Beat logo

Anti-Valentine

If you're single on valentine's day, this playlist is for you

By Devin Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Anti-Valentine
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I've been single for years now, and have no need to do anything involving valentines day. Most people think that it's sad or even crazy for a guy like me to be single, or even not to celebrate valentines day. Shoot, people even think I'm always lonely and junk. In all reality, I'm honestly not even remotely lonely. I just treat valentine's day like my every day life; just chill and listen to music. But for valentines day, I switch up my playlist for music.

It all starts with this. This song is called Good Guy by Eminem ft. Jessie Reyez. Why this song you ask? Well for starters, this song helps me understand that I don't need to be worried about any relationships. There's people who only want a relationship specifically for holidays like this and Christmas. Not saying I don't want to spend money on people. I mean, for the right person I'll spend til' I can't spend anymore. I just don't want a relationship to solely depend on me spending a bunch of money.

Half of My Heart by John Mayor. Honestly, I don't focus on the lyrics much on valentines day. Just the tempo and flow of this song alone keeps my mind at bay. So if you just want to listen to a song just because, I suggest this one.

This guy right here I know personally. He's an up and coming rapper who's Miami born and raised but sides in Atlanta. He goes by Jr Be Snappin. This is his recent music, Need Love. As an artist, he's a great rapper and song writer. But getting back on topic, listening to this song gives me hope that I'll find that special someone in my life. This song was specifically made for moments like this on valentines day. He didn't necessarily say that or probably didn't even have that intention to begin with but the song literally talks about how everyone needs love in the world. I recommend you guys check him and his music out. He's a great artist.

This one is also by Jr Be Snappin. Love Song is what this one is called. Lyric wise, this song talks about keeping the right person by your side. This helps me keep nothing but positive thoughts and give me all sorts of hope for the future in myself even though I'm single. Overall, this is a great song to listen to when you're down on valentines day. It'll help keep your mind on the right track.

I guess now it just seems like I'm just advertising my friend's music at this point. I promise you guys that this is not what is happening right now lol. This song is called To My Ex. This song mostly just reflects back on the a past relationship; hence the name. Personally, I haven't reflected back on any past relationships but if it's something that you wanna do to help lift you back up on your feet, then you should give this song a listen.

This is where I have to take a left turn and get more deeper into the matter. Those of you who listen to Eminem, you know that in his recent album he raps deep about a lot of things. But this is called Never Love Again from his Music To Be Murdered By album for those who don't know. This song in particular talks about the drug addiction he has had in his early rap career. For those of you who suffer or know someone who's suffering from a drug addiction, I hope you listen to this song and learn from his relapse. Getting back on track, ignoring most of the lyrics, this song has had a good effect on me. In the chorus, he says "I'll never love again. The way I loved you" even though that has a different meaning, I think that there's someone out there for me.

The list goes on for days if I'm being honest. But for now, I'm giving you guys my my most listened to songs out of my playlist for a mind cleanser and all that sort.

playlist
1

About the Creator

Devin

Hey! My name is Devin. I'm 22 years old. I like writing realistic fiction, fantasy fiction, and fiction genre all in the first person perspective so my work will mostly be that. hope you guys like my content!! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.