Beat logo

Before I found BET… MTV/ Night Tracks Generation….

…cue the intro…

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1

Hey hey 👋 what it do, what it is, what’s happenin’.

Shortly after midnight on August 1, 1981, MTV debuted it’s first music video which, by now, everyone knows was “Video Killed the Radio Star” by the Buggles.

And if you didn’t KNOW that, and you’re over the age of 40…I’m looking at you skeptically.

Yes, kinda like this 🤨

But here’s the video in case you wanna redeem yourself:

I mean y’all didn’t HAVE to watch it 🤣, but if you did, I gave you five COOL POINTS.

Awkward Disclaimer:

As of right now, COOL POINTS have no monetary value.

***However if my circumstances change and I’m actually successful enough at this blogging thing and it morphs into the vlogcast/talk show thing of my dreams, the COOL POINTS will be redeemable for future Majique MiMi merch!!

And least that’s the goal!!!

But for now, back to MTV.

Apparently I was eleven when MTV debuted, and I know for a fact that my family didn’t have cable TV initially, so the majority of my music video watching was done at my girlfriend Jennifer’s house. Her family not only had cable, but Jennifer had cable TV in her ROOM.

😱 I know right?

Anyhow, anywho, I wound up spending a lot of time at Jennifer’s watching music videos on MTV and some nondescript video show that even though it was supposed to be “cable” it was still “snowy” or “wiggly”

Kinda like these:

Photo Courtesy of Reddit

Photo Courtesy of Optimum.net

Upon further research, I found out the program was called Night Tracks and it aired on TBS. started at midnight on Friday night and ended at six am the following Saturday morning.

Thanks Wikipedia 🤣🤷🏻‍♀️ cuz I knew I wasn’t crazy and I also knew BET wasn’t the first network to play R&B videos.

MiMi feels slightly vindicated 🙅🏻‍♀️.

I said slightly because I was wrong about Prince’s “Little Red Corvette” being the first music video that broke the “color barrier” on MTV. (Pssst, it was really Billie Jean by Michael Jackson)

And that was because I didn’t see “Little Red Corvette” on MTV, I saw it through the wavy lines and the snow on TBS.

🤷🏻‍♀️ #ISWISAIIWII

But that’s when I first SAW Prince and other R&B artists of that era and honestly, that’s when I fell in LOVE with R&B and Soul music.

Don’t get it twisted, I still dug Motley Crue, Def Leppard and em, but my groove didn’t always swing that way; and that was obvious my first day of middle school when we had to cover our textbooks with paper bags.

Photo Courtesy Rubberstamps.com

Then we would take colorful markers and write all of our favorite groups’ names & logos on said book covers.

Pair that up with folders with our favorite groups’ photos on em…and I was all set for fifth grade 😎🤣.

Photo Courtesy Worthpoint

Photo courtesy: Bonanza

All that to say this, between the school bus 🚌 driver playing the radio on bus 6, and Nite Tracks, I became an R&B connoisseur of sorts.

And once I moved to a neighborhood where my lack of melanin but my abundance of musical knowledge impressed my classmates, I was considered “cool as hell” and I found my rhythm.

Metaphorically that is 🤣 Remember

MiMi can only dance well sitting down.

I know, I know, I need more help than a little bit. But because Sev Rock said I was benevolent, I’m gonna help y’all too…

TWENTY FIVE COOL POINTS goes to the first person who can tell me what was the debut video on Video Soul on BET???

Ready

Set

Go

✌🏼💜💨

Peace, Love, Exhale

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.