Beat logo

An Ode to the GOATS: Creating HERstory

I'll be celebrating women of the 90s even when I'm in my nineties!

By Tiffany LintonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
5

Black women? Top tier, let's start there.

Everything we do serves a purpose, we can never come close to being worthless.

I grew up listening to Biggie, Tupac, Busta, Ja Rule, Ludacris, Snoop, and 50⁠—men who always brought something new to the table with rhymes that were clean and crispy.

I look back and I think about the impact that Hip-Hop has given black culture, and the women who've emerged in the 90s that were more than just a pretty sculpture.

Our bodies are admirable, and so are our minds. We've always been more than video vixens who bump and grind.

Women like Lauryn Hill stepped in the game to show everyone the way. Ms. Hill kicked off her kick ass career way back in the mid 90s when she joined the iconic group, The Fugees alongside members Pras and Wyclef Jean. With multi platinum albums and successful hit singles, the members went on to form their solo careers. In 1998, Lauryn Hill's debut solo album, The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill was released. After making it to number 1 on the charts with her heartfelt lyrics and catchy beats, she earned a spot as one of the most historical artists of all time. As a 64 time winning artist with a unique sound, she's paved the way for other intelligent emcee's to come. Lauryn Hill taught me to always be confident in my gifts and to never feel ashamed for thanking God for getting to where I want to go in life.

Lauryn spit truth at an intellectual speed

She applied pressure and got the job done indeed—Yes, pun intended, you might have to reread

'Cause "That Thing" gave us knowledge that she needed to feed

But she wasn't the only girl to bring her talent to the world

So many talented women have bars more precious than a pearl

Like Lil' Kim who had a flow so sick, you'd get nauseous

ATTENTION: This is a bad girl alert, so stay cautious!

Kimberly Denise Jones graced the world of Hip-Hop with her attitude and major confidence as a Brooklyn bred rapper. Upon invitation to the group Junior M.A.F.I.A., Kim would freestyle rap in her hood. This allowed room for her to be discovered by the great Notorious B.I.G. Her 1996 debut studio album Hard Core went certified double platinum. Watching Lil' Kim dominate the charts with hit to hit from the 90s and into the early 2000s made it clear that she was en route to even greater success. This makes even more sense when you realize she's sold over 30 million albums worldwide! "No Time," "Big Momma Thang," and "Not Tonight (Ladies Night)" made it to Complex's 50 Best Rap Songs By Women list. Lil' Kim was also listed as one of VH1's 100 Greatest Women in Music list. Kim taught me how to always own my sexuality and no matter where I go, to always stay true to myself.

With plain talent black women have dominated the game

Without the money, riches, and fame and they'd still have a name

Because hard work never really goes unnoticed

So allow me to introduce one of the dopest

Missy "Misdemeanor" Elliott launched her supa dupa fly solo career in July of 1997 after having experience in a girl group and working alongside musical acts like Devante Swing of Jodeci, Aaliyah, Total, SWV, and Timbaland. Throughout her career, she's broken major records, established international popularity, and went on to win four Grammy Awards. She's been listed as one of the greatest music video artists of all time and she deserves it for always bringing some spunk and creativity to her music videos! Missy has always been ahead of her time with her tremendously one-of-a-kind outfits, like the inflated garbage bag look and more! She sparked pieces of my goofy ways which made me who I am today. I know a lot of people out here try to be bad and bougie, but I'm super weird, and her music and videos have always reminded me that it's okay to be that way!

Last but not least on the list—

Is a rapper who remained a beast at this!

Let me make it clear, 'cause you have to be aware

She had a God-given talent and a soul so sincere

I was in 5th grade when I learned to do heavy research on the internet. Being born in the late 90s didn't leave me with much as I was more so influenced by music in the early 2000s. When looking back on the history of music, I found myself super drawn to TLC. I adored their fashion, sound, and story. I fell in love with raps and verses by Lisa "Left Eye" LopesOne of the three divine members. Her tomboy flare that she flaunted along with her sex appeal was so distinctive. She brought the quirk and eccentric feel to TLC, though T-Boz and Chilli had their own amazing details! Left Eye stood out in ways unexplainable. You'd be able to hear her spit one word from a song and immediately know who it was! Although she's no longer with us, her spirit lives on. My heart hurts every time I think about how much further she'd be by now. She truly deserves every flower given to her for gracing us with so much talent!

These women are the definition of longevity

It's only right to pay homage to the ones that are ahead of me

Man, I miss that old music...that soul music.

Type of stuff that will make a dude look me in my eyes and say, “Say baby can I be your slave? I’ve got to admit girl. You’re the sh*t girl, and I’m diggin' you like a grave.”

The type of stuff that will make me tell my man I need some TLC, but instead of giving me back rubs, he plays me No Scrubs!

I am so emotionally attached to the gems that these women have left us with! I can't wait to introduce them to my children. They sparked something new in the 90s era, so much that I can never seem to get enough of it. Each of these black women introduced us to what would become staples in the world of fashion. Their choices of bamboo earrings, name plate rings and necklaces reminds me that their impact ran so much deeper than their raps. Now, we're recycling those very same pieces today! Crazy, huh? Black women are the GOAT! Lauryn Hill, Lil' Kim, Missy Elliott, and Left Eye each brought something different to the table, imprinting the idea in our culture that there is room for everyone at the table! They were adamant to share what they had with the rest of the world while embodying the deepest parts of themselves. I think if the world continues to see through the eyes of black women, their minds will continue to open up so much more, especially with understanding and effort.

P.S. You can't beat black girl magic, trick!

90s music
5

About the Creator

Tiffany Linton

Writer, Actress, Educator, CEO, Singer, if you want more then follow me on Instagram: tiffanymulan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.