Art logo

"Unlocking the Untold Stories: Taylor Swift's 'Speak Now (Taylor's Version)' Unleashes a Flood of Raw Emotion for Adult Listeners"

Happy 'Speak Now' day to fellow Swiftie's! Taylor Swift has dropped 'Speak Now (Taylor's Versions) a re-release of her 2010 album, giving fans six new songs, featuring special guests

By FRESHER OFF CAMPUS JOBSPublished 10 months ago 5 min read
Like

Whether you like Taylor Swift or not, you have to respect her hard ethic.

The 33-year-old diva has been releasing new songs nonstop for years while also re-recording her classic early albums into "Taylor's Versions" so she may reclaim ownership.

In addition to her Midnights album and her sold-out Eras tour, which will visit the UK the following year (I'm praying I can get tickets), she is currently entertaining millions of people throughout the world with this.

Taylor Swift's 'Speak Now (Taylor's Version),' a re-release of her breakthrough album Speak Now, which has sold more than 12 million copies, marks the return of the hardest-working female in music.

Following "Fearless (Taylor's Version)" and "Red (Taylor's Version), it is the latest in Taylor's series of re-recordings. While the others have meant a lot to fellow Swifties, Speak Now is just a little bit more special.

Speak Already, which was first made available in 2010 as Taylor's third studio album, has already been re-released three times.

Taylor said of the re-release: "The songs that came from this time in my life were marked by their brutal honesty, unfiltered diaristic confessions, and wild wistfulness." The original was composed when Taylor was between the ages of 18 and 20.

Some of Taylor's best-written compositions, such as "Enchanted," "Dear John," and "Better Than Revenge," are included in fresh arrangements on this album.

Additionally, she has added two songs from the deluxe edition, "Ours" and "Superman," as well as six brand-new songs from the vault, including "Electric Touch" with Fall Out Boy and "Castles Crumbling" with Hayley Williams of Paramore, who will also be Taylor's support act on her UK and European tour.

When I listen to the album now, 30 years later, it affects me differently, takes on a more emotional tone, and envelops me in a warm hug, taking me back to that nostalgic time when I was 17 years old.

Since we don't have favorites because they are all the best, my fellow Swifties will all have that one song or album that jumps out from the others.

When Speak Now initially came out, I was a teenager, so I enjoyed the pop it provided. I was constantly dancing to the song "Mean," laughing when my younger brother was being cruel, and singing "The Story of Us" a little too loudly.

I find that I play other songs first when I listen to the new version since I can understand the lyrics better.

You really do feel like you've been on this journey with Taylor because to the album's subtle adjustments in production, delivery, and annunciation; you have indeed seen her mature as you were maturing as well.

The vocals and harmonies on the song "Mean" adopt a somewhat softer tone, and "The Story of Us" maintains the same joyful tone but adds a bit more indie edge.

The line "She's better known for the things that she does on the mattress" was modified by Taylor to "He was a moth to the flame, she was holding the matches."

Some felt the original line had not dated well and fans have been wondering whether or not it was going to change.

With Taylor's feminist credentials as an adult, she has often spoken out about how women's dating lives, including her own, shouldn't be judged by anyone, so this change feels right.

'Never Grow Up' sounds like a track straight out of her Folklore era, and Swift’s growth as a vocalist after all these years is certainly evident on this song.

This time around, 'Never Grow Up' has heightened my emotions, and is especially hard for me.

Each time I play it, it evokes different feelings. It reminds of my relationship with my mother, who passed away from pancreatic cancer on March, 19, 2021.

As a teenager my relationship with my mother was turbulent at times but overall joyful, and loving.

I grew up and learnt the true meaning of a mother, I appreciated everything she did for me, I became grateful more than ever before and the story presented in 'Never Grow Up' reminds me of that - it's a song I probably would have skipped at 17-years-old.

Play it again and it provokes feelings of happiness, reminding me of the birth of my niece, Jessica, who is now nearly two-years-old, and the joy she brings to our family.

Taylor's vocals on this newer version evoke age and experience but still beauty, and embrace me like my mother's hug that I won't ever get.

Another favourite artist of mine features on the album, front singer of Paramore, Hayley Williams.

Hayley has performed with Taylor plenty of times, with more performances to come now they are touring together, but this is the first time they have appeared together on a record.

The results of 'Castles Crumbling' are magnificent. Both vocalists have their space to shine and neither voice feels competing with one another. Hayley delivers impassioned vocals which matches Taylor's perfectly - they sound beautiful together and I can tell this is going to be one of my most played.

The closing duo of ballads on 'Speak Now (Taylor's Version), 'Foolish One' and 'Timeless' represent the honesty that has helped define Taylor as an artist at that point in her career.

'Speak Now' always held a special place in my young teenage heart, and now 'Taylor's Version' helps me understand my emotions as a woman.

It's a beloved record that us Swifties hold dear for different reasons - but this version isn't about reinvention, but honouring the original work and how far Swift has come.

We should be proud of Taylor, and ourselves. Having pride, is better than revenge. You can buy the album here.

Every single song that features on 'Speak Now (Taylor's Version)' was written solely by Taylor herself - here's the track list:

  1. Mine
  2. Sparks Fly
  3. Back To December
  4. Speak Now
  5. Dear John
  6. Mean
  7. The Story of Us
  8. Never Grow Up
  9. Enchanted
  10. Better Than Revenge
  11. Innocent
  12. Haunted
  13. Last Kiss
  14. Long Live
  15. Ours
  16. Superman
  17. Electric Touch (ft. Fall Out Boy)
  18. When Emma Falls In Love
  19. I Can See You
  20. Castles Crumbling (ft. Hayley Williams)
  21. Foolish One
  22. Timeless

IllustrationTechniquesMixed MediaJourneyInspirationHistoryFine ArtFictionExhibition
Like

About the Creator

FRESHER OFF CAMPUS JOBS

WhatsApp Group Link :

https://chat.whatsapp.com/F7HDgVA9GPlBmpbRV5EX2o

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.