Beat logo

A Millennial Soundtrack

Story of Growing Up Through Music

By Nikki Torino WagnerPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 6 min read
Like
A Millennial Soundtrack
Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

Nostalgia has been a trending topic amongst millennials across various social media sites recently. There is a wistfulness, fondness and understanding that is shared within the era of 1981-1996.

usatoday.com describes the generation as, “the most racially and ethnically diverse adult generation in the nation’s history.” A statement such as that can be backed up in part by the films, shows and music that were released and then gobbled up by the masses.

Millennials had the front-row-seat to innovations, like American Online (AOL), mobile devices, evolving ways to photograph and video, and even cutting-edge programing, like reality tv and adult animation that took over ratings.

Music Television (MTV) played Shaggy, Mariah Carey, Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Alanis Morisette, Tupac, the Smashing Pumpkins, Snoop Dogg, Oasis and Beastie Boys, were just some that overtook the airways.

I was born February 14, 1988. A “Valentines baby” I’m often reminded by others, and most people would say I’m still “stuck in the 90’s and early 2000’s”. I still wear my Doc Martens along with a flannel wrapped around my waist, and I went nuts when Lisa Frank emerged from the past with new leopard print notebooks. It’s true I miss the time when I was a growing up. I’m reminded often of just how much when a song comes on and pulls me right back to the memory that’s associated.

I was nearly 4 when my mom took me to see my first film in theaters, Beauty and the Beast. Enthralled with the dancing and singing household goods, I looked away from the screen once, in the final act, because my mom was crying. SPOILER: she thought the Beast had died (really ma it’s a kid movie). Then the curse broke, and as the Beast and his household transformed back to their biological forms, and he is reunited with Belle the song, “Beauty and the Beast”, performed by Céline Dion and Peabo Bryson, began to swell. My mom grabbed my hand then kissed it. It was her empathy and happiness washing over me that cemented in my mind.

Thanks to the Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast Disney was able to continue captivating viewers of all ages with musicals. It sparked many including my lifelong obsession with music showcased in movies, tv shows and live theater.

I half-jokingly teased my brother by singing, “Brother for Sale” by the Olsen Twins and my dad loved to sing to me, “You Can Count On Me” the theme song for My Two Dads. My sisters and I dedicated, “the Sister Song,made popular from the children’s show Barney, to one another, and just as we were growing out of it came the rise of boy and girl bands.

Pop bands inspired us sisters to perform routines we choreographed ourselves. We would sing and dance to N’Sync’s “Tearing up my Heart” for family, and fight with our friends about which boy was “ours” (JC no contest). I still have the movements memorized for a song by the UK girl group B’Witched called ,“Rollercoaster”. But only one female empowered group had my heart completely.

The Spice Girls couldn’t have come at a more perfect time for a preteen girl with acne and emerging breasts. I “bloomed” early and often felt out-of-place. When they declared “girl power” I felt it vibrate throughout my whole body. They were Sporty, Scary, Baby, Posh and… Ginger, I could be all of those things too, including the hair color. When Spiceworld was released I had my first crush and then school-room boyfriend. He broke up with me as I wheezed my way around the schoolyard track. Even though my legs were tired and I was out of breath I ran home to play “Too Much” on my Walkman.

Crushes and break-ups became more common as my hormones advanced, so did my angst as I developed into a teenager. Rap music and punk rock ruled my life depending on my emotional state. I hung posters of Eminem after watching his debut film, 8-Mile. It was my first rated R film without a parent and the first explicit CD I owned. The following week I screamed to “Bodies” by Drowning Pool when my dad and step-mom were divorcing.

The start of my teenage life was rocky. With the divorce came a new girlfriend for my dad, a new house and new high school where I couldn’t join any extracurriculars or sports since the time had passed to join. There were so many changes coming at once, and I had no friends who understood. But the artists that I listened to did. I believed Simple Plan when they sang the lyrics, “I’m just a kid and life is a nightmare” from their 2002 album, “No Pads, No Helmets… Just Balls”.

Punk bands and alternative rockers shared their understanding of the millennial teen, which clearly resonated with not just myself, but others, as many of their singles made it onto the Silver Screen and home screens with a targeted teen and young adult audience.

Our Lady of Peace had multiple songs in both television and movies. “Clumsy”, “Tomorrow Never Knows” and “Starseed” are all favorite songs featured in three of my favorite movies, I Know What You Did Last Summer, The Craft and Armageddon.

Semisonic’s “Closing Time” rocketed to the top of the charts after being in American Pie, and it is song any bar-goer hears to-this-day at last call. I know I felt like I had accomplished a rite of passage my first time hearing it on my 21st birthday at a club.

My 21st birthday was spent with my then fiancé now husband. I fell in love with him after he taught me how to drive on the interstate. Our IPod Nanos didn’t yet have connectivity to our car, so I made a lot of mixed cds (sorry for using Limewire). As he guided me down Interstate 95 in Florida we listened to one of those illegally downloaded songs, “Kiss Me” by Sixpence None the Richer. Later that night he did kiss me.

Since that night we have watched endless entertainment highlighting some of our favorite songs. Adam Sandler, in the Wedding Singer gave us his own song, “Grow Old with You”, as well as featured the Cranberries’, “Linger” in the film Click. He isn’t a fan of dancing in public, but when we saw Armageddon together we both knew “I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing” by Aerosmith would be our first dance. Now it doesn’t matter where we are, it’s our song, and he will grab me to dance whether it’s in our kitchen or at an event.

I am now 35, but I know I am not done growing. Everyday is a new experience with new lessons, and songs like I’ve mentioned continue to help me through the challenges and daily life. My playlist is constantly being updated, but I admit my “Soundtrack of a Millennial” will always be my go-to when I need a pick-me-up, a laugh, or a good cry.

*Playlist is not limited to the just the songs discussed here* Enjoy!

listpop cultureplaylisthumanityhistorydancecelebritiesbandsalternative90s music
Like

About the Creator

Nikki Torino Wagner

I know stories. After getting suspended for peddaling my own magazine, in grade school, I started contributing to the local paper's weekly column. In college, I co-edited, and won several awards, for our paper and literary magazine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.