Beat logo

"Colour Me In"

Damien Rice

By Maddie ChristyPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
https://dimlylitstages.com/2016/07/11/damien-rice-cactus-festival-bruges/

I’m taking a well-needed break from academic writing and turning my attention to this post. I need a change of tune, a chat… something more informal.

The essay I have been writing is one about music and emotion and how the two interlink. One day, I will rewrite all I have learnt so that it fits better as a blog post, but for now, I want to focus on one song in particular and how it makes me feel—without the research, citations, and quotes but through opinion and wide eyes.

Damien Rice…

An artist who seems to wonder but predominantly in the direction of his musical calling. One that seems effortless and beautiful as though music is his destination. Sharing songs so delicate and warming whilst remaining simple yet profound, he sings with despair and feeling that will fill any void in his listener.

"Colour Me In" is the track that has held me captive for many weeks now. Although hits like "Cannonball" and "9 Crimes" still remain my favourites for obvious reasons, this song is creeping into the lead. I would be satisfied with the tantalising riff the song begins with, but it gives a lot more and it’s that movement that overwhelms me the most. The song begins so softly, showing Damien as vulnerable and whimsically lost. The melody is perfect, marrying with the ¾ time signature that reflects romance and heartache. It works well because he tells a story, leaving gaps in the melody before reciting “colour me in.” It takes your usual expectation and leaves you lingering. Just like he is waiting to feel loved.

Unusually, I am not the biggest fan of folk music. I’m not sure why, I have just never felt the biggest connection towards it. Admittedly, this song, just like others from Rice, is not solely political or means of a protest, but there is something different about his music. I think it’s because of the way he exposes himself and his emotions. This is unlike the stereotype of what a ‘man’ should be and so to hear such honest words weaved into his melodies, refreshes me as I listen.

Not only does he sing with such ease, his melody floats around in a way I can only describe as a butterfly searching for nectar. His guitar sings also, using its best companions (piano and strings) to thicken the song and create a texture that is wholesome and sincere.

The first chorus is quiet and feeble only to crescendo into desperation and liquidity reflected in all of the instrumentation. The dynamics in this song is key. It expresses the emotion in a way that reflects the ups and downs of life and adoration. When Rice sings, it’s as though his feelings are mixed in with the vowels and shapes his mouth performs. The sentiment seeps through his cheeks and onto his tongue. In the first verse, his mouth is more closed off. Perhaps his teeth show has he projects his irritation but as the song progresses, it becomes too much to hold in. The dam breaks and the song begins to flourish.

This song gives me shivers. When listening alone, I can’t help but close my eyes and sway, feeling every vibration and meander in the melodies. I almost expect to hear the belting chorus once more before the song is through, but no… I am left lingering.

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Maddie Christy

Music student with my head in the clouds

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.