Beat logo

Baker's Dozen Beats: Shadowsithe Ghoststrike

A Look at 13 Tracks on My Playlist for My World of Warcraft Main, Shadowsithe Ghoststrike

By Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)Published 11 months ago Updated 9 months ago 11 min read
Like
Shadowsithe Ghoststrike, the Ghastly Bulk Merchant of Blackwater Raiders

World of Warcraft has been a big part of my life since 2009. So too, has my main; my first-ever character, the female Forsaken, Shadowsithe Ghoststrike. She is Guild Master of <Spectre and Shadow> on Blackwater Raiders, and a major farmer, buyer, and seller. She also sometimes hosts giveaways, or just plain gifts people random mounts and pets, or she seeks out rares for others to get other mounts and hunter tames! Breaks up the endless task of farming, you know?

As such a big part of my gaming life, it should come as no surprise that my most beloved character has a playlist all for herself - and it is massive compared to most of the other playlists I've created in about the same time-frame. Currently, hers comes in at over 575 tracks and a hearty 36 hours start-to-finish! Virtually the only playlist larger than hers is my own, and even that is only barely larger! Though, I will say, I haven't added to my own much in a while. Still...

Moreover, being a comparable size to my own, there is a fair amount of overlap between the two playlists. But don't worry - Ghoststrike is different enough that we can find some tracks that are all her own! She's more competitive and driven than I tend to be in other areas of my life.

Below, 13 tracks I think best encapsulates my experiences playing my favorite ghastly Outlaw Rogue.

Shadowsithe Ghoststrike's Complete Playlist

Shadowsithe Ghoststrike takes a selfie with Moonshine, her Celestial Calf, while waiting for Fabious to debut.

1) "Just Like Fire" - P!nk

Shadowsithe Ghoststrike, Ghastly the Ghastly Charger, and an Enchanted Lantern pet light up the skies over Dalaran

Now, this first track is actually heavily played on my own playlist, but I feel it applies better to my World of Warcraft counterpart than to me. While I'm not overly attracted to the element of fire, you might have noticed from any and all screenshots or other images that Shadowsithe Ghoststrike has a very ethereal look; her look is basically glow-in-the-dark...

Or spectral.

I think this is a perfect track to introduce Ghoststrike; she is spirited, and just wants to shed a little light into the game!

Shadowsithe is a Rogue; she has the ability to vanish from sight - and fights. However, given that she also shows people where rares and hard-to-find-pets are, her apparel - and playlist - reflect that duality. A ghastly skull helm wards off would-be competitors on the farming fields, and mostly dark leather helps her stealth when needed. But a blue glow from the Rogue, her mounts, and her companions acts as a spooky beacon to light the dark corners of Azeroth.

She'd have it no other way.

2) “Legends are Made” - Sam Tinnesz

Atlas and Shadowsithe join a few other Mighty Caravan Brutosaurs around a mailbox

Shadowsithe has probably never felt as powerful and as accomplished as when she worked herself to the- wait... she's already been bones...

Ahem.

Any case, she's likely never felt as powerful and accomplished as when she worked so hard to make the 5 million gold needed to purchase her beautiful Mighty Caravan Brutosaur, Atlas, in the Battle for Azeroth expansion. By that point, farms were in rotation in a known routine, stacks were selling like hot cakes, and the gold - and confidence - was pouring in.

She was getting shit done and seeing great results. A high point, for sure.

3) “Playground” - Bea Miller, Arcane, League of Legends

Fang and Atlas

Once she started making decent gold regularly, Shadowsithe bought the most expensive mounts in the game - totaling 7 million gold. And then...

Ghoststrike found the game's Black Market Auction House. This is where rare items or items that can no longer be obtained any other way go up for bid - all the way to the 10 million gold cap.

This song reminds me a lot of visiting the Rogue Class Hall - the Hall of Shadows - beneath the capital city of Dalaran. Basically the sewers. But that was also where she could be found; at a Black Market representative in the Hall of Shadows, bidding on anything she could afford. "Playground" reminds her of the sleaze of the underground and the bidding wars that took place.

And also of some of her own selling conduct. It's easy to feel big with a huge selection on hand of rare or hard-to-get items for sale.

