Beat logo

American Idol Upset Me

My rant for the twist of this season of 2021 American Idol.

By Melissa Bezborotko Published 3 years ago 3 min read
7

Hear me out; I'm a massive fan of American Idol even though I am Canadian. I have been a loyal viewer since Kelly Clarkson's big win in 2002. That is nineteen years of Idol love. Today is my very first rant to the world ever in my life. Don't get me wrong, I rant, just never on a world platform. So, here goes.

The twist of bringing back one contestant from last year is unfair to this season's contestants. I understand that the contestants got shorted the big stage last season due to the pandemic. But they did finish the show, and there was a winner. The talented, Just Sam! Last season, talented singers got their chance to work on that fan base and perfect their talents as artists. A few of them are doing quite well and perfect themselves as new artists, including Authur Gunn, who has just been voted into the current season for his shot to win American Idol. Arthur Gunn was runner up to Just Sam last season. Since then, Arthur has maintained an enormous fan base and knocks out great sounds in his home studio. We already know him as an amazing talent. So, in my opinion, he has surpassed the current contestants in this current season. Arthur has grown pasted American Idol. Americal Idol is a platform to find new talent every season. Last year's singers are no longer a new talent, just talent. Now that he has made it to the top seven of this season, that took away a spot that Cassandra Coleman, Alyssa Wray, or Deshawn Goncalves could have had. I am devastated for them. This is their season of Idol, not Authur's. If he continues to make it into the top five and so on, which I feel he will because of the fan base he has achieved since being runner up last season and wins a season he never even auditioned for will be heartbreaking.

Going back to last season, it is also heartbreaking the way the season had to change because of a worldwide pandemic. The contestants had to perform over the internet in their homes. I felt like they did a fantastic job, and what the show did for Just Sam was so heartfelt. They gave her a place to stay to continue her Idol journey. America gave her the crown at the end of the season. So deserving too! Congratulations, Just Sam! What American Idol should have done instead of bringing a contestant back for another shot to win this season; they should have just given us a bonus show. Alow a top ten performance of last season a chance to show us how much they have grown—a showcase concert. Open up the Idol stage that they could not experience on their season. It will still be giving them a chance to shine without taking away a spot for the singers on this season to win.

Who do I want to see win this season, you ask? Well, Casey Bishop. I have become a fan of her since Hollywood week. Along with Alanis Sophia, who was unfortunately eliminated in the top sixteen. Don't get me wrong, Willie Spence and Grace Kinstler are excellent singers. Most significant voice of the season by far. Their Disney performance of Circle of Life and Into the Unknown gave me chills Sunday night. Bravo! John Stamos couldn't even critique Grace. He just said, "Sing it like that!" which made the world smile for her.

My heart and soul want one of this season's contestants to win. I can not vote because I am a Canadian resident. So, it is up to you, American, to be my voice and vote. Arthur Gunn is a fantastic talent, but he is already on his way. Let's give Caleb Kennedy, Willie Spence, Casey Bishop, Chayce Beckham, Hunter Metts, and Grace Kinstler their season back! Thank you for listening to my rant. Take care and be safe!

tv review
7

About the Creator

Melissa Bezborotko

I never know what to write here! I am a mother to two beautiful daughters. As my full-time job, I handle freight and logistics for an office supply company. I enjoy the gym as an outlet for life's stressors, I and I have my own radio show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.