Beat logo

Charli XCX - 'Charli': Worst to Best

Time to arbitrarily rank another album!

By Cronan ParryPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like
'Charli'

Firstly, this website seems to have had a large update so we'll see how making this article goes. Secondly, I don't dislike or find any song on this album disinteresting (I don't think I do anyway, opinions change). Also, it's been fairly difficult to rank the lower half of this album, so even more than usual it doesn't mean much. I'm pretty certain about the top end though!

15. "I Don't Wanna Know"

Like I said this whole bottom section I don't feel settled on, but something has to be bottom and this slow, sad entry is what I've gone with. Still a song I enjoy, but for now here it is in the last spot. Sorry.

14. "White Mercedes"

In my opinion this song opens like it's Julia Michaels'—"Issues." It then moves into a place of its own, and flits back and forth between the two. So based purely on the fact Charli is a pretty original artist, I'm putting this near the bottom for having less of a 'Charli XCX' sound, and making me think of other artists.

13. "Warm"

Is it just me that whenever I think of HAIM I think of a lighter/brighter version of 'The Hex Girls' from Scooby-Doo! and the Witch's Ghost. This song isn't a quickly catchy tune, but it's still a good song. This album is causing me some issues. None of it is actively bad to me. But this song isn't a peak in interest for me, so here we are at 13.

12. "February 2017"

Those interesting vocal production choices have arrived and I'm here for it. This album is mostly songs that I enjoy. Normally it feels fairly easy to write a few tracks off, but apparently that is not the case this time round. This song does feel like it's over a little abruptly, and then becomes a secondary song for the last 20 seconds. Which is all good, but maybe the short length leads to the dramatic change in the song to feel it comes a bit soon.

11. "2099"

The first 30 seconds of this song are a lot of fun on their own. This kind of music production is really interesting to me, and sounds great. It pretty much continues making interesting choices throughout. But the actual contents aren't interesting enough to hold me throughout, or make me feel I want to sing-a-long. Still solid, just has real banger missed potential.

10. "Thoughts"

This is around about the part of the list where I start wanting to sing-a-long consistently. Not every song needs that element, but it definitely helps. Plus that unnecessary, but wonderful little high pitched ending I'm about.

9. "Cross You Out"

Yes please. That old yet new 80s synthwave feeling to the opening. I just, I like the whole thing, and I'm not feeling analytical enough to explain why. Although, these worst to best lists are not exactly known for my analytical look at the songs are they?

8. "Official"

That repeated harsh note is something I would think would put me off, but surprisingly it doesn't. We then get a lovely fairy-like melody, and It's just pretty. There's plenty of sex talk in this song, but it feels emotional and loving. Charli is just really good at what she does. I think she improves nearly every release?

7. "Next Level Charli"

We've officially reached the point where I'm openly going to consider every song from here out a banger. You could say from here on the songs are next level Charli, but that feels like a cheap and bad joke, so we won't make it...

6. "Silver Cross"

Banger. It's just good. What more do you want me to say.

5. "Gone"

I see how the further up this list we get I seem to have less to say about the songs, but I just feel they speak for themselves. But for the sake of content and interest, I'll try to say a little more than, 'This is good'. The song is pretty good, and might be a lil lower on the list if it weren't for the ending.There's like a whole minute of fun, inventive breakdown. The vocals change up, as does the music overall. There's still the same base lyrics and melody, but everything else goes on its own journey.

4. "Click"

Another potentially annoying repeated word. But it's not at all, and then it throws it all out the door for just chaotic production. There's not a second of this that isn't fun. I see how some people would be averse to this style and the choices they've made. I disagree with those people, and I'm fully here for it. Oh and again with a solid end to the song. What's even happening at the end of this song, and how do I inject it.

3. "1999"

I'm not gunna talk about this song very much. You've probably all heard it, and if you don't see why it's number three for me then fair play to you.

2. "Blame It On Your Love"

Charli has a knack for speeding through lyrics, and then pulling back for the chorus. It works well nearly every time. This is again solid, but elevated by Lizzo absolutely smashing out her verse.

1. "Shake It"

No time wasted in messing with the vocals. No music yet, just weird vocals that turn into watery vocals that then play a small bit of music that cuts into breathing that is then added to the music, and becomes the beat that then has more heavily-altered vocals over it. That's the first minute of this. Straight into a verse, which is great. More breakdown of vocals, and then the queen that is CupcakKe. This song is gold, I will hear nothing else from you. There's a part to the beat that reminds me of 'clipping,' but honestly the whole thing is wild, and I know I called it out for sounding like "Issues" a few songs back, but this is literally the best song easily. 'Clipping' are great too so I don't mind it. Everyone on this track delivers, and like I can't even describe it. I'm 100 percent here for this, and I know that many people won't be and that's ok too.

Thank You!

If you want to stay up to date with what I'm up to, or fancy checking out my other articles you can use the links below.

Articles

YouTube

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Cronan Parry

I like making lists and rating things. Doesn't mean I know what I'm talking about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.