Art logo

Blank Canvas

If I could paint 2024 a color, what color would it be?

By Ali SPPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
5
Blank Canvas
Photo by Justyn Warner on Unsplash

While scrolling through my Facebook feed a few years ago, an ad caught my attention. It was a vocal challenge about a little black book that intrigued me. I had never considered myself a writer, but something about that challenge compelled me to try. With only a few hours left before the deadline, I completed and submitted my first short story. At that moment, I realized I wanted to become a writer and improve my writing skills. There was more to me than my love for painting.

I soon found myself building relationships with many other creators, and the sense of community was indescribable. However, one can imagine the connection among peers as an abstract piece with vibrant colors and overlapping lines, working together to create a beautiful composition.

Unfortunately, my writing motivation dwindled until it no longer existed. Despite the feedback and support I received in previous years, I couldn't muster the inspiration needed to write. My canvas had turned monochromatic, with shadows of varying shades of gray.

By Josep Martins on Unsplash

I am still a member of many vocal Facebook groups, and the works of other writers, such as Cathy, Mike, Judey, Babs, and Mariann, have continued to impress me. I celebrated Lena's victory as a first-place winner in the vocal awards, as her writing is captivating and emotionally charged. Tiffany Gordon's poems never cease to amaze me. Her beautiful play on words always makes me smile or tug at my heartstrings. I am amazed by their remarkable work ethic in continuing to publish their stories.

Sometimes, I would log into Vocal and read the top stories or challenge winners, but I couldn't produce anything worth reading. My health had taken a turn for the worse, making it challenging to find the energy and inspiration needed to write. There were days when my eyelids drooped like lead weights, and my bones ached with weariness. My mind was foggy, and I felt like a failure. I had given up on some of the things that defined me.

By russn_fckr on Unsplash

Although I struggled to write last year, I'm determined to make 2024 different. I recently signed up as a Vocal+ member again and have published a few stories. My primary goal is to write and participate in as many challenges as possible, even if it's just once a month, to avoid becoming overwhelmed. Winning a challenge would be great, but the motivation to participate is strong enough. Challenges also force me to think outside the box; they educate me on different writing styles and expose me to different genres.

I want to return to writing fiction and improve my "show, don't tell" skills. I want to expand my writing beyond poetry and short stories. The Art community has already piqued my interest. A few years ago, I completed the first draft of my novel and would love to return to the editing stages.

I plan to engage with fellow creators soon, as I believe in the power of reciprocity. If I want others to read my work, I must be willing to do the same for them. I will begin by reading a few stories a week until it becomes a daily habit. I understand that I am my best when I feel my best. To be more supportive of my peers, I must first concentrate on caring for myself. I am grateful to those who continue to read my work.

My 2024 motto is to be active, doing as much as my body allows. I miss writing and am excited about making it a part of my life again. If I were to represent the impact I hope to have on the Vocal this year through a painting, it would mainly comprise bright colors. I want it to be visually striking and captivating enough to attract attention while evoking a sense of emotion in anyone who comes across it.

By Steve Johnson on Unsplash

JourneyPaintingInspiration
5

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    This is so gorgeous & inspiring Ali. Do what you can sweet friend. Your health comes first. I hope that you enter this into the 2024 aspirations challenge. it deserves to place! Welcome Back! Excited to see what new works that you create in 2024.

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Oh, I was so happy to see this in my notifications!! It's good to see you back. 💗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.