Beat logo

1 in 3000

My appreciation for an under appreciated artist.

By Sani BelievesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
"Shake that load off, shake that load off."

Reminiscing on the days when I was young and couldn't even understand the coded mastery presented in the music from such a celestial pair, I welcome nostalgia. Being from the west side I had a specific idea of how music sounded. Accustomed to what I was used to I had to learn the different styles and various forms of creativity expressed in art across the country. Black creativity was not new to me. Coming from the west side the household names were N.W.A., Tupac, Too $hort, Nate Dogg, and im sure you can picture the rest. So, that introduction to the alternative soul represented in the rhymes of Outkast and Andre 3000 himself has changed my life forever.

Stuck choosing between the hypnotic melodies and the mind blowing verses Andre 3000 had an elegant way of expressing himself on the beat. Influencing to the point i've began to pursue an artistic career as well. Something about the somehow softly grimey-classy hood, muse of words cultivated in the magic of 3000's mind brings me a sense of existential beauty. Not only found in the lyrics but the voice of this, in my opinion, musical prodigy. "We aint just funkin around," as he reminds the world in the song "Funkin Around," by Outkast. Even the unforgettable moment that undeniably came true at the 1995 source awards in which Andre Benjamin stated, "The South got something to say!"

Until I stepped into my journey as an artist, I failed to understand the intensity of the emotion and integrity behind those few words. Not only did he receive spite and backlash for the statement- it was already overshadowed by the more mainstream phrases like those of N.W.A. as I mentioned earlier. This was something I never understood. Andre Benjamin made music for people growing up like me that didn't share the world's common interest. Those who found peace in ethereal beats and synchronized poems that captivate the hard times many of us experienced growing up as a person of color and someone who overall just does not fit in.

It wasnt until I was older that I heard the encrypted messages coating the existence of Andre 3000 himself. The overall too familiar concept of being misunderstood, unheard, and even unnoticed in the spotlight. That unwarranted insecurity and selfless concept of comparing yourself to your partner manifested into my life and I understood. Not only was Outkast engraved in my life with their music but, mainly the inspiration that pressed the souls of the mistaken. The fact that their was someone who not only looked like me but felt, dressed, and expressed like me. I will forever be grateful that Andre and Big Boi graced the world with their brilliant minds and voices.

To be "Outkasted" by the color of your skin and then to come back and be disregarded for not representing the stereotype of your skin color to still prevail is simply amazing. Andre and Big Boi managed to put haters and non believers to shame with quotes such as, "We alive but we ain't living, that's why im givin' until it's gone," and "...can't worry 'bout what another - think, now thats liberation and baby I want it." The conflict introduced in each song concluded with seemingly perfect solutions was what sold me on the greatness of Andre 3000 and his twin flame Big Boi.

Regardless of personal conflict and perfectionism Andre Benjamin and his words will always remain godly in my eyes. Again, I am forever grateful to exist in the same time period of such black excellence and the success of black business.

bands
Like

About the Creator

Sani Believes

Usually disguised under my stage name RIP SAV, I’m here to express my writing beyond my platform. Beyond the beats and beyond the music just my stories raw like it’s unsafe. Allowing you to see my point of view just like I do :). Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.