Art logo

Street Art

Painted on the streets of Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Graffiti Art...Presented by Milos Hajder

I have always had a fascination for Graffiti Art.

Most of these incredible masterpieces are done anonymously, or with indecipherable signatures scrawled across the magnificent artistic renderings.

I found this piece on Unsplash, featured under "Graffiti Art", and the photograph taken by Milos Hajder. I applaud this gentleman's keen and professional eye for beauty. I wish with all my heart that I knew the name of the artist. I would be honored to put the name up in lights.

I would tell you that you painted a perfect African Queen. A proud queen I see as representing everything I would wish to be, had I been born as her. Her eyes burn with intelligence and passion, her nose flairs with determination, and her mouth pouts with feisty wisdom. She dares anyone to test her mettle.

Within the beautifully haunting face of this woman, I am transported back to my African heritage, back across the centuries to my brothers and sisters in chains. The ropes upon the portrait weep for the blood of my people, shed so that I am now free to express the profound words; that their sacrifice was not in vain.

The beads, emblems and totems represent the many tribes embroiled and twisted into lies, betrayal and conspiracy which led to the suffering of our own people. She wears them proudly. She celebrates liberation and a continuation of the struggle for the unification of the world into one people.

Each ring of her necklace represents our victories as the years roll by. They shall continue to multiply with each hurdle that we overcome.

In her eyes I see and feel the combined suffering of my people then, and the continuous fight now to be accepted the way Martin Luther King Jr. argued unto death for us all to be accepted.

I still have a dream, a dream deeply rooted in the American dream – one day this nation will rise up and live up to its creed, "We hold these truths to be self evident: that all men are created equal." I have a dream ...

—Martin Luther King Jr. (1963).

The cracks in the wall teach of the vulnerabilities of our delicate lives, and the struggles we will endure to be able to mend all those broken pieces. In this healing, they all may become whole again. Within the healing of those cracks, lies the in-depth and soul wrenching pains, agonies, triumphs, joy, disappointments and struggles for each one of us to become complete. Our wholesomeness, therefore, will in turn break down those fences around us, as it would, in turn, mend the broken walls.

Still her eyes haunt me. They follow me, reaching down deep within my psyche, seeking for that which I do not wish to disclose. The eyes bring back all the pain of a life filled with mistakes and victories, which they dare me to bare. So, I break down in tears and bare my soul to the haunting magic of the eyes. I hear her voice from across time, telling me that I should arise from my despair. You are free, she gently admonishes.

Arise, she breathes into the cleansed gentle windblown air. You are free my child, nevermore may your eyes be downcast, or your heart be heavy.

You are free!

The colors speak of the many changes which our existence decrees as we traverse along this wonderful journey of life. Different colors for every moment, opportunity or choice an individual chooses as their Chi or Zen expressions.

The modern' buildingscape' above the mural brings a duality of the past and the future merged into one dreamscape and landscape. Both are forever intertwined.

Finally, the green trees sprouting in the seeming absence of soil, signals great hope and prosperity for a fading world.

Above it all, the blue sky beckons a new day into existence.

All is well!

.........................................................

PaintingInspirationIllustration

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    gorgeous work Novel! I love the beauty & intensity of the artwork too!

  • Wow! I loved how you explained the symbolic meaning of everything in that art! If you didn't mention ot was graffiti, I wouldn't have known. It seems so professional!

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Daahlink 'N' WhereUBin? Only you would come up with something like this...Whew always look forward to your NoveList Next; fer sure! Giving UP: In L.A. 'Leaders' (er, so to speak) were so tired of painting over graffiti that they've currently decided to frame and feature them in our tourist guide along with the 'Hollyweird' Walk of Fame - I totally Sh*t you Not N-BuD - J-BuD

  • That is a beautiful review of the art, and your words are like an underpainting to meaning and value.

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.