Beat logo

10 Disney Songs for Nostalgia

When you're in the mood for some good old fashioned Disney Magic

By Tone BreistrandPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2
Disney's Aladdin (1992)

I think most people who grew up with Disney can have feelings of joy provoked when listening to certain songs. Music does a great job taking us back to places of happiness, and this is especially true for songs that hold the power of Disney Magic. Here are ten nostalgic Disney songs that I hope will make you smile today.

"Friend Like Me" - "Aladdin"

We're starting off the list with one of the most iconic Disney performances. If you're a 90's kid who likes to stand out, maybe it was Genie that inspired some of that courage and confidence? I love when we are gifted characters that show us that there's absolutely nothing wrong with being quirky, flamboyant, elegant, having a big personality and most of all, being yourself to the fullest. And this song does a great job of projecting that.

"Son of Man" - "Tarzan"

Most 90's kids probably have some sort of love for Tarzan, both from the movies and the games. The soundtrack from the movie is one of my absolute favorite ones that Disney has produced, and it's the only one that I love equally in both English and Norwegian (my native language). This song is extremely easy to enjoy, as well as containing references to growing up that we can probably all relate to, and maybe even take something away from.

"Bare Necessities" - "The Jungle Book"

Another absolute classic. This song about taking it easy, going with the flow and enjoying whatever goods life offers you, has really stuck and can often be heard playing or quoted. Even though Baloo might be a little too carefree, he's right that we should focus only on what's actually important, and worry less about the other stuff.

"Cruella De Vil" - "101 Dalmatians"

I can't get enough of Disney's 101 Dalmatians. Something about this movie simply brings me a whole bag of comfort and satisfaction. I think it's a combination of the number of dogs present, the lovely animation style and the jazzy music. This song is not only super catchy and fun to sing along to, but it's an entertaining scene as Roger sings it right under her nose. I think we can all relate to having to put up with people we really don't like, and I'd love to handle it like this.

"Bibbidi-Bobbidi-Boo" - "Cinderella"

Another huge childhood movie is "Cinderella". Even though a lot of the words in this song are made up, I still know them all and will sing along if I get the chance, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. Unfortunately we don't have fairy godmothers who will come and rescue us with magic, but we can let it motivate us to be our own saviours. Watching the different objects and animals be turned into everything Cinderella needs is one piece of Disney magic I'll always enjoy, regardless of my age.

"When You Wish Upon a Star" - "Pinocchio"

I mean, this is THE Disney song. I doubt that in 1940 when this movie was released, Walt Disney and his team knew how much this song would continue to be used in the future. It has a reassuring and comforting tone in how it describes the stars looking out for us, and the pure nostalgia really makes me feel at peace when this song is playing.

"Heigh Ho" -"Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs"

This might be the Disney movie I have the most memory of watching in my childhood. It's obviously a very memorable movie, as it has a lot of different elements to it. It's funny, scary, emotional and quirky, it really has it all. This song just gives me a homely feeling of being content with your life. The dwarfs don't even know why they're digging up gems, but they're clearly all happy with their job.

"Oo De Lally" - "Robin Hood"

Who else thought Robin Hood was the coolest badass out there as a kid? I guess if I'm honest I still feel that way. I just think everyone should be more like him. He risks his life all the time to help other people get by, and constantly has the prince's people chasing him. And still, just like this story tells us about, he takes life easy and enjoys all the small moments of cheer and happiness.

"Little April Showers" - "Bambi"

Bambi is an iconic childhood movie. I still remember watching it for the first time, and how the different parts of the story made me feel. I experienced sadness, awe, suspense, joy, and of course, I was twitterpated. Personally I feel that this song is underrated, as it's an important element for setting the mood for the movie. It's also rare to hear a capella-like songs in Disney movies. Although Bambi and his mom are taking cover from the rain, the song adds comfort in the message that we're all just out in nature together co-existing.

"Theme Song" - "The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh"

This song gives proper retro Disney vibes, and really makes my heart feel happy and reassured that these friends can be so content with their existence in The Hundred Acre Wood. It's a pretty good intro song in how it introduces the characters in a fun way, at the same time as being catchy and great sing-along material.

I hope this list brought up some feelings of nostalgia for you! These songs definitely do that for me, as they take me back to the 90's when I was watching the movies for the first time as a child. I'm so happy the songs can continue to bring me joy as an adult, and it's something I treasure and will always come back to.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you enjoyed this article, please share it on your social media and send it to someone you think will like it too!

If you enjoyed this article and would like to support me, you can send me a tip below this story, which would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much for your support!

vintage
2

About the Creator

Tone Breistrand

Hi there! I am a Norwegian writer living in London. I like to write about love, Disney and finding happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.