Art logo

Going Through my Old Deviant Art Page

I am trying to hard not to cringe.

By Chloe GilholyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
This sketch of Meganium is one of my better drawings. The outline was done with leftover mascara and eyeliner.

I was g0ing through my old Deviant Art page. I joined the account When I was around 13-14. Gosh! Some of the old pictures are horrific, but also funny. Here’s an example of one of the horrors I created on the website. But as a kid, I used to thonk I was amazing, experimenting with softwares like MS Paint and GIMP (a cheapman’s version of Photoshop). This is meant to be an original character that I planned to make a story for, but I never ended up writing it in the end.

Name: Heidi

Age: 15

Gender: Female

Hair colour: Red

Background: Heidi was deeply bullied at school, she also heard her friends saying things behind her back. This caused Heidi to become quite anti-social and vow revenge on those who hurt her. Heidi believed that her parents where too busy and too concerned about her brothers, than her. When on walk to the beach with her elder brother, she finds a long and skiny stone and locket, which you should hopefully see. The stone, she found is able to give her power to control and act like God. However Heidi becomes dependant on the stone and she eventually turns into an evil witch without her awareness.

Despite a lot of the bad stuff, I did see some nuggets of gold that I couldn’t believe that I made. I am not good at drawing in general, but I do enjoy it. I loved art class. At school I didn’t know what I wanted to do. I loved anime, writing and music. Writing fan fiction on the internet was how I spent a lot of my free time outside of school. I was amazed at anime too and it was the gateway into art in general.

I have two diplomas in art & design. I got rejected from university, but I ended up taking a diffrent path where I didn’t need a degree. I was never talented or popular, but working hard and grinding, and taking my ideas where it lead me shaped me to the person I a today. This painting that I did at school is almost a still life painting with the addiction of the pink mascot. It’s Maromi from Paranoia Agent (Great show by the way). I think a lot of art teachers used to roll their eyes at anime at the time. I thought I was being clever sneaking it in at the time.

I was surprised at how much Ace Attorney stuff I made. It was a game that really kept me sane whilst going through teenage life and progressing to adulthood. I loved the characters and colourful cast and how each character had their own aggregated traits. Though I admit, if Godot was real, I would hate him right now, but as a teenager, I found him compelling. Fun fact: I hated coffee until I played the Ace Attorney Trilogy.

So many awesome characters to see. I can see the influence that Ace Attorney has had on many visual novels by indie publishers. The original trilogy has been rereleased several times and it’s had several successful spin-offs too. One of those characters from the spin-offs is Cammy Meele. She is an air flight attendant with a passion for bubbles.

The last piece I wanted to show is a small but simple collage that I did on my phone. It’s two pictures that I took during my first trip to Japan. My intension was to capture both the tranquil and the metropolitian side of Japan that I fell in love with. I always wanted to go to Japan as it promised so my things, and it did not disappoint.

Drawing

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Maromi!! ❤️ What a fun and awesome time capsule! Thank you for putting this together and sharing it. Wonderfully done! 💕

Chloe GilholyWritten by Chloe Gilholy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.