Beat logo

A Ranking of Taylor's Swift's Red (Taylor's Version) Album

What's your favorite track?

By Lizzy GabrickPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

This is my review of Taylor Swifts re-released Red album and how I feel about each of the tracks listed. I left out a review for the two repeat songs ("State of Grace and "All Too Well") because I felt they were too similar overall to compare to each other and the other songs as a whole. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and reviews!

19. State of Grace

This is a beautiful song, but climbs a little bit higher on the list because of the acoustic version. Its place on this ranking are a combination of the original and acoustic.

4. Red

This song is truly a piece of art. Sure, its the title of the album, but the lyrics and the way everything connects is truly incredible. The allusions and connections the lyrics make helps me to push this high up on the list.

21. Treacherous

I can't say that I love the ballad, but the lyrics help me to move this song up the list a bit. There is value in what is being said, I connect with it.

18. I Knew You Were Trouble

This is truly a great song. The way Swift builds up to the chorus is creative and fun and you can't help but sing along.

15. I Almost Do

Beautiful lyrics. I really enjoy this song. Its raw, authentic, and feels like its really speaking to my heart and the emotions involved. Great piece of work.

10. 22

This is a feel good song...not to mention, one that I definitely had on repeat on my 22nd birthday. I love that she added a song like this to her album. It reminds individuals to be young and free and embrace where you are at in your life.

17. We Are Never Getting Back Together

Love the premise of this song, the minor slights Taylor does to show what a bad person her ex is, and the lyrics and beat in general. There is absolutely a need for a song like this on her album, but the heartfelt ballads seems to standout to me, which is why this song is ranking lower on my list.

25. Stay Stay Stay

I like the chorus, but overall this song doesn't stand out to me.

3. The Last Time

This is a beautiful song.

24. Holy Ground

Sort of generic to me, much like some of the other songs that are listed lower in ranking on this list.

20. Sad Beautiful Tragic

24 or 25

Beautiful. Tragic, just like the title. But otherwise not as outstanding to me as so many of the other songs on this album.

26. The Lucky One

Liked it, but didn't love it. Sort of basic, although there are several lyrics that were pretty profound to me.

6. Everything Has Changed

Ed Sheeran. That is all. Just kidding. This song gives off the vibe that there is so much hope for the future and that is something all of us need to be reminded of and hold onto.

28. Starlight

Love the beat, but overall this song doesn't do much for me.

9. Begin Again

This song has long been one of my favorites. The lyrics are something I can connect with so well, and I love that the story tells the transition of a heart that's been hurt over the course of only a few hours. This is absolutely relevant, showing that all it takes is one small new development in one's life to start to move on from the past, and that's a beautiful reminder for us all.

16. The Moment I knew

Starts out with a nice story. Reminds me a lot of her older music in general. Big vibes from her Christmas album here, and not just because of the mention of the holiday season. Very similar in my mind to "Christmases When You Were Mine," which isn't necessarily a problem, but definitely feels similar. I do love the bridge toward the end, with "what do you do when the one who means the most to you is the one who didn't show." Beautiful lyrics!

2. Come Back...Be Here

Per usual with Swift, the lyrics are what helps this song to rank to high on my list. Words go a long way, the story she creates with this song leaves me with a lot to think about.

22. Girl At Home

Great beat and such but the chorus gets awfully repetitive for me. I love that she mentions having been the one being cheated on before, as it adds to the story. Overall, the message is awesome and the song itself has a nice ring to it, it just doesn't stand out to me as much as some of the others. Also, I want the loser guy to be left alone, so telling him to "go back home" to his lady didn't quite sit right with me. I get it, but if I'm going to critique, that would be something.

13. Ronan

This song was originally written for a little boy dying of cancer, and composed of words written by his mother on a blog detailing his life. It's beautiful and amazing for all of those reasons.

5. Better Man

The lyrics! Wow. I am absolutely obsessed with them and wish I had this song years back when I needed it more than I do now. Still, its magnificent and deserves some recognition.

8. Nothing New

I really enjoyed this. The lyrics were phenomenal. So relatable. And the duet aspect of the song gave it another level of maturity and solemnness in my eyes. Absolutely loved it.

27. Babe

This wasn't a poor song, just unremarkable for me. Any new Taylor Swift music is a blessing in my eyes, so I appreciate her decision to add this song to the re-release.

12. Message In A Bottle

Great beat and great lyrics. Wow! This song was surprisingly relatable to me. I enjoyed it and I don't have much to say about it.

14. I Bet You Think About Me

Love it! Chris Stapleton is a great addition. This is one of the more country-sounding songs on the album, but that's not a bad thing at all in my mind. The song tells a story, which is fairly typical in Swift's lyrics, but what really got me was the Chris Stapleton/Taylor Swift voice combination. I wanted more from it! My only gripe is that he's more of a background singer than a main contributor in the song, which I would have liked to see.

11. Forever Winter

Yes! Love it. The beginning speaks to me, I like the composition. And the lyrics grow into something super mature and valuable. A great listen for anyone, especially in the times today of mental illness and trying to keep up the façade that everything is okay.

7. Run

I'll admit it, I loved Ed Sheeran. I love Taylor Swift a little less. But this masterpiece is something to be proud of. It's the first song they wrote together (to be followed by "Everything Has Changed," also on this album) but the age of such a song should not discount in melodic beauty and the compliment Swift and Sheeran's voices have together. They do a great job, and I love, love, love this one.

23. The Very First Night

I liked it. The beat was fun, but the lyrics didn't do much for me. What can I say, I guess I like a little heartbreak.

1. All Too Well (10 Minute Version)

My anticipation for this song was unparalleled. And it did not disappoint. Not even a little bit. Its beautiful and heartbreaking and I just can't talk about it enough. If you want more thoughts from me regarding this song, please see my article about listening to the song for the first time here: https://vocal.media/beat/why-taylor-swifts-short-film-all-too-well-is-a-masterpiece

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Lizzy Gabrick

I spent many years reading and writing in my adolescence but have found inspiration has lapsed since I have become more settled into my adult life--a career and marriage. I look forward to changing that and sharing my creations with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.