Art logo

Word Art

How many people recognize writing as an art?

By Cezanne LibellenPublished about a year ago 3 min read
4
Word Art
Photo by Europeana on Unsplash

That's right. You, writers, are ARTISTS!!

Art is defined as, "the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, typically in a visual form such as painting or sculpture, producing works to be appreciated primarily for their beauty or emotional power."

That means that writing is an ART!!

We are using our creative skills when we write. We have to know how to word things to make it sound good. This takes talent. We use our unique voice to make our writing beautiful in its own way.

We are definitely using our imagination when we write. We have to imagine the characters, invent a world, brainstorm a plot, and so much more!

And we do put emotions into our works, thus they have emotional power. That's awesome!

And writing can be beautiful, no matter how ridiculous it sounds. Anne of Green Gables is a perfect example of this. Some people can't handle it and say, "Uuuugh, the prose is so stuffy!!" But I love it!! It paints this beautiful picture and sends literal shivers down my spine.

Some of the less confident writers may be embarrassed. "I don't do any of this very well. Well, that's okay!! Art takes practice to get good at. I started writing when I was seven or eight, and through years of practice, I have improved so much. My mom and second-grade teacher encouraged me to develop my writing talents, and when I was nine I absolutely fell in love with writing.

And when I was nine, my prose still sucked.

But that's okay. I'm fifteen now and despite roughly eight years of practice, I still sometimes feel insecure about my writing.

And if writing were something like math, then everyone would just follow a formula and no one would feel insecure about it.

Um, kind of. I guess I suck at math, so I would still be insecure about it.

Let me know in the comments if you would too.

But writing isn't just this magical thing that you try to do once and then you're suddenly a master. No!! It takes years of practice until you are remotely good at it and you will still have doubts about your writing.

Just like a painter does about his paintings.

Just like a singer does about her voice.

Just like an actor does about getting on stage.

Just like any artist feels about her artwork.

Another thing to keep in mind is writing is kind of a skill that you have or don't have, just like all the other arts are. Singers have to be born with a good voice. Actors have to be born with a dramatic sense and a natural talent for expressing their feelings. Painters have to have a knack with paintbrushes. Illustrators have to know how to wield a pencil. Sculptors are born with the ability to mold shapes.

Some people I know have been able to draw after being rubbish at it for years, but most of the people I know who draw are kind of born with the ability.

Likewise, if you aren't good with wordplay right now, you might improve through practice, especially if you start at a young age.

And remember- writing is ART, and there is no such thing as "universally bad" art. You can't write something that everyone will love, nor something everyone will hate. More people may hate it than people who love it, or vice versa, but we have to remember to pull the weeds out and let the roses grow.

---

Thank you guys for reading!! Please let me know in the comments whether you agree- is writing an art? Be sure to like, subscribe, share, and leave insights. It always helps to know what you like to see!

GeneralJourneyInspiration
4

About the Creator

Cezanne Libellen

I am an ailurophile, xocolatophile, linguaphile, lexophile, and a bibliophile. Writing is my passion. I am currently working on a novel. Subscribe and share my stories if you want to see more of my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Did you say you are fifteen? There is so much truth in your words, like everything else, writing takes practice. I dread going back to when I first started writing here. But I got better and I just write because it makes me happy.

  • T. Eugene Williamsabout a year ago

    I agree with you on that writing is art.

  • Ian Readabout a year ago

    Wait, me, an artist? *Thinks about existential dread for a moment* Yep, spot on...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.