Art logo

Salsa

Made in New York

By The Vibe Podcast Published 10 months ago 3 min read
1
Fania All Stars

My cultural studies have brought me to the migration from the Islands to the States. I am quite concerned actually, there is a major cultural clash amongst my own people. In continuing my studies, I am happy to share what I learn along the way. One of my wishes is that music and the arts be put back in our schools... for now I write.

Have you ever been inspired? Have you ever thought of yourself as an inspiration to others?

What inspires you?

Music inspires me, words inspire me, and people intrigue me.

One of the greatest things to happen during the migration to the States was the creation of Salsa music!

Very much like my beautiful blend of Arawak, African and Spaniard; Salsa is a beautiful blend... or Sauce.

Salsa means Sauce in English.

If you listen to Salsa music you can hear Africa in the drums, you can hear the jazzy notes and keys also swing like fashion which was popular during the 60's.

As many times as I have seen the movie; El Cantante, I do wonder what inspired Johnny Pacheco to create this beautiful style of music.

How did he gather all these amazing people?

Great minds like Celia Cruz from Cuba, Ruben Blades from Panama, Hector Lavoe from Puerto Rico and Willie Colon from The Bronx NY?

Epic piece of history!

Johnny Pacheco is originally from the Dominican Republic, but Salsa was created in the Bronx, New York.

Johnny Pacheco

As a music lover this is epic for me to share, as a New Yorker... I say damned right! Years later Rap music would be created in the Bronx as well.

I am inspired knowing amazing history came out of the gutter, as a writer this is a beautiful story I wish to see on the big screen.

Diamond in the rough... beauty in the hood... yes indeed!

They say if you can make it in New York, you can make it anywhere... this is why many migrate to New York... money... fast and a lot of it.

This is why a 17-year-old Hector Lavoe would move to New York, and he made it big but just as big as he made it... he lost it...and this is where I am stuck on my cultural studies... what happened during the migration.

I choose to focus on the good, like the beautiful music Fania All Stars created... how much fun that must have been?

Hector Lavoe

Hector Lavoe is the famous singer of the song- El Cantante which was written for him by Ruben Blades.

What an honor to be an inspiration for others. Sadly, El Cantante's life would end tragically due to drug usage and eventually dying of Aids.... Hector Lavoe knew how to make everyone else happy except himself.

Lots of tragedies since the migration to the states but I choose to remember the good.

"Nadie pregunta si sufro si lloro" Lyric to the song; El Cantante

We live in a world where we tell others not to judge but we consistently judge each other?

We assume someone is good, because they look good.

We don't care to ask how someone is doing and genuinely care about how the next man is doing? this is exactly what I love about music and inspiration.

I love how Hector Lavoe inspired Ruben Blades to write such an amazing song.

Fania All Stars would create beautiful music and travel the world from the late 60's to present!

I am grateful for such talent and knowing this derived from the Bronx, NY keeps me motivated and inspired.

What inspires you?

Never doubt yourself, someone is always watching, and you may be an inspiration without even knowing.

Regardless of your circumstances, always put your best foot forward.

InspirationMixed MediaHistoryCritique
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.