Beat logo

Boogie Woogie to the Sound of Music

A playlist of some of my favourite songs by multiple Black singers, rappers and artists from multiple eras!

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
2
My all-time favourite songs by the well-known motown music group Jackson Five!

Growing up, I admired music by multiple Black artists and music groups from various genres and eras such as the 1970's and 1980's. At first, my brother was the one who got me interested in genres like hip-hop and rap, because he would constantly play songs by T-Pain, Kanye West, and Rihanna in the car and at home in his bedroom. He and I would dance and sing along to some of their tunes, which created very special childhood memories. Over time, I have also branched out into other music genres, groups and artists like Billie Holiday, Percy Sledge, Sister Sledge, Ella Fitzgerald, Aretha Franklin, Michael Jackson, Marvin Gaye and Technotronic. I would download these songs and listen to them repetitively on YouTube or Apple Music during any time of the day or night. Watching several television sitcoms such as The Cosby Show (one of my favourites!), The Jeffersons, Good Times, That's So Raven, Smart Guy and Sister, Sister during my elementary school years definitely gave me some extra inspiration to explore music made by Black artists.

In high school, I did not quit listening to music by Black celebrities, however they were just different songs, genres, artists and music groups at the time. I went to high school in a Black neighbourhood in Toronto, so I was continuously hearing and appreciating all the songs and musical pieces made by Black students at my school, as well as multiple famous Black rappers and artists like Drake. Kids would regularly play rap, hip-hop and R&B music in the hallways and outside in the school yard, and there were some songs that I began to love. Even though some of their songs had profanity or violence, I still enjoyed the beat and the mood that I was able to feel in a portion of their songs. I basically enjoyed just feeling the passion and appreciating the effort that was put into those musical pieces.

As an adult living in my own apartment in the suburbs of Toronto, I still enjoy listening to some of the tunes that I listened to during my elementary and high school years, because I believe it is important for me to reflect on all the good times I have had in my life. I also believe it is important to appreciate the musical gifts and abilities that people of all races,ethnicities and religions have, not just White people.

Here is a list of some of the songs that I really enjoy listening to!

Baby Help Me by Percy Sledge

This is one of my all-time favourite songs. This song would be #5 on my favourite songs list. Every time I feel nostalgic, despondent, frustrated, anxious or joyful, I give this song a good listen. I used to listen to this song all the time as a teenager, and I would emphasize on his big, magical singing voice and the passion he puts into this song. Not only do I admire Percy Sledges magnificent musical talent and singing voice, I also tend to smile, dance and laugh every time I listen to this song. Even though he is no longer on this earth, I still want to appreciate his talents and bring them to life. It is definitely a feel-good song that you should put on your playlist!

We are Family by Sister Sledge

If you ever lived in the 1970's and 1980's, you might remember this famous hit! I did not discover this song until I was eighteen years old, after watching a random YouTube video with this song in it. After I watched the video clip, I started listening to this song over and over again, during my trip to England in July 2016. This is definitely another song that I would consider a "favourite". I love Sister Sledge for their amazing musical talents, their fame, and of course their appearances. They are beautiful and good-looking women that love to show off their musical talents. I appreciate the pride they take in their music and would recommend this song for you to listen to!

Can't Believe It by T-Pain feat. Lil' Wayne

This was one of the songs that my brother would listen to during his middle school years. One night on our way home from my brother's school, I listened to this song in my dad's car. As I was listening to this song, I loved the amazing beat and T-Pain's innate ability to rap. It was definitely one of those songs that made me internally and externally happy, bubbly and gave me extra inspiration for creativity. One night after, I found this song on YouTube and listened to it on the computer, after my brother told me the name of the song. I am so happy that I thought of this song and included it into this blog, because I am now remembering some of my whacky and fun-filled childhood days when I would listen and dance to these songs with my brother. For anyone who loves rap and T-Pain himself, add this song to your playlist!

Celebration by Kool and the Gang

What a classic this song is! In mainly every 70's and 80's sitcom I have watched over the years, this song was constantly played in different scenes. If you were born or grew up in this specific era, you will recognize this feel-good, upbeat and classic tune by Kool and the Gang! Whenever I listen to this song, I feel really joyful and it gives me a good kick of energy. I'll give this tune the occasional listen when I am working out, chilling in my apartment or doing household work, but I haven't listened to this song is a while. The Kool and the Gang is one of my all-time favourite Black music groups and I'll never forget them. Their passion and love for music will always stay with me!

Cyclone by T-Pain

Another T-Pain song that I listened to during my youth! My brother had this song on his iPod and would listen to it regularly. When he played this song out loud in the car one afternoon, I was able to put my attention into the mood, beats and the lyrics in this song, which were all positive feelings I got when I heard this song. I still have this song on my iPhone, believe it or not! I love this song and it brings me back to my childhood days! I'll give this song the odd listen when I am on a walk, doing housework or simply relaxing in my apartment. T-Pain is a talented, passionate and gifted rapper with phenomenal musical abilities! If you are a T-Pain and hip-hop music enthusiast, please check out this song and give it a listen!

When a Man Loves a Woman by Percy Sledge

Another feel-good song that I admire by Percy Sledge. Since my teenage years, I've treasured this song and still brought Percy Sledge to life with his positive energy, uplifting music, fantastic and innate musical gifts and his passion for music. I usually listen to this song when I am completing household tasks, walking outside or relaxing in my apartment. This song puts a smile on my face and makes me go back to my amazing childhood days when I first discovered this song. If you love Percy Sledge or any feel-good song, include this song on your list of tunes to listen to!

ABC by The Jackson 5

Another one of my favourites hits by The Jackson 5! When I was little, one of the movies that I regularly watched was Daddy Daycare and this song was played in one of the scenes. Even as a 23 year old young woman, I would still listen to this song, because it makes me feel youthful. The Jackson 5 is a fantastic motown group and I am also able to bring Michael Jackson to life by appreciating his interest, talent and passion for music. I haven't listened to this song in a long time, but when I am in the right state of mind, I will listen to this classic tune during any time of the day or night! It brings me nothing but positive energy that I will keep for the rest of the day or night! If you love motown music and you want to go back to your childhood days, give this song a listen!

Final Thoughts?!!

Everyone has the right to be honoured, respected and recognized for their natural abilities and positive personality traits, despite race, ethnicity, gender, disability or religion. Celebrities such as rappers, writers, actors, actresses, models, musicians, poets, singers and vloggers are no different. As a matter of fact, I believe that they deserve the most respect, because their lives and careers aren't easy either. They are constantly subjected to racism, bullying, abuse, and ableism, especially if they are regularly active on social media and in the public. Plus, some of them have had very troubling pasts which is one of the reasons why they wanted to become celebrities. They want to make a difference in other people's and their own lives.

Whether the singers are deceased or alive, I still think that they are worth valuing. With all the troubles and hardships that Black people have faced throughout the years, we should all consider and appreciate both the alive and deceased Black rappers, musicians, singers and music groups. Even if they are not physically on this earth, you can bring them to live with their music, songs, and their natural musical talents that you and your friends both value.

Have a great weekend and stay safe and healthy! You got this!

#blacklivesmatter #musicappreciation #blacklivesplaylist #inlovingmemory #hiphopculture #motownmusic

playlist
2

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.