Beat logo

A Resilient Tribe: Not Just About The Music

Da-Pranik's story behind the music.

By Da-PranikPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
A Resilient Tribe: Not Just About The Music
Photo by Paulette Wooten on Unsplash

By Oleg Sergeichik on Unsplash

Many people think just because I am an Independent Artist, my busy lifestyle and in-captivating songs are all I have to contribute to society.

But that's not true.

There is a lot more that goes into "the next song" I make besides dope beats and a catchy hook. For starters, I use my social media pages to create a community, a safe space. I don’t see my followers as just followers, I see them as members of my tribe. And for the time I can manage to hold your attention, we are on this journey together.

Still, when you click on my page, you are entering my mind, my world. You are viewing situations I speak about through my eyes. Doing so with my music because it is one of the best ways I know how. It is my pleasure to let you into my world.

Remember that.

Sure the busy lifestyle persists, especially as an Independent Artist. Only, If you ask me, that term should be re-framed to be called “The Jack of All Trades”. Because honestly, that is exactly what it implies. In addition to creating the music, one must maintain a consistent online presence (including the creation of such content), professionally network and maintain connections, create sets to perform and then find venues to perform at, come up with and run marketing campaigns online and in-person, ensure the music one just created complies with all the legal laws surrounding music and copyrights. And if that’s not enough as the empire is in the process of being built the infamous 9-5 shifts and school workload comes around to keep one humble. But don’t get me wrong, in no way am I complaining of such a lifestyle. The perks come without question, the ability to retain 100% control, immerse myself into new music communities to learn from and collaborate with others, communicate directly with my fans and for the most part keep 100% of the profits owed to me, is a privilege many Artists who came before me, including some major acts today, don’t have.

My music journey has come attached with the lesson of learning to adapt to any situation thrown at me. Leaving me with only two options:

Face it Now or Face it Again Later.

Frequently moving homes, switching jobs, dropping in and out of school, learning from sucessfail relationships, exploring existing beliefs, and balancing my own personal well being and mental health, has tested my commitment to this lifestyle in more ways than one. There have been countless times where I have felt like throwing in the towel. But for some reason, expressing myself through music is something I just can’t let go of. Writing to me is like walking into a therapy session. No judgement, no rules, no pressure to come up with an immediate end result, just vibes. And I love that. Which is interesting, because I like to let the music speak to me first.

When it comes to all the lessons, mentors, people I’ve met, and the experiences I have had so far, I am inspired. They have all left traces and mini imprints of themselves within my music. As we dive deeper down 2021’s timeline I look forward to sharing them with you.

So as you walk with me on this journey through sound (#LyricalStorytelling) I might trigger you at times, and feel at ease during others, or even encourage you to re-think your perspective on a topic (but only in the best way😌). I hope our connection only grows stronger but always remember you are free to leave as you please.

Da-Pranik,

Artist, Entrepreneur

Let me know your thoughts on this post, either replying to this or sending me a message on social media. How do you stay connected ? Additionally, if you were moved by what you read you can show your appreciation by leaving me a tip at the end to help me fund my next project.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.