01 logo

It's the Thought that Counts

These are the planet friendly and frugal pressies I bought for my dad and son this year.

By Karen MadejPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Image Courtesy of Morgan Madej

These days, a gift that honours Mother Nature is my top priority. The next priority, as I live frugally, is the price. If you value these two important factors, I think you might enjoy the following choices.

I adore sites like Etsy, and AKT, and an app called Sweatcoin for special occasion purchases and bargains. I've already bought my dad a handmade, from reclaimed wood, hedgehog house from Etsy this year and some discounted new products via Sweatcoin.

The makers of the hedgehog house, Mark and Clare, no longer have a shop on Etsy nor do they have any more hedgehog houses for sale. However, Bee Original Workshop, their online shop, does still offer handmade items from reclaimed wood that would otherwise have been heading for a skip.

AKT very kindly emailed me a 20% discount (which paid for the postage) and I treated my son to an outrageously expensive, completely free of anything nasty deodorant balm, from AKT. Incidentally, I got my metal squeeze tube of The Onsen, which consists of vetiver, lavandin and citrus, earlier in the year as a result of a Sweatcoin offer. They do offer two other interesting scent combinations; Orange Grove, made up of petitgrain, mandarin and neroli; After Thunder, cedar, eucalyptus and orange.

Ed and Andy, both actors and the founders of AKT, would have been on stage earlier this year if it weren't for the pandemic. They decided to launch their plastic-free, all-natural, unisex deo balm instead.

Vogue voted AKT No. 1 natural deodorant of 2020.

Have you heard of Sweatcoin? If you are not too fond of walking you might not be interested. However, if you love a good walk, why not get paid for taking it?

I first heard of the Sweatcoin app from Martin Lewis, he's also known as The Money Saving Expert. He and his team put together a regular email with all the deals, bargains, and discounts they've found for people who want to save their money. Much better than giving it away to utility or insurance companies!

Martin recommended Sweatcoin as a way to earn coins by walking. At one point he was racking up around 21,000 steps per day participating in meetings using his mobile phone while walking the streets of London. He lost a ton of weight and got healtheir as a result.

Once you've earned some coins you can then use them to purchase exciting new physical or digital products or even donate your coins to good causes. There are different offers for different countries, why not check it out?

Another Sweatcoin offer that I snatched up on Sweatcoin was from The Bladesman.

DELIVERING PRACTICAL GROOMING.

The Bladesman was born out of a belief that the world needs a real alternative to overpriced cartridge razors and gimmick-filled shave clubs. In a world dominated by fads, and short-term thinking, we’re building a family of customers who think differently.

Sweatcoin users were offered a choice of 1, 2 or 3 razors in exchange for 50 Sweatcoins - I have nearly a 1,000 - and to pay the postage. I opted for 3 double-edged safety razors with matt black aluminium alloy handles. Instead of the full price of £74.97 I paid just £18.51!

My dad and son will both receive a razor and I'll keep one for myself! They can save a small fortune on nasty and expensive plastic razors, and not add to the worldwide plastic problem. The added bonuses are non-irritated skin and a bump-free shave.

The above are perfect presents for two of the people I hold most dear, and know they will enjoy their 'thought that counts' gifts.

Frugal and kind to the environment gifts give new meaning to the saying 'it's the thought that counts'. No longer does it apply to the dreadful Christmas jumper or cheap plastic tat from China. In my book, the thought is in choosing wisely for the people you love as well as the world.

product review
3

About the Creator

Karen Madej

Vocal is where I share my life and fictional stories. [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.