" the riff... you feel the theme.

You will hear the melody.

Single notes, with some effects.

The melody feels great, because I have embellished it with slight distortion effects.

The distortion, as I use it, does not disturb the ears, instead it creates a soft atmosphere that makes the song pleasant.

At the same time you will hear stereo embellishments, made with single notes. Various basses are needed to do this correctly.

It is perceived as an open environment, and the harmonizations, in particular, carry your mind and your soul to another realm... in anyway I like to see it in that way.

Want to listen it now?

I saw that there are albums, of my genre, ranging from $10 to $20. if you decide to buy a single you pay from $0.99 to $2.99 per single.

I didn't record an entire album, so I won't ask you to pay me $20 to listen to my songs.

For a single I could ask you for only $2.99.

But you won't pay $2.99.

$0.99 is a reasonable price.

But you won't pay even $0.99...

Because you can listen to it for free on Spotify!

LISTEN ON SPOTIFY

Hope you'll like it!

bass
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.