4) “Wine, Beer, Whiskey” - Little Big Town

Menopaws Wombrage demonstrates a dance with pet Shark Week.

Shadowsithe likes to drink. I'm not sure how it works, given her Undead status, but she can still get drunk. Sadly, female Forsaken don't do much dancing. Guess zombie joints don't handle it well, thought the males seem to jump around just fine...

Guildmate and alt, Menopaws Wombrage, however, more than makes up for Shadowsithe's simple swaying when she opts to dance with her red blob pet, Shark Week (read those names carefully - I had so much fun with them!).

But it is Shadowsithe who drinks the bars dry! Better make sure you've got plenty of Undercity "Skull-Shocker" and Te'kill'u! Might wanna bring a fishing pole too - she likes to fish drunk!

Wee!

5) “Friend Like Me” - The Lost Bros

Shadowsithe Ghoststrike finds King Krush and Loque'nahak, lists custom group

As touched upon a bit already, when Shadowsithe wants a break from a farm, she'll often seek out a rare mount or pet for someone else. Such groups - and gifts - often take others by such surprise, it's easy to feel like a genie that can pull damn near anything off!

Folks are so grateful when Ghoststrike finds things for them! And so long as she knows you're looking for a certain target, she'll keep an eye out for it, and let you know when she's found it!

6) “Lil Bit” - Nelly, Florida Georgia Line

Shadowsithe riding her Phosporescent Stone Drake, dropped by Aeonaxx in Deepholm

While I think this song would pair great with a giant wheel mount/machine I have yet to obtain, the Rusted Junkheap Drifter, it still gives off the right groove that Ghoststrike can get into during a good farming session!

It also makes a great addition to Atlas, the Mighty Caravan Brutosaur's playlist! It's definitely a track worthy of some of Shadowsithe's best, most impressive mounts!

7) “Feel the Disease” - TOKYOPOP Inc.

Ghoststrike, Ghastly, and Enchanted Lantern in their most ghostly appearances

Shadowsithe Ghoststrike has a creepy/sexy vibe going on with her ghastly outfit - and this track matches the vibe!

Moreover, the Forsaken have been and are known for using things like biological weapons and gases to inflict harm upon their enemies; "Feel the Disease" fits right in with the Forsaken as a whole!

Seriously, I can just imagine my main slinking off into the shadows during this track.

How like a Rogue!

8) “All Star” - Ty Dolla $ign

Shadowsithe Ghoststrike, Spectre the Swift Spectral Tiger, and Banshee Shriek the Spectral Tiger Cub await their next adventure!

This song reminds me of farming Starlight Rose in Suramar regularly in particular, despite my not being introduced to the song until years later after. Largely, I think it's due to the familiarity - and resulting confidence - of the farm my main has done. So. Many. Times.

It's also one of those songs where Shadowsithe wants to show off a shiny mount - like Spectre, the Swift Spectral Tiger. The beat matches well with Spectre leaping off cliffs during the Starlight Rose farms, as he enjoys doing.

And, between the shiny mount and the insane amounts of gold coming in during the time...

This is a very good fit.

9) “Whatever it Takes” - Imagine Dragons

Spectre the Swift Spectral Tiger jumping off cliffs in Suramar with Shadowsithe Ghoststrike and Banshee Shriek

When I returned to World of Warcraft during the Warlords of Draenor expansion in 2014, I basically had to start from scratch. I quickly began amassing my mount collection, but needed gold. And that, folks, is how I got into farming raw materials and gold.

I only had Shadowsithe, and solo farming was a huge learning curve - yet I thrived in the Legion expansion following Warlords of Draenor.

Once again, this track too featured during my time farming Suramar's Starlight Rose. Honestly, Imagine Dragons, STARSET, and The Glitch Mob were largely the background noise I had on for over a year as I constantly farmed the herb. But this one especially played on repeat during those farms.

10) “Warpath” - 7kingz

Shadowsithe on her Heavenly Onyx Cloud Serpent

Where Ghoststrike puts the war in Warcraft is, as expected, in the farming and selling departments. She's been known to go head-to-head and shoulder-to-shoulder with other farmers and sellers to maintain her numbers, and nothing else brings out her stubborn streak quite like it!

