Beat logo

Casay Vaughn & Jay Claxton

Inspirational Black Love & Black Excellence

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
Jay Claxton (Celebrity DJ) & Dr. CaSay Vaughn (Top Media Executive)

With almost a quarter of a century in the entertainment industry, CaSay Vaughn continues to push the envelope and dominates her role in the media industry. CaSay Vaughn is an American Media and Business Strategist. In Media, she is known as both the master strategist and super producer. Dubbed the "Media Maven" CaSay has produced both Television and Radio. She has worked with companies such as NBC, TV One, Radio One BET and SiriusXM where she has left a major blueprint in the industry. CaSay has worked with numerous Celebrities and Athletes and multiple Record Labels. Currently, CaSay serves as Vice President Board of Directors, The Black Media Honors.

As a Business Strategist, CaSay oversees multiple companies under the Franchise Group. January 2020, CaSay along with her partner Celebrity DJ Jay Claxton founded DJ's Vote. DJ's Vote is a nonpartisan organization designed to represent the concerns and interests of all people. DJ's Vote is not affiliated with any political party. As an Influencer and On-Air Personality, Jay Claxton is a powerhouse in the media industry with major interviews under his belt including ‪The Late Nipsey Hustle and Pop Smoke, Gucci Mane‬, T.I, Future, Jeezy, ‪Fat Joe‬, ‪Dj Khaled‬, ‪Meek Mill‬, to name a few.

Be on the look out for all the details regarding their show Love & Business on Lock which is a new docu-series about how business led to love starring CaSay and Jay. Love & Business on Lock, features couples who share their journey of how their professional relationships transitioned to romantic relationships. The series will highlight each couple's individual and collective experiences which contributed to them moving beyond the original purpose of their connection. This docu-series shares transparent, heart warming and difficult stories that all developed in Love and Business on Lock. This Scorpio couple defines talent, resilience, black love, and black excellence. Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese:

CaSay, what inspired you to become a Media Executive?

CaSay Vaughn:

Actually, I was supposed to be a medical doctor. My dad always told me that if I wanted to do something I would need to see it first hand. So he sent me off to the hospital with one of his friends who was a surgeon so that I could follow him around and see what he does. After seeing all the blood and gore I said to myself oh no, I am not going to do this and I am not going to touch that.

I eventually went to college on a basketball scholarship, but got hurt. One of my elective classes was a media class and I knew that I could do this. I have a great friend that worked at NBC in Baltimore. I told them that I wanted to intern there. My internship began the second semester of my freshman year, then I was hired during my sophomore year in college as an Associate Producer for the overnight morning show and I never left TV since.

Tammy Reese:

Jay, what inspired you to become a Celebrity DJ?

Jay Claxton:

There were always two things that I really love which are music and sports. My parents told me a story about when I was a little kid and they got me this Tom & Jerry record player. I use to play Chuck Brown & The Soul Searchers "Bustin' Loose" all day, every day. My mom was so glad that the record player ended up breaking because she was so tired of hearing Chuck Brown & The Soul Searchers "Bustin' Loose" all day. I eventually made a living out of my hobby which was a blessing, but it was either going to be sports or music for me, and it ended up being music.

Tammy Reese:

What are some of the most memorable moments in your career so far?

Jay Claxton:

One of the most memorable moments would have to be one of the first things that CaSandra started working with me on when we were back in Baltimore. Having come from that town, being on the radio for 18 years, playing at parties, and bringing artists there is memorable. When I played Lights City Baltimore that is the most memorable. I had a one-hour set and that night it was Biz Markie and me with thousands of people. CaSandra told me when I was finished to take a second to take the moment in, so I did. Also, I got a photo of the thousands of people in the crowd with their hands in the air. Being an African-American man from that city, that was big to give back to the city that helped mold me.

CaSay Vaughn:

My most memorable moment would have to be the first award show that I produced. Before I ever did the Soul Train Awards or the BET Awards, I did the Trumpet Awards. In the first four years of the Trumpet Awards, I Produced the show. At that time I was 26 years old, the youngest person in the room, but I was the boss.

Just to come in contact with all of the different personalities, being able to write scripts for people I've only seen on movie screens, and building relationships from that is the most memorable of my career.

Tammy Reese:

What have been some challenges in your career?

CaSay Vaughn:

Being a woman and being underestimated. Even with us working together one of the biggest challenges that I have is that people will think that I am just some cute person that Jay has with him. No, I am very intelligent, I have amazing relationships, I'm an individual, and I've worked hard to do everything that I have done.

Jay Claxton:

Being from Baltimore is a challenge at times. When you tell someone that you are from Baltimore they are quick to say you're from the home of "The Wire". Musically we don't have a lot of artists that have made it, only a very few have. So that has become one of the biggest challenges because New York, ATL, Chicago, LA, Miami, and others are the big markets that people gravitate to.

In Baltimore, there is so much talent in the town but it's hard to make it out because of the crabs in the barrel mentality. For CaSandra and I, we never had an issue with asking anyone a question. If you are doing better than me I am going to celebrate that and come to you and ask how did you do that, or could you help me. Not just for the town, but as black people in general we sometimes hold ourselves back as a people. Instead let's ask someone how can we get better, get the knowledge, or even shadow someone.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic shaped your day-to-day life?

Jay Claxton:

There were a lot of blessings that came out of the pandemic. The fact that we locked in things that we didn't have an opportunity to do because of obligations. Life stopped for along time due to the pandemic and allowed us to do a lot of the things we wanted to do during this time.

CaSay Vaughn:

I feel like the pandemic made us closer. Some things that we questioned we no longer question. On the business side, it challenged us and pushed us to higher levels. Honestly, for me, the pandemic has been a blessing and so many doors opened up for us because we're natural creators. I am a creator of all content, Jay is an on-air personality, a DJ, naturally charming, and outgoing. All that put together made everything shape faster.

Tammy Reese:

Please tell me about the new series?

Jay Claxton:

The show is about couples who are in relationships and work with their mate. You're going to see the good, the bad, the ugly, the trails, and celebrations. You're going to see it all.

Tammy Reese:

What other projects are you both currently working on?

Jay Claxton:

A lot of networks have reached out to work with us. We're just taking our time to make sure we make the right deal.

Tammy Reese:

What do you want your legacies to look like?

Jay Claxton:

That I am an upstanding man, a great father, and a great family man. I have been very passionate about my career, about what I do, and what I love. I've always said to the people close to me that we're all going to eat together. As I win, I want my true friends and family to win just as much as us.

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you have for couples who aspire to conduct business together or have their lives in the public domain?

CaSay Vaughn:

I would say that you have to trust your spouse, have an open dialogue, and maintain balance. Sometimes I don't want to do a zoom, an interview, or anything. Sometimes I just don't feel like it. Jay is always ready all the time. Your partner has to know you well enough to know when there are days you don't want to be who you have to be. One of you may have to pick up the slack or give a certain amount of space until the other is ready and comfortable with getting back to it.

During all of it you have to love hard, be more patient, and also you have to make sure to make time for each other. We have no jealousy between us, and we have an amazing relationship. It comes from the foundation that we are friends, and it comes from transparency and trust. It's very important to be open, honest, and trustworthy to the person that you are with.

Stay up-to-date with Jay & CaSay by subscribing to their YouTube Channel.

feature
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.