Beat logo

5 Songs #3

5 More...More

By Z-ManPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

LET'S RECAP (for mine and your sakes):

Here's the list I laid out almost a month ago for this next article:

1) Mark Ryder's "Up There (The Unnamable)" from the soundtrack to The Unnamable

2) Paul Saxx's "Red Harvest Comes" (Versions #1 and #2) from the soundtrack to Jack's Back

3) David Lee Roth's "Goin' Crazy" from Eat 'Em And Smile

4) Re-Flex's "Sensitive" from The Politics Of Dancing

5) ANOTHER SURPRISE TRACK (Give me a break, will ya? I'm not a robot, you know. *cough* "Rap Machine".)(Whodini.)(It's like magic!)(R.I.P. John "Ecstasy" Fletcher. :( )

I intend to honor this list, albeit with a completely new surprise trick (wasn't it always?).

Enjoy! Let me know what you think about this experiment so far.

First Up: "Up There (The Unnamable)" by Mark Ryder

Of course, it would be an even more intrinsic and organic improvement if I had watched "The Unnamable" again right before starting this, but we can't have everything, now, can we??? Lol.

Having read "The Dream-Quest Of Unknown Kadath" before seeing this movie, the theme song really sent me into an ethereal journey of concept when I considered at as the theme of the story--as if the sound were the allusion to the buffer that existed between his story and mine (ours).

The movie itself I can't entirely say that I fell in love with (as compared, in many ways, to the next theme song on this list).

Overall, the double-entendres (or further) of this song brought me to hear the lyrics in a new way. After all, our experience is not necessarily explicity what is coming out of our headphones, is it?

All in all, really, a beautiful song.

But the song finished before these last five lines, so I'll stop it here for times sake.

Next Up: "Red Harvest Comes" by Paul Saax, #1

Wow. What an experience these were for me, singularly and after first hearing them in the film. In this case, I would HIGHLY recommend seeing the film to experience them for yourself, and then hearing them alone!

Like many 80s music songs, I've found, they seem to turn in-story concepts and themes into overarching and global ideas. By that I mean, they turn "humble" character heroes into heroes of an epic, perhaps "otherworldly" level.

SUPRISE TRACK: "The Darkest Side of the Night" by Metropolis, from "Friday The 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan"

Well, this just started playing automatically, so let's get to it!!

Yes, as I saw in one of the video comments, this sounds so 80s it is ridiculous (in a good way, of course). This, along with "I'm No Animal", are two prime examples of epic songs that you would find where you least expected them. However, while I'm not sure what the real story behind "Animal" is, this song is extremely epic. It calls to mind deeper concepts than may appear on the surface.

God, I love 80s music.

Now...back to the music:

"Red Harvest Comes" by Paul Saax, #2

Continuing on from where I left off with the first track, this track starts off which such a lovely paced piano/keyboard bit. So very powerful.

!!!!! Now for the spoilers... !!!!!

The movie was originally intended to be called "Red Rain", I would suppose explicitly because the director, Rowdy Herrington, wanted to use the song by Peter Gabriel. While that song in itself was quite powerful, I personally am glad they couldn't get the rights to use it, and instead had Paul Saax create these touching tunes.

Again, where as the movies were about characters in film-reality situations, the themes were more explicitly chock full of metaphors. In that way, the companion pieces were ironically disparate, creating a canvas that the 80s--in my experience--really called its own.

NEXT TRACK (TO SKIP FOR NOW)(LOL): "But Not Tonight" by Depeche Mode

Next Track: "Goin' Crazy" by David Lee Roth

While I prefer his second solo album, "Skyscraper", due to its synth-heavy aesthetic, there are cool songs on this one, like this track and "Big Trouble".

For me, the three-note piece in the chorus really touched me. I associated it with my Nana's house, as I was looking at it when I was listening to it at one point. It was one of those songs that really resonated on me on a more ethereal level, bringing my mind somewhere so far as to disallow me from quantifying it. And isn't that what music really has a flair for?

NEXT TRACK (TO SKIP FOR NOW): "I'm In Touch With Your World" by The Cars

AND FINALLY: "Sensitive" by Re-Flex

Again...EPIC intro.

This track is one of those that really stirs my heart to memory and appreciation for all of those around me, and for the void that one day shall tear us, bodily, apart.

I wish it were otherwise--I know.

I always love discovering track off the beaten track of general knowledge and conception. Radio has really missed the mark of the heart...but it's not its fault.

That was one of my allures of buying CDs. There are countless treasures out there, just waiting to be found.

And, if you hand stuff like this down, then you can enrich the life of another so much, I think. It is not only your legacy, but potentially their's. At the very least, it may bring their heart in an unexpected direction.

What can I say: I'm sensitive, aren't I? \m/, <3 B']

80s music
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.