After years of learning farms, building my stocks, and getting a tight grip on Blackwater Raiders and Shadow Council's Auction House through some extreme dedication, it comes as little shock that I don't like to give up any of it without struggle.

A recent example is a multiboxer (I count 5 accounts working together) on my home server. They use 5-6 accounts at once to farm largely the same materials I've focused on my entire time in World of Warcraft, and I simply cannot out-farm them because of that. This caused me a great deal of despair...

Until I decided to buy and flip massive amounts of some of the best - and most pricey - materials. Now several of my banks are full, and I have stacks to throw into the ring to compete - and block - that competitor's remaining stock.

So you might be thinking, "you ain't fun when you're chasing that kind of conquest". And you'd be right. I will race you to spawns, I will buy you out, and I will box-in your stocks.

11) “Me Against You” - Three Days Grace

Shadowsithe, an Alliance player, and their Brutosaurs wait for Nalak to spawn on Isle of Thunder

Continuing on from above, this is another track that highlights Ghoststrike's stubborn side! In particular, it reminds me of literally racing another payer to each herb of Starlight Rose in 2015-2016. Back then, there was only one phase per realm, rather than the 4 we get now, so if there was another farmer out in a zone, you either teamed up or were in direct competition. I wasn't great with game chats (still not super savvy), so guess which way that went?

Spectre and Shadowsithe ran the guts out of the competition on their grounded Sky Golem. Sure miss that competitor though; kept me on my toes! Haven't seen them in years - might be dead or just not play anymore...

12) “VILLAIN” - K/DA, Madison Beer, Kim Petras, League of Legends

Let's face it; to most buyers and competitors, I'm a greedy bitch. Why else would I raise prices?

Shadowsithe is a Forsaken - a zombie for all intents and purposes - and flies under the banner of the Horde; to many, that screams villain.

While other K/DA songs would also work here and do feature on my giveaway playlist, I chose this one to highlight that, no matter how "good" I paint my main as, others may see her as a villain - a bitch. A monster. Trust me, I've been shit on in trade chat so many times just for trying to give folks free mounts, pets, and toys...

Which is why I stopped selling in trade and stopped hosting giveaway events the last couple years... I want to, but... damn, guys.

I don't wanna chat with any of you jerks...

13) “Legend” - The Score

Shadowsithe and Atlas

I'm not gonna lie; I'd love to see my main as an NPC in-game. Or on like 10 tapestries, with different mounts and pets. I fucking love her. Then again, I guess Shadowsithe having as long a playlist as my own kinda proves that, hm?

This final track showcases her - and my - ambitions. I used to take such pride in the past: competitors, buyers, and passerby alike used to know of Shadowsithe. I was known on Blackwater Raiders. Granted, most of it wasn't good - like my high prices due to such high demand on so few suppliers like myself.

There's just something so right about strolling around on a mount like Atlas to this song. Or fiercely farming on Spectre. Something that stands out.

Maybe I just have an ego.

But, in my defense, our characters in World of Warcraft are often referred to as Champions - true, hardened defenders of Azeroth.

I'd really like to think Shadowsithe has earned a spot as a server legend. Maybe for all the gifts I've mailed. More likely as a, "greedy, stupid Rogue" as someone once called me. But she'd like to be known for something.

My World of Warcraft main is very different from me in a lot of ways. She's more confident, more sure of what she wants...

I wish I was half as cool - and successful and generous - as that ghastly Rogue.

Playlist for this post/challenge.

Thank you for your time! If you enjoyed this, please consider subscribing, liking, sharing, and/or tipping! So many screenshots and links in this one...

For more about Shadowsithe Ghoststrike, consider checking out the following:

Life in Azeroth: Shadowsithe Ghoststrike (100 word Micro-fiction)

Life in Azeroth: Letters to Shadowsithe Ghoststrike (a look at letters I've gotten from folks after sending gifts)

Achievement Earned: Fifty Million Gold Earned on One Character Through Auctions!

pop cultureplaylistlisthumanitybandsalternative
Like

About the Creator

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)

A fun spin on her last name, Baker enjoyed creating "Baker's Dozen" lists for various topics! She also wrote candidly about her mental health & a LOT of fiction. Discontinued writing on Vocal in 2023 as Vocal is a fruitless venture.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023) is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.