Beat logo

A Guilty Pleasures Playlist

I Do Not Think You Should Be Guily About Pleasure

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 12 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
13
A Barbara Streisand Album Cover

Introduction

I am listening to the album "Collaborations Don't Work" by FFS. You see FFS and think, or well I do, "For F*cks Sake" but this is a Franz Ferdinand / Sparks collaboration and very good it is too while I think being steered by the Mael Brothers with the excellent angular sound of Franz Ferdinand I do love it.

I got this as part of a Rough Trade subscription that my friends got me when I left EE and each month they sent an album with an "extra".

The extra was a one-track mix of tracks chosen by the bands, and the opening song made me think of the term "Guilty Pleasure", which is usually applied to songs that are generally seen as cheesy or fluff. The mix CD is called "Collaborations Do Work" and is full of great songs.

My belief is that if music gives you pleasure then it is good, so lets get going and pleasure ourselves, and I don't feel guilty about this.

Man 2 Man Meet Man Parrish - "Male Stripper" (1987)

This is the song that kicked off this playlist and I love it. They were an American Hi-NRG band from New York City, that formed in the early 1980s. They were best known for their hit singles this one, "Energy Is Eurobeat" and "I Need a Man".

Village People - "Sleazy"

"Male Stripper" reminded me of my favourite Village People song. I always liked the Village People, great fun, entertaining, gay icons, and this still sounds as good today.

Dollar - "Hand Held In Black And White"

David Van Day and Canadian-born Thereza Bazar were Dollar. They were successful in the late 1970s and 1980s, achieving ten UK top-40 singles, "Love's Gotta Hold on Me" (1979), "I Wanna Hold Your Hand" (1979), "Mirror Mirror" (1981), "Give Me Back My Heart" (1982) and "O L'amour" (1987).

For some reason, I thought they were a Bucks Fizz spin-off, so the fact that I liked their music during Punk and Goth did not sit well with many of my friends. I also included the extended version. Thes song was a Trevor Horn production so very eighties, but I like it.

Gina G - (Ooh Aah) Just A Little Bit

Gina G is an Australian singer who represented the United Kingdom at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1996, with the song "Ooh Aah... Just a Little Bit", which reached No. 1 0n the UK Singles Chart.

The song also reached the US Top 20 in 1997 and earned her a 1998 Grammy Award nomination for Best Dance Recording.

It came eighth in Eurovision and is appropriate for today as the Ukraine Eurovision is happening in Liverpool tonight.

Hanson - "MMMBop"

Yeah, they were the "Children of the Corn" but this is incredibly catchy and I do not feel a single ounce of guilt for sharing this with you. They are still excellent even though they have grown up.

The Osmonds - "Crazy Horses"

Can this be considered a guilty pleasure? Yes, it's the Mormon rivals to the Jackson Five and is very close to heavy metal with that scream synth intro and heavy riff.

The Sensational Alex Harvey Band debuted at the Donington Rock Festival and opened their set in front of a crowd of metal heads with this song. That impressed me.

Rupert Holmes - Escape (The Piña Colada Song)

I will close with this. I really think the lyrics are atrocious but I love the music so if it comes on the radio I never skip it, I am happy to leave it on.

I really hope that I have not scared you too much with these revelations.

Discussion of this Playlist with Steffen 39 minutes in here

pop culturesong reviewsplaylistcelebritiesbands90s music80s music70s music
13

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Good list, Mike.

  • Lots of fun.

  • Miracle12 months ago

    Wow great one

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    Some fun songs in there Mike! Certainly nothing wrong with ‘guilty pleasures’. 😊 🎶

  • Abby Kay Mendonca12 months ago

    Big fan of Just a Little Bit! And a couple of others as well

  • J. R. Lowe12 months ago

    Love your selection of music for this one - a pleasure playlist indeed. Such a great era of music :)

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Mike, this is such a creative idea! I might have to steal it, but I will be sure to credit you and link to your story if I do. I agree, we shouldn’t feel guilty about what brings us pleasure. My list wouldn’t have cheesy, feel-good, pop songs though. My guilty pleasures are always songs with explicit lyrics, which I try to listen to in moderation, and never around my son. ☺️

  • Ooh, Great Playlist😉📝

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    This playlist remind of Magic Mike only the 70 ‘s version of it . The Village People takes the cake . 👌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.