Beat logo

Atomic Dog- Bow wow wow yippie yo yippie yeah

George Clinton's funky beats enthrall new generations

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Cult classic

One of my all time favorite songs is Atomic Dog by George Clinton. I truly get a kick out of the recent Etrade commercial where this funk hit is utilized. Even my 8 year old grandson stops what he is doing to watch the canines being pampered aboard the yacht. In my opinion, whoever came up with this advertisement is a genius. No matter where I am, when I hear Atomic Dog it makes me want to dance. The beat causes me to feel as if I am in my twenties again which is how old I was when this song was a hit. George Clinton's brand of funk remains relative in this changing world where artists like Snoop Dog admit sampling his material. Atomic Dog is special to me not just because of the dance beat but also the video which was made during the hey day of MTV. This is when music video's were fun and original. I especially love how George Clinton mixed animation with the live dancers. Atomic Dog was a favorite of my brother Bill Jones, who drowned on Father's Day 1993.

My sibling would come down the stairs singing loudly, "Why must I feel like that why must I chase the cat, just the dog in me." Each time I hear this song, that memory comes to mind regarding Bill. Sometimes my youngest brother will mimic our sibling's way of relating to George Clinton's lyrics and we both have a good laugh. Atomic Dog is one of the last great funk dance songs of the 1980s before music styles began to change. It holds a special meaning for me for a third reason. Clinton lost the rights to some of his music and also the names Parliament and Funkadelic because of back taxes. For so many teens and young adults from the 1970s, PFunk concerts were the highlight of our young existence. The extravagant stage shows, the mother ship seeming to come out of the sky, the elaborate costumes and of course hit songs like Tear the Roof off the sucker, Flashlight, and One nation under a groove.

Once George Clinton lost his rights he recorded under his own name, PFunk All stars and other monikers. Atomic Dog is a symbol of his staying power. He was stripped of the groups and music he was identified with but no one can take the gift he has inside for entertaining his legends of fans. Atomic dog, in my opinion symbolizes Clinton moving forward and making himself a part of the MTV generation. I saw George Clinton interviewed on the TVone network program Unsung. The music icon said that he had no choice except to sell the rights to his music because so many people were depending on him financially. He added that he was attempting to buy back some of his music.

George Clinton has managed to gain a loyal following with is music and various groups over the decades, most notably with Parliament/ Funkadelic. He has also left a mark on the music world and generations of followers with a song that was recorded under his name, Atomic Dog. According to Wikepedia, Atomic Dog is now considered as a classic in black popular music. Unfortunately,this song was originally held back from being played on radio stations. Allegedly George Clinton's political consciousness which was often expressed on his album covers, his reputation as a bad boy in the industry, and the move towards younger acts, prevented this song from being circulated on the airwaves. Only after very strong sales was this classic finally played on the air. I guess you just can't keep a good song down.

The single Atomic Dog was released in December 1982 and quickly went to #1 on the R&B charts, but it missed the Hot 100 by just one position.The music video was nominated for two Billboard Video Music Awards, best art direction and one for best special effects. The video lost out however, to Herbie Hancock's Rockit and Billy Joel's Pressure respectively. The record made number 94 on the UK Singles Chart and was number one on the U.S. Billboard Bubbling Under Hot 100 and U.S. Billboard Hot Black Singles. It also gets quite a bit of play on oldies stations.

Atomic dog represents a time of transition from the live band era of Parliament and Funkadelic into the digital age, but it still retains the funky 70s edge. It proves that even though you may lose all, you can rise like the ashes like the Phoenix. Every time I hear Atomic dog, I feel like anything is possible and past mistakes don't have to determine my future, George Clinton is still touring and continuing the funk with engagements in California in February. On July 22 of this year the funk master will be 79 years young. Atomic dog is my inspiration to keep on keeping on and make lemonade from life's lemons. Bow wow wow yippie yo yippie yeah, bow wow yippie yo yippie yeah.

80s music
2

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.