Art logo

Goodbye Richard

An Image from Guy Peellaert's "20th Century Dreams". This is for the Vocal "Painted Prose" Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
6
Guy Peellaert - Nixon and the Angel from 20th Century Dreams

Introduction

You can never trust a politician. Some you can trust less than others. This is from a time when big money didn't own politicians as much. This is a work of fiction. It is inspired by a painting by Guy Peellaert from his book "20th Century Dreams" where Nixon is abandoned by the guardian angel he thought he had.

The synopsis of the book is below, and may make decide to go and track it down.

Guy Peellaert - 20th Century Dreams - Rear Cover

Goodbye Richard

How did it come to this?

I stayed true to my Quaker faith, I trusted in God and thought I had a guardian angel, but the angel didn't come from God, it lied to me.

It told me I could do what I want and it would always protect me and watch over me, but it used me, and it is still here watching me, and everyone has left the building, even Henry.

Just because I had backers when I stood with Ike, people badmouthed me. How could I mount a campaign without money? It wasn't illegal. I was in the right. I prayed for guidance and the voices told me what I was doing was right.

I know Kennedy beat me, but I waited, bided my time like I had been told and then eventually it came, I had reached the top and the Oval Office was mine. I really didn't expect to be there but I know it was my God-given right and I was chosen to be the most powerful being on this Earth, and when things came around again I was reelected and I knew God was surely on my side.

But there were those that were jealous of my success and they began to work against me, spreading devilish lies about me. They said I had lied and cheated and that was just not true.

Then they made tapes and said that I had authorised activities that were totally illegal. I would never do anything wrong, I am a God-fearing Quaker, but I hear my evil guardian angel sniggering at the back of the room.

It has changed into a lascivious female, trying to tempt me with sins of the flesh but my prayer will keep me safe, I am not tempted by that demonic devil.

The Angel told me they had planted the tapes and the evidence to destroy me and so they could laugh at my impeachment.

When I asked why, they said "Why Not"

I cannot believe that beings who should be serving God can be so spitefully petty. They built me up over twenty-five years just so they could destroy me, and God lets them get away with it. I thought that was the Devil's job. Though maybe this Angel was a Devil all along.

The police are here. When I tell them that the one in the black dress is to blame they give me a strange look, put handcuffs on me and say "Come on now Mr Nixon, It's been a long day"

I tell them that they should cuff the Angel or Devil or whatever it is but they tell me I am seeing things and I am the only one in the room.

"Now Mr Nixon, it is getting late, come on now"

The candles are burning low and are starting to go out, just like the light that shone on my Presidency.

Appendix

The Prompt

Write a story inspired by a work of art. Make the artwork your featured image and give credit to the artist in the caption.

You can read about the challenge fully here.

Contemporary ArtFiction
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer10 months ago

    Great story Nixon is an intriguing figure

  • It can't be wrong if I'm the one who's doing it. The solipsism of 1968/1972 reborn in orange in 2016-2021 & continuing on through today.

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    I never heard of this painting! What a plausible narrative you made from it

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Ooooh! That was a really cool way to do this challenge entry!! I love it! 👏👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.