Beat logo

Ariel Jones' debut single - “Secret”

R&B, Soul, & Hip-Hop Singer Songwriter

By mysoundMusicPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

Ariel Jones, singer and songwriter, asserts herself as a versatile singer, having as main influences the universe of R&B/Soul and Hip-Hop. Born in Lisbon, at the age of 8, she moved with her family to the island of Madeira where she spent her childhood and adolescence.

Her interest in music arose from an early age, having joined the Conservatory of Music of Madeira at the age of 12, where she played piano for 2 years and took lyrical voice lessons for 8 years. At the age of 16 she joined a cover band, as a singer and guitarist, having remained until the completion of university studies.

Ariel Jones returns to Lisbon to explore her artistic side, performing on the music scene with her debut single “Secret”.

Are you from a musical or an artistic family?

My parents always listened a lot of music and I grew up listening to it. But, no one in my family sings or has other artist skills. I think I was born with a gift and if that gift is well developed through the time with work and practice, that is what turns a gift to being an artist.

How long have you been creating music?

Curiously, I started writing my own songs back in 2020, in the beginning of the Co-Vid19 pandemic. I never thought I would be able to write my own lyrics but it’s been a really great process where I can see my evolution and put my feelings in my art. I began going to studio and working with some producers in June 2020, so this is all a new beggining to me.

Do you have a preferred genre?

Since my teen age, around when I was 15, I started singing and playing guitar in a band back in Madeira Island, where I am from. Our band used to play all the genres, from Pop and Rock to R&B and Reggae. Alongside with that, I have always loved Soul music since I was 11. I say that my main preference is R&B/Soul and Trap/Soul and I think that was a music taste that evolved through all my life.

Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

Until now, all my music unreleased was written by me, because when I am down, that is when I feel more inspired and put my soul in it. But if one day there’s a chance collaborate with someone on writing lyrics, I would be open to that.

Tell us about your sound and what sets you apart?

As I told you before on the other question, as I already have a background in singing various genres in a band, I think my sound has a strong connection to R&B/Soul but with a twist of Trap/Hip Hop music. I also have other songs unreleased that I would say are between a “R&B and Reggae” sound. I think all the genres combine into the central one – R&B.

You recently released your single ‘Secret’. Is this your 1st release?

Yes, “Secret” is my first single ever released, but I have another songs already in the oven ready to be released. I am very excited with this first release because I think it is a good intro for what is about to come.

Can you tell us a little about this song, “Secret”?

The lyrics of this song is all about a relationship that begins when two people are already friends, have friends in common but privately, they are involved with each other. I think if nobody knows about the emotional attraction between these two souls, nothing can ruin their relationship. The best kept secret is the one that is revealed to no one. Basically, it tells people to just enjoy the moment secretly.

Is there a hidden meaning in your music?

I think every artist that writes their own music has a hidden meaning in the way that every person is different and will interpret differently the lyrics and the story behind the music.

Do you create music for yourself or for fans?

This is a really good question because I do create music for my fans because music is life and if I can change someone’s life through my music that means everything to me. But, on the other hand, I would never release a music that I don’t feel a connection with just because is the trend of the moment.

Has your style evolved since the beginning of you career?

Since this is my first single released and having in mind all of the songs I have as a demo and unreleased, I would say my style is always the same. A twist of all genres evolving to the principal genre – R&B.

Are you interested in performing live?

Of course. And I think that wouldn’t be no trouble for me, since I have already performed live from small audiences to thousands of people back in the days where I was a singer in the cover band.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

First, let’s make something clear: I don’t want to achieve fame & fortune. That was never my goal when I began working on my music. I want people to be inspired through my music and my art and help also people in their struggles through my music. One thing I do hope to achieve is to work full-time as an artist. That is my deeply and only wish.

Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

Of course. I love to travel and having the blessing of performing for other cultures while also travelling is something that I think very valuable to my personal growth and accomplishment. I would love to go to USA. Since I live in Portugal, I think that is dreaming too big but, if we don’t dream big, we don’t achieve big.

Tell about a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your music career.

The most magical moment is getting great feedback from all the people about my first single “Secret”. I am a person that likes to hear constructive arguments and I have so many opinions that I can think of when I am alone and break down mentally every argument.

Who inspires you musically?

I would say H.E.R. and Jazmine Sullivan are the artists I listen more nowadays. But I also like the style of Doja Cat and Layton Greene where they mix R&B with some Hip Hop and I think that is inspiring.

If one artist were to perform at your party, who would get the call?

H.E.R. Ever since she appeared in the music scene, it’s been my ultimate favorite singer.

How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

The Internet has impacted all of our lives and if it wasn’t for the Internet how could I release my single with no help from any manager or label? I think the Internet and the digital platforms are a blessing for an independent artist, where we are able to build our own career and control how do we want our art to be demonstrated to the public.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

I love Youtube, Instagram and Spotify. Youtube because is where my fans can see the visual art that complements my music, Instagram because it is a great platform to promote some teasers to an upcoming event or release and where I can engage more easily with my fans and Spotify because is where my fans can listen to all my music and judge me as an artist by my sound and not by my looks.

What is one message you would give to your followers?

Stay tuned and follow my social media pages because I am working on some new music for you and stay strong. Also, I would like to say for all of you to stay safe but never forget about your mental health, which I believe you can heal through good music too.

What does the future hold for you?

I don’t know what the future holds for me, I like to live in the moment. I believe in hard work and resilience but, one thing I don’t believe is in the word luck. Behind a lucky person, sometimes people don’t see all the struggle, hard work and high hopes someone may have.

Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

I just would like to say that I am humble person born in Madeira Island, which belongs to Portugal. I came to Lisbon by myself and I consider myself a fighter. If I will have to accomplish something, I believe I can accomplish by myself.

Stay tune & check back for more to come from, Ariel Jones ...

interview
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.