Beat logo

A Recipe for Relaxation

Come thru and chill

By La'Nee GriffinPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Photo credit: Pop Sugar Fitness

Plato said, “Music gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination and life to everything.” To that I say, hell yes.

I wish I could dance. Unfortunately, I was not blessed with that gift. But when I’m home alone, I sing and dance to the gods. Through music, I am healed. I am withdrawn from earthly concerns and transformed.

Neo Soul, R & B and classical music collide in this therapeutic playlist. As varied as these songs are, they are woven together by a singular theme. Love. Nothing heals, calms, centers and restores us more than love. So, walk with me. This zen playlist is a vibe.

Track 1 - Ever have a day where you’re unsure of yourself? Sometimes that negative self talk is loud and convincing. You may find it hard to hear, see or feel the real you. In cases like these, you need an anthem...a song that reminds you that you have the juice. Masterpiece, by Jazmine Sullivan is that song. When, she says “Every part of me is a vision of a portrait of Mona Lisa. I’m a work of art, a masterpiece.” I believed her. Felt her. So will you!

Track 2 - Sometimes you have to sit still and be ready. In order to receive the things we’re asking for, we have to be open to them. When I’m looking for an answer, I roll out my mat and play India Arie, Ready for Love. I sit still, open my mind and my heart. “I am ready for love...all of the joy and the pain.” This song centers me and prepares me for the days ahead.

Track 3 - Black Mermaid by Esthero invites the listener to see themselves as beautiful. We could all use a little of that. This world often tries to convince us that we should aspire to a Eurocentric aesthetic of beauty. Black Mermaid makes me feel special, powerful, strong and necessary. “I’m a black mermaid - from the bottom of the sea - I will teach you how to love me- In the greatness I will lead you.” Can you dig it?

Track 4 - This song by Andra Day will bring me out of a funk on any day. Her smokey voice and fierce lyrics make you believe you can do anything. Even you can Rise Up. If you’re sensing a theme, you’re on the right track. Pun intended. These songs are about empowerment and uplifting ourselves. Each of them does just that. “When the silence isn't quiet, And it feels like it’s getting hard to breathe, And I know you feel like dying, But I promise we’ll take the world to its feet.” Whew!

Track 5 - Get it Together by India Arie is like the book of Revelations to me. It really opened my eyes about holding on to my pain. If we don’t release it, we can suffer physically and mentally. Ms. Arie provides the prescription for healing when she says, “I’d be starving if I ate all the lies you fed, cause I’ve been redeemed from your anguish and pain…” When I listen, I truly feel redeemed.

Track 6 - First, the beat hits you! Then, the power of the words. Solange’s Cranes in the Sky is about all the things we do to cope. “I ran my credit card bill up, thought a new dress would make it better.” We try so many things to try to feel “better” when the reality is, we need to be able to feel. This song reminds me of that. This is my peace.

The next three songs are a shift in energy. Once the self care/self love is addressed, we’re better prepared for romantic love. If you’re open to that, these songs are playful and sexy enough to get you there. The artistry does more than enough to relax me and take me to “that” place.

Track 7 - Daniel Caesar and H.E.R describe the Best Part as the beauty they see in each other. Riddled with simile, metaphor and strings; this song creates a mood. “I just wanna see how beautiful you are, you know that I see it, I know you’re a star…” I just relax and enjoy it.

Track 8 - “Why do you make it so complicated?” Jhene Aiko’s Sativa is more than a vibe. It’s a mantra! Whether it’s wine, sativa or just...love, this song leaves me feeling high. Whenever I hear it, that’s what I am.

Track 9 - This next song is an invitation. Miguel invites us to Come Through and Chill. Chill is the operative word. When Miguel says “Pick up the phone and show me if it’s real.”, I close my eyes. He goes on to describe what it was like the last time he and his love interest were together. The imagery is delightful and I’m blushing.

Bonus Track - Others may not connect this song with zen or relaxation. Its upbeat and fierce tempo might prompt a person to dance. A Flat by Black Violin has the opposite effect on me. It's all strings and the electric violins are shockingly soothing. Sometimes, I hear it playing while I’m driving and I pull over just to take it in. For me, it’s therapeutic and an awesome song to end with.

The importance of meditation and relaxation cannot be overstated. Music will always be a way for me to escape from reality and it’s just as necessary as yoga, meditation and prayer. I leave you with a list that brings me joy.

playlist
1

About the Creator

La'Nee Griffin

Hi! I'm La'Nee, an educator and life long learner. There's been a writer with stories inside of me and I've finally decided to let her out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.