Art logo

Glass Box

Excerpt from "(dis)connection", by Matt Martin

By Matt MartinPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
Like
Glass Box
Photo by Majkl Velner on Unsplash

**NOTE: This is an excerpt from a play I wrote called (dis)connection. "Solitudo" is a representation of Matt's loneliness and isolation.**

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(Lights up on MATT, who finds a sheet on a wall at school. He stops. SOLITUDO is behind him.)

SOLITUDO : No, no – what do you think you’re doing? We just figured out magic and now you want to audition for a play? What, you trying to get in with the artsy crowd?

(MATT raises his arm to sign up but SOLITUDO stops him.)

SOLITUDO : You won’t be able to use your cards there. Please -

MATT (snapping) : Just stop.

SOLITUDO (aback) : …stop what?

MATT : Why do you always try to stop me? Do you not want me to be happy?

SOLITUDO : Of course I do, I just –

MATT : Then why can’t I write my name down, huh? What’s the worst that can happen?

SOLITUDO : You could end up making a fool of yourself.

MATT : No I won’t.

SOLITUDO : But you could. Or how about if you just fail? Huh? What then?

MATT : I mean –

SOLITUDO : When you did your magic before, nobody cared if you sucked or not. To them, you were just some little explorer, in some stupid hobby. You were a kid. But now, they expect you to be a visionary, a free thinker… someone who builds something great.

MATT : But I’m only a –

SOLITUDO : I’m trying to keep you safe.

MATT : From what?

SOLITUDO : From the real world. I want to protect you. To keep us safe and happy. Don’t you want that?

MATT : Yes, but I need to connect with people in order to do that.

SOLITUDO : You’re too much of an idealist.

MATT : And you’re too much of a know-it-all.

SOLITUDO : You need to figure this out.

MATT : I’m trying.

SOLITUDO : No you’re not! You’re diving blind!

MATT : I’m taking a chance!

SOLITUDO : You don’t know how people really are!

MATT : Well neither do you!

(Pause.)

SOLITUDO: You know…

being close to you

is like watching you

in a glass box.

Some careful craftsman

put you into this specific cage.

This cage where

I can see your pain,

but I cannot help you.

I can see you go insane,

but there’s nothing I can do.

I can put my hand on the glass,

tell you that I’m here,

and that I’m a seer

into your heart,

I can still whisper

“I am always here”

when you’re falling apart.

I can say it,

but somehow the box has dampened your hearing,

the glass has tinted your vision,

because you never see

that I mean it.

I’m forced to watch life

throw you against the glass,

and demand your feeling from you.

I hate seeing you give it up.

It robs you of your happiness,

vandalizes your smile,

and hands you a fake one in return,

and all I can do

is watch,

watch it all happen.

I cannot conjure any words,

I cannot commit any action,

I cannot conceive anything

that will save you,

I only pray you

get through it.

I wish

I could take your spot

in that glass box,

that clear hell,

I wish that

whenever life pins you down

and demands your happiness,

I could go on in and say

“This one’s on me”,

I wish that

I could conjure words of hope,

I wish that

I could help you cope,

I wish that

I could get you out,

shatter the walls,

let the fragments of depression

hit the floor,

so you soak in life

as it was meant to be absorbed.

But I can’t.

I can only be a supervisor.

So I continue to stare

into this glass box,

hoping one day,

I can break those locks.

----

For more, please follow my Instagram @_mattmar10, and consider leaving a LIKE, a COMMENT, or even a TIP if you really enjoyed it. If you'd like to support my content, please consider PLEDGING as well as this does help me create more. Thank you for reading <3

FictionContemporary Art
Like

About the Creator

Matt Martin

Canadian Playwright, Poet, and Performer.

Let's write our own happy ending.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.