Art logo

My Tablet Art

Just Some Random Thought On Why I Do This And Other Ramblings

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
10
TabletArt Using "The Endless" by The Cities We Light

Introduction

These are just some ramblings about the things I do. Most humans desire some form of routine, even if it is just getting up in a morning and going to bed at night.

This is mainly about the Tablet Art that I post on Facebook and Instagram, and my Instagram page is here.

One of the reasons I post things like this is to give people ideas and to hopefully inspire them.

One of the other things is that there are three Vocal Challenges running at the moment, the "Unspoken" one which I have entered about five times, the "Nourish" one which I feel is beyond my capabilities, and the "Under A Spell" challenge which was unsure of, but now I have the bones of it laid out.

I really do not like doing the same things over and over, although some might say that writing is about doing the same thing over and over. So I try not to follow a poem with a poem, or a challenge entry with a challenge entry, and so I produce something like this.

Why Tablet Art or #TabletArt

As most of you know I have loads of things wrong with me but thanks to the care that I get from the National Health Service I am still here. I am sometimes horrified by the situation across the pond where sick people are just seen as cash cows for Medical insurance charlatans.

I inject myself four times a day and take thirteen tablets. I once published a picture of my tablets and someone said that they looked like something so I thought maybe I could make something new each day and share it with people.

As the tablets are mostly for diabetes, blood pressure, and water retention I hashtag #diabetes, #diabetesawareness as well as #TabletArt. The problem with #TabletArt is there are a lot of others who use that tag so it is best to follow me on Instagram or Facebook to see what I do.

That is a signed copy of "The Broken Toys" by Bad Pollyanna and since I started working from home, I have a CD/DAB player next to my computer, then one day I thought why not try and fit the tablets on the cover of the CD that I have picked to listen to. Like the way I write, I try and listen to a different CD every day ( although I get through four or five each day), but on the first one, I try and fit the tablets in some shape without obscuring the CD cover.

When I was in Alnwick I had no CDs so just arranged them on a worktop. It is an interesting task to take a limited number of pieces and create something from it.

Is it art or just doodling?

I do like it and sometimes the combinations come out quite well, like with "Same Oul' Town" by The Saw Doctors.

I think for anything to be ART the artist just has to say it is ART. As long as it has an effect then it works.

As I write this I am listening to QE2 by Mike Oldfield, but one of my most played discs is "Voyage" by ABBA which has shocked me in its absolute excellence, and that has been subjected to the #TabletArt treatment.

Conclusion

This is part of my daily home routine. I get up and press my tablets out of their packing and arrange them on the cover of the first album of the day. Today was "Rio" a Mike Nesmith "Best Of", who knows what tomorrow will bring?

TechniquesProcessMixed MediaInspirationGeneralContemporary Art
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    What you're doing is definitely art! I love the pictures you post daily!

  • Naomi Gold7 months ago

    Ha, you’re so creative you can’t help yourself. I love your approach to life, and I’m glad modern medicine has kept you with us.

  • A fun & interesting way to approach an extremely tiresome routine, Mike.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Impressive!!! Loved your art & story!